It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:09 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:44 pm
Posts: 267
I somehow broke audio in Startropics 1 and 2. I just get a weird, repeating, non-discernable noise. All other games work fine as far as I can tell. Do these games do anything special?

The rest of the game appears to work fine, just the audio is broken.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:44 pm
Posts: 267
Noise is coming from the Noise channel. Go figure.

Typical APU writes are:

$10 = $00
$11 = $00
$17 = $40
$15 = $0f
$15 = $00
$11 = $50

This part repeated at the start of every frame and no other writes.
$15 = $00
$15 = $00
$15 = $08
$0c = $00
$0e = $01
$0f = $08
$15 = $08
$0c = $00
$0e = $01
$0f = $08
$15 = $00


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:44 pm
Posts: 267
Figured it out. It has something to do with disabling/enabling WRAM.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:44 pm
Posts: 267
Docs say that it is not MMC3, but MMC6. That explains it. I'll hit this up later tonight.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:44 pm
Posts: 267
fixed


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group