It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:42 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


Related:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 33
Hi!
I bought some cheap JAP snes carts that I want to use on my PAL snes.
My plan is to use the translated releases, or american release for some games and put them in the jap cart (same game)

My question is, can i keep the original prom in its place, and just cut /OE or /CE or something and put a switch there, so I can , if wanted, switch it back to the original, JAP version of the game.

I am fully aware that its probably easier to just remove the old chip and put the eprom in its place, BUT I am interested in trying to get this to work, so my question is simply if its possible to shutdown the original chip, and make sure that its not contaminating the bus.

My example cart is Zelda 3 JAP, that i want to put the US release into, and a switch in between.

Best regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2801
Others have done this. You have the right idea. By connecting the ROM control signal through a switch you could switch between two ROM chips. But you shouldn't leave either chip's control line floating.

Whether you use /OE or /CE, the idea is that both ROM's have that signal to a switch that in one position connects ROM A's signal to the board normally, and in the other connects ROM B, all while giving the unconnected ROM +5v to it's signal so that it remains inactive.

Anyway, that's the idea, and people have done it before.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 33
MottZilla wrote:
Others have done this. You have the right idea. By connecting the ROM control signal through a switch you could switch between two ROM chips. But you shouldn't leave either chip's control line floating.

Whether you use /OE or /CE, the idea is that both ROM's have that signal to a switch that in one position connects ROM A's signal to the board normally, and in the other connects ROM B, all while giving the unconnected ROM +5v to it's signal so that it remains inactive.

Anyway, that's the idea, and people have done it before.


Great!! Thanks :)
I did some searching before posting but couldn't find anything :/
Wich of /OE & /CE is recommended to use? Or is it really no difference?
Thanks for the info so far!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:34 pm
Posts: 476
/CE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:34 pm
Posts: 476
the difference is that /CE enables a chip,
/OE enables output of the chip, however output only occurs if /CE is also low.

So it's a matter of disabling the whole chip, vs. keeping both enabled while disabling one's output.

I'd go for just enabling 1 chip at a time, so I voted /CE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:46 am
Posts: 759
Both should work, I'd go with /CE for the sake of power consumption.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 33
Nice!! Thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2801
Yes, /CE is probably the way to go. So you'd want a switch ideally that connects one ROM's /CE normally while giving the opposite ROM /CE +5V.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3470
Location: Indianapolis
If you want to use a SPDT switch, you could use a pull-up resistor on each /CE. That's something like a 10K Ohm resistor connected to +5V. That way the /CE won't be disconnected (floating).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:46 am
Posts: 759
Memblers wrote:
If you want to use a SPDT switch, you could use a pull-up resistor on each /CE. That's something like a 10K resistor connected to +5V. That way the /CE won't be disconnected (floating).


I was just about to suggest this, but you beat me to it because I was busy drawing a picture :P

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:34 pm
Posts: 476
You guys are so helpful. *BRAVO*


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 8:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 33
Yeah you really are :) i am so glad and thanksful for the help!
Every time I post on these forums I get such awesome help and tips.. Really noob friendly place :)
Thanks everyone for helping! I will get the stuff done asap :) just need to get a suitable switch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:17 am
Posts: 483
Location: East Texas
A really good and very small Spdt switch is this one...
http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDet ... 2-MHSS1105
Right angle too so its very low profile will fit in small places
And .67c


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 33
Markfrizb wrote:
A really good and very small Spdt switch is this one...
http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDet ... 2-MHSS1105
Right angle too so its very low profile will fit in small places
And .67c


Only problem for me is the order fee of 20€ just because I am overseas :(
+ shipping around another 20€ at minimum so it's not possible I am afraid. :(
To bad, because mouser have lots of nice things :)

Will have a look around here in Sweden .

But thanks for the tip!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:46 am
Posts: 759
Try Digi-Key, AVNet, or Arrow. I'm in the US, so I don't know how their international sales work, but hopefully at least one of them should work for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: UnDisbeliever and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group