It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:44 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19115
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
The only other games using the same board as Mega Man 6 are Ninja Crusaders and Mega Man 4.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:46 am
Posts: 78
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Quote:
my son took the cartridge and put it on the floor of the garage and start the car and move it crush the cartridge

Your son took the cart and just put it on the floor in the garage and you happened to run it over?

If this is true and I was you, then I would have known people wouldn't believe me and made up a more believable lie :)

Oh, and to you other guys. My grandmother happened to drop my flintstones 2 cart from a helicopter right into a volcano while she was visiting iceland last week!! How can I make a perfect replica? (It must be close enough to fool people on ebay)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:00 am
Posts: 8
Hi All, I live in Australia, and all Original Megaman cartridges are expensive as is the postage if your willing to pay it. I've been lucky for some time and managed to collect original MM2-MM4, could not bring myself to PAy $100 for MM5 so I made that, but for some reason can not get my hands on a PAL version of Megaman 6, this is very rare and if found can be ridiculously expensive to buy. I have now come to the reality if I want to play this on the original hardware, I either pay over $100 on ebay + postage for the original or piggyback a rom image onto Megaman 4, though it really grates me to damage my original Megaman 4 to be able to play MM6. My only ask, is does anyone know where I may find a Rom Image of MM6 that is is PAL, im almost contemplating flashing a NTSC image on a 4mbit flash and trying but I would rather not, if I can find a PAL image first. Does one exist anywhere? Or a reasonably priced original actually exist? I would rather own the original than use a Rom image also - you know drastic measures when your itching to play the real thing....
Another Question, does anyone know where I can get hold of the top of the outer shell of a top loader nes, I own a PAL version of a top loader, but many moons ago a soldering iron was dropped on the top of it and this sadly left an ugly impression on it, do spares of these exist?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2801
Mega Man 6 for PAL is not rare. It just doesn't exist at all. It was never released. You posted here previously and were told this.

If you play Mega Man 6 on a PAL system be aware that the music will play back at a different than intended rate. Why haven't you considered getting it on Playstation 2 via the Mega Man Anniversary Collection? It would play better on there. I know you want "original hardware" but unfortunately you can't do that without a NTSC NES or Famicom system. Also, you don't need to cut up your Mega Man 4 cartridge. I don't know why you'd even consider doing that if a PAL Mega Man 4 is as rare as you say it is.

There are brand new MMC3 PCBs available that support TGROM. There is no need for donors.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:00 am
Posts: 8
I don't remember asking this before, must have been a while ago.....

Luckily, I didn't purchase MM6 (PAL) on ebay - as this would have been an NTSC one then.
The cheapest NTSC toploader I've found on ebay is about $100 AUS including postage.
Anyone got a spare one floating about I could buy for cheaper?
I do love the old hardware. So I do feel attached to keeping it original as much as possible.
I've played a couple of NTSC games on my PAL toploader and some work perfect (as could be reasonably expected)
Some had massive graphical glitches/corruption, why is that?
I would have thought the games would have played slower certainly,
and sound would have had a couple of hickups, but not such graphical corruption? What's the cause?
I played Heroes of the lance, and most of the background was completely corrupted.
I thought it may have been a dirty cartridge at the time so I cleaned it with the same result. weird.
Anyone got any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6293
Location: Seattle
This page on the wiki covers most of the differences: http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Clock_rate

The pitches in the APU look up tables (for DPCM and sample playback) were changed, attempting to compensate for the slower CPU in the PAL NES.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10066
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
majekle wrote:
The cheapest NTSC toploader I've found on ebay is about $100 AUS including postage.

Top loaders are considerably more expensive than front loaders... OTOH, shipping top loaders is probably more expensive, but you should still check them out.

Quote:
Some had massive graphical glitches/corruption, why is that?
I would have thought the games would have played slower certainly,
and sound would have had a couple of hickups, but not such graphical corruption? What's the cause?

Some video effects rely on synchronization between the CPU and the PPU, which run in parallel: while the CPU is running the program, the PPU is rendering the picture to the TV. Effects that modify the picture as it is rendered require the PPU to be intercepted at the precise moments where these changes should take place, so the CPU runs some dummy timed code to wait for such moments. Since the CPU/PPU speed ratio is different between PAL and NTSC consoles, code timed for one region will not work on the other.

This difference (along with the different frame rate) also means that the amount of time the CPU has to run the program each frame is different between PAL and NTSC, which could affect anything really, including the music, depending on how the game is programmed.

There are means to prevent most of these problems, and it's perfectly possible for a game to adapt itself to the console it's running on (many homebrew games do that), but most developers didn't code games that way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2801
The Mega Man 6 PAL you saw might have been the NTSC version with the CIC (lockout chip) swapped with a PAL CIC. Then they just raise the price. It's possible they could even have made a fake Mega Man 6 PAL label. Mega Man 6 I think will run OK in PAL mode, but there will be no adjustments like what may have been made in the PAL versions of Mega Man 1 - 5. Generally they atleast adjust the tempo and pitch of the audio so it sounds correct. I have no idea if they alter the speed of anything in game to make it feel more like the original speed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7233
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
My brother in law had some Chinese pirate MM6 which was adapted properly for PAL console. I think.

Quote:
I have no idea if they alter the speed of anything in game to make it feel more like the original speed.

As far I know only SMB and SMB3 did that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 7:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 5:00 am
Posts: 8
It seems the top loader nes clones are quite cheap on ebay.
Are any of them any good?
What are the retro bit clones like?
If I can't get a top loader ntsc nes I may have get a clone
Just to play MM6 for starters. Bummer!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
The YoBo famiclones are decent, but do not support MMC5 and have inverted duty cycles for the square waves. This makes music playback and sound effects noticeably different on certain games (TMNT for one is very noticeable).

The entire PCB for the thing is just larger than the cartridge connector, and the slot is not a very tight fit. This results in hangs and resets when barely bumping the unit or pulling on the controller cable due to cart wiggle.

The controllers included with the YoBo are actually decent for aftermarket controllers, but the button action wares out after only a few hours of play. Certainly use original controllers on this thing.

These are $20 new in the US at retail stores. I've seen them for less than $12 shipped on E-Bay from Hong Kong to the US.

While I wouldn't recommend a YoBo over an origional, it's certainly a workable solution if you don't care to spend that kind of cash on a legacy console. I can buy a used XBox 360 for the same price as a top-loader NES, so it's a no-brainer :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6293
Location: Seattle
qbradq wrote:
The YoBo famiclones are decent, but do not support MMC5 and have inverted duty cycles for the square waves. This makes music playback and sound effects noticeably different on certain games (TMNT for one is very noticeable).

There are a few other games that will not work if the MMC5 does not. ROM nametables are used by Namco 163 (mapper 19, e.g. Battle Fleet, Japan only), Sunsoft 4 (mapper 68, e.g. After Burner, U.S. too), and the JY Company HKO games (mappers 209 and 211, e.g. Power Rangers 3, release market unknown). Using nametable memory as pattern memory is supported by the Namco 163, but we don't have documentation as to which games use it. Finally, games supporting four-screen layout, such as Napoleon Senki (Japan), Gauntlet (US), and Rad Racer 2 (US) won't work either.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
Oh! So that's why RR2 didn't work :D It did the same thing in my toaster (which was in very bad shape at the time) and thought it was a faulty cart. Looking back on it a faulty connection on the console was more likely.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1306
SkinnyV wrote:
Lol, if you really rolled over it with your car, I highly doubt you would have any PRG or CHR IC intact. Also, I sold thing on Ebay to people living in Mexico 2 or 3 time before and it didn't seem such an issue for them. You also have plenty of forum like Nintendo age where you can easily buy guy from user and Mega Man 6 is really not that expensive. Also, the fact that you seem to make up story won't make it easier for you to get help, specially on making reproduction of common game. Just go to bootgod's cart list and check the list of games using the same board/mapper and stop trying to make everybody cry with your stories :lol: What was your son doing alone in the garage with your Mega Man 6 game in the first place :D

Eh, I very specifically went out of my way to run over a few things with a car, including a Game Boy, GB Cartridges, and a few NES cartridges. Plastics got cracked plenty, but nothing ceased to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
I've had a different experience: I stepped on my Mighty Final Fight cart and it instantly stopped working. Really sucked. I was like 12 at the time and didn't even think about opening the thing up to try and figure out what was wrong.

Say what you will about MFF, it's a damn good game :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group