It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:33 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:06 am
Posts: 583
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
A modified version of the NES-game "Mario Bros." (named "Luigi Bros") will be included in upcoming "Super Mario 3D World" for WiiU.
Source:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ds0X4QkfeC4

A ROM-hack by Nintendo or do you think they have the sourcecode left for this stuff (unlikely?) to make this kind of modifications.

_________________
http://nes.goondocks.se/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10050
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
So, is this just a palette swap?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
My guess is the disassemblies that have been posted in the past 10 years would be better to base a rework on than the original sources :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19093
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Are you sure it's even emulated, as opposed to just being Mario Bros. from Super Mario Advance recompiled for Wii U with retraux graphics?

What Mario Bros. disassembly? I'm aware of SMB1, but not Mario Bros.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
Ah, didn't get that this was "Mario Bros." instead of SMB. I'm at work so I didn't watch the video :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 4:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3943
It's obviously an emulation, since it would take way too much work to recreate something that accurate to the NES game. It also can't be a reskin of the GBA game, since the GBA game has far better controls than the first NES version.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:27 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Hong Kong
I wonder how two-player mode will be like. So, just swap the two players and Mario becomes player 2? If it's just that it's a bit, errrr, unexciting. Hopefully there is something different about the second player character.

I originally thought that they scraped the 2-player modes so only Luigi is left as playable character, but after seeing the title screen again, these modes are obviously still there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5711
Location: Canada
Why would you need source code to do such a minor and graphical-only change? I don't think it would help either way if they had or didn't have the original source.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:06 am
Posts: 583
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
It looks like they have:
1) Modified the startscreen ("LUIGI BROS" instead of "MARIO BROS")
2) The blinking "PRESS START"
3) Palette-switch (Player 1 = Luigi, Player 2 = Mario (most likely anyway) ).

I guess 1 & 3 would be pretty easy to hack, 2) would probably need some codechanges.

_________________
http://nes.goondocks.se/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:30 pm
Posts: 168
If it's anything like DK Original Edition, the code for that flashing PRESS START is nowhere near the efficiency of their old coding.

_________________
Read my blog! The Incoherent Ramblings of a Lowly Geek


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19093
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
So why did they put it in at all? Was it a change in lot check requirements?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5711
Location: Canada
Maybe they just thought it was sensible to tell the user what to do instead of let them guess how to leave the title screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 7:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
My guess is internal marketing. You have to convince your upper management that you've done something worth your paycheck, and hacking an old product without the source with easily visible results is a great way to do it. That flashing "PRESS START" could have been the internal kludge to get this green-lit.

Then again I'm marred by big-business sensizim :evil:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Luigi Bros.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 2:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:06 am
Posts: 583
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
I can now confirm that player 2 is not Mario, it's Luigi. :) Player 1 is Luigi aswell but has a slightly different green colour than player 2.

_________________
http://nes.goondocks.se/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group