It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:28 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 19  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
Hi, I recently resumed working on my emulator and now I think I have enough to show. The gimmick of the emulator is the ability to display custom true colour tiles at up to 4x resolution.

Link:
See the attachment of the third message

BombSweeper is used as an example and a simple 2x graphics pack is included in the files which replace the number tiles. You need to download and put BombSweeper.nes inside the rom folder. You can play around with the png files inside the BombSweeper folder and see the results. The emulator is still in early stage and so lacks many standard features. Please read the readme for the limitations before using it. Feel free to comment and please let me know if you have trouble running the emulator on your machine.

Thanks.


Last edited by mkwong98 on Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:55 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Heh... I have almost the exact same idea for my emulator. Looks like you beat me to it. :)

The download link seems broken though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2983
Location: Tampere, Finland
Please use the attachment feature of the forum.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
A demo with SMB
http://youtu.be/N57ApspYHVE

A quick run of Kung Fu
http://youtu.be/yySSNxkQ4Q8

The intro of Dragonball Z
http://youtu.be/uC73qM8YPPE

The intro of Dragonball Z II
http://youtu.be/ju-9yREPnn8

The first few stages of Nuts & Milk
http://youtu.be/gwORJNKOoqk

GitHub
https://github.com/mkwong98/HDNes

Here are the files. (Updated 24-2-2015)


Attachments:
hdnes.7z [1.95 MiB]
Downloaded 1157 times
hdnes.pdf [1.03 MiB]
Downloaded 918 times
201402151936223859.png
201402151936223859.png [ 102.61 KiB | Viewed 29319 times ]


Last edited by mkwong98 on Tue Mar 03, 2015 4:53 am, edited 43 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:32 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19354
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Result:
Code:
pino@pino-laptop:~/Desktop/hdnes$ wine hdnes.exe
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation (nil) 1 (nil) 0
fixme:keyboard:X11DRV_LoadKeyboardLayout L"00000409", 0080: stub!
fixme:keyboard:X11DRV_LoadKeyboardLayout L"00000409", 0001: stub!
fixme:wgl:X11DRV_wglChoosePixelFormatARB unused pfAttribFList
wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x00000000 at address (nil) (thread 0009), starting debugger...

A backtrace was produced; I'm attaching it.


Attachments:
File comment: Backtrace when I ran this in Wine on my laptop
backtrace.txt [7.3 KiB]
Downloaded 596 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:32 pm 
Offline
Formerly 65024U

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 2257
I tried to load 2 ROMS, only showed the background color. Didn't let me assign keys. None of the tabs had any info. Size change didn't change window size at all for some reason. And no Y where there's an X in the screen change thingy...so I don't think I can provide any info on the emulation it's self as...yeah, it didn't work here. Win7 Home Prem., AMD Turion 2.5Ghz dual core, 4GB RAM, HD4250 Mobile GPU.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Posts: 1194
Location: Behind you with a knife!
It works ok for me until I tried to close the program and not even windows task manager itself could do the job...

_________________
http://www.jamesturner.de/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
Thank you for your feedbacks.
I forgot to say in the readme that pressing the esc key to close the game window.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
I'm getting a null pointer exception when I run the program. It's jumping to address 00000000 at some point.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
I'm using VC++ 2010 Express. Maybe need to install the redistributable package?
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
It runs through the GUI, then when you start the game, the emulator window appears, but it crashes before any frames are rendered.
Using Windows XP. I'm sure it's not an issue with the redistributable, otherwise it wouldn't start at all.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:35 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19354
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Dwedit wrote:
when you start the game, the emulator window appears, but it crashes before any frames are rendered.
Using Windows XP.

That's the same misbehavior I saw on Wine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
Looks like something failed to initialize and return 0 and I didn't check it.

What OpenGL version can your machine support?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:48 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19354
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
mkwong98 wrote:
What OpenGL version can your machine support?

I don't know. It's a Dell Inspiron mini 1012. What command should one use to determine the supported OpenGL version?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
Try GPU Caps Viewer
http://www.ozone3d.net/gpu_caps_viewer/

What screen resolution are you using? Maybe the program is asking for a surface larger than available size. It is using 1024*720.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 19  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group