Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
yxkalle
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by yxkalle » Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:18 pm

Can I use an YMZ284 instead if I connect:

PRG A13 to A0
(NOT PRG_CE) NAND PRG_A14 to /CE (/CE goes low when PRG /CE is low AND PRG A14 is high)
PRG R/W to /WR

...and everything else like the previous versions? I'm new to this cart hacking stuff. ;)

Thanks

User avatar
Jarhmander
Formerly ~J-@D!~
Posts: 498
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:36 am
Location: Rive nord de Montréal

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Jarhmander » Thu Sep 26, 2013 5:57 pm

Yes, I did exactly that and it works. Interestingly, R/W doesn't really work on this chip and it is not possible to read it, so there will never be bus conflicts with reads with this chip.

Beware: the output is quite weak and is only able to source current; it can't sink current.
((λ (x) (x x)) (λ (x) (x x)))

User avatar
yxkalle
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by yxkalle » Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:13 pm

Thank you very much! Maybe I can use one of the NAND-gates (74HC02) to form a NOT-gate and use a feedback resistor to use it as a crude amplifier to save a chip? Nintendo used that trick to amplify the sound output of the 2A03. Probably I should just use an op-amp, but I like "elegant" solutions. ;)

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by l_oliveira » Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:34 pm

yxkalle wrote:Thank you very much! Maybe I can use one of the NAND-gates (74HC02) to form a NOT-gate and use a feedback resistor to use it as a crude amplifier to save a chip? Nintendo used that trick to amplify the sound output of the 2A03. Probably I should just use an op-amp, but I like "elegant" solutions. ;)

That's how the ORIGINAL game works so I don't see why that wouldn't work.

Edit: I think it has to be HCU type though ...

User avatar
yxkalle
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by yxkalle » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:05 pm

I think the 74HC will work just fine. Sure, HCU's are more linear and work from rail to rail, but for beeps and bloops it should work just fine(?) I will test it.

EDIT:
The famicom uses a 74HC368 for its sound.
Last edited by yxkalle on Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by l_oliveira » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:13 pm

yxkalle wrote:I think the 74HC will work just fine. Sure, HCU's are more linear and work from rail to rail, but for beeps and bloops it should work just fine(?) I will test it.

HC won't work because it "won't oscillate"... I mean it won't amplify anything. I tried some and it didn't go well. Nintendo used HCU for a reason and I understood when I tried to mimic their circuit. Well try it and let us know how it goes ! :)

User avatar
yxkalle
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by yxkalle » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:13 pm

http://www.fairchildsemi.com/an/AN/AN-88.pdf

Not very linear indeed, but it should work. I don't have the parts yet. :roll:

User avatar
aodinets
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by aodinets » Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:35 am

Jarhmander wrote:Yes, I did exactly that and it works. Interestingly, R/W doesn't really work on this chip and it is not possible to read it, so there will never be bus conflicts with reads with this chip.

Beware: the output is quite weak and is only able to source current; it can't sink current.
Hi, all!
What do you think about this schematic with YMZ284 sound?
Attachments
YMZ284 SCHEMATICS.png
Last edited by aodinets on Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
aodinets
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by aodinets » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:02 am

Anybody??? :(

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by l_oliveira » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:27 am

Lacks an amplifier. Even if the logic is fine the sound will be too low on volume.

User avatar
aodinets
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by aodinets » Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:17 am

l_oliveira wrote:Lacks an amplifier. Even if the logic is fine the sound will be too low on volume.
Amplifier is not a problem. Logic is important...

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by l_oliveira » Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:30 am

aodinets wrote:
l_oliveira wrote:Lacks an amplifier. Even if the logic is fine the sound will be too low on volume.
Amplifier is not a problem. Logic is important...
Did you try building that ? I never tried that particular chip. I did try the GI AY-3-8910 and YM2149. Nothing else. The logic would be different depending on how the enable works for your chip.

User avatar
yxkalle
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by yxkalle » Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:45 am

I was under the impression a clock divider wasn't needed? If you look at the data sheet you can see a clock divider in the block diagram. Can someone spread some light on this? :)

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by l_oliveira » Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:49 am

yxkalle wrote:I was under the impression a clock divider wasn't needed? If you look at the data sheet you can see a clock divider in the block diagram. Can someone spread some light on this? :)
I did not need any when I used the YM2149. AY-3-8910 did require it.

User avatar
infiniteneslives
Posts: 2100
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:49 am
Location: WhereverIparkIt, USA
Contact:

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by infiniteneslives » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:16 am

Neither the 8910 nor the 2149 is self sufficient, but they're each lacking different things.

AY-3-8910: You must add a clock divider since it doesn't have one built in. However it's output doesn't require an amplifier.
YM2149: Has built in clock divider, but has a weak output so you have to add an amplifier.

Both require the same address decoder.
If you're gonna play the Game Boy, you gotta learn to play it right. -Kenny Rogers

Post Reply