It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:22 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:25 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
I'm sure it's a problem in the Allegro.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 7:21 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Updated. See first post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 8:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10047
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Quote:
Fixed $4016/17 reads, value must be ORed with $40.

ORing with $40 is a hack. Did you read what I and blargg wrote on that other thread? Instead of ORing with $40 you should emulate open bus.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:31 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Well, you see... PPU open bus is emulated and it has a test ROM. Now, the other CPU region hasn't open bus emulated properly. So, (address >> 8) & 0xE0 was a fix for a few NSFs not playing properly, for example. The Oring $40 is another case. Yup, I read the post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:28 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Code:
 What's new for version 5.13 (01/15/2014)
 ----------------------------------------
 - New menu item "View CPU state", replacing the "Dump->CPU context".
 - New blitter, 256x240 interpolated. Press key 1, then 3.
 - Fixed Famicom Disk System support, a few games are playable now.
 - Fixed Refresh button in the disassembler dialogs.
 - Fixed a bug loading mapper 20 (Famicom Disk System).
 - The disassembler shows the full bank again (size of $1000).
 - Fixed a configuration problem of input devices.
 - Fixed flag for patched ROMs (it was always zero).
 - Added detection of dirty NES headers (DiskDude).
 - Internal optimizations, minor changes and fixes in the GUI.


For some bizarre reason, files are being erased from the server. I'm reuploading them when gone, but this is becoming boring.
I'll probably look for a new host.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
Bug#2
The "EXIT" and "GOT IT" buttons (misc -> screen resolution -> setup) need to be swapped


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:12 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Updated. Thanks for the report!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:46 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
I knew that my savestate had a problem. After testing VS SMB, I've found the problem. Data at $6000-$7FFF (PRG RAM) wasn't being saved/loaded correctly! A major fix.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
Zepper,
The new blitter (256x240 interpolated) look like soft scanlines with flickering. It's interesting.
Can you add "Doubled size 512x384 interpolated" in future?

Bug#3:
The "-disable_ppu_clipping" option in RockNES.ini and the "disable ppu left clipping" GUI checkbox are mixed up.
When "-disable_ppu_clipping 1" checkbox is unchecked, and when "-disable_ppu_clipping 0" checkbox is checked


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 3:54 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Eugene.S wrote:
Zepper,
The new blitter (256x240 interpolated) look like soft scanlines with flickering. It's interesting.
Can you add "Doubled size 512x384 interpolated" in future?


Use triple buffering to remove flickering. I don't know about bigger screens in interpolated mode.. :(

Quote:
Bug#3:
The "-disable_ppu_clipping" option in RockNES.ini and the "disable ppu left clipping" GUI checkbox are mixed up.
When "-disable_ppu_clipping 1" checkbox is unchecked, and when "-disable_ppu_clipping 0" checkbox is checked


Checking it... thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
I think old "-blitter 4" was better than new.

RockNES 5.061 and earlier, "-video_resolution 640 480", "-blitter 4" on 1280x1024 display looks like:
Image Image

RockNES 5.07 and above, "-video_resolution 640 480", "-blitter 4" on 1280x1024 display looks like:
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:53 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Well, there's pixel interpolation in later versions. Not for early ones as you pointed out.
In other words, to stretch the image into 640 pixels, the 3rd pixel was being repeated (pattern AABBCCCAABBCCC..., A=1st, B=2nd, C=3rd pixel). Now, it's interpolated. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
The interpolation in those screenshots has double-pixel mixed edges. It looks like you've expanded with interpolation some, then expanded that with nearest-neighbor even more. Unless you're going for full-on linear interpolation that looks blurry, you probably should be sure your expansion algorithm doesn't put more than one pixel of interpolation between pixel edges. In the fractional bilinear interpolation thread this is discussed more.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:09 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
blargg wrote:
The interpolation in those screenshots has double-pixel mixed edges. It looks like you've expanded with interpolation some, then expanded that with nearest-neighbor even more.


Almost. Take ABCD as 4 pixels. Expanded into 640p, they'll be AAiBBCCiDD, where i = (A+B)/2 in each RGB component.
Before this method, I used an easy AABBBCCDDD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
In the screenshot you've got something like AAAiiBBBBiiCCCC. Note the double interpolation pixels. Before you were using nearest neighbor, so the second expansion (-blitter 4 I'm guessing does this) chained just fine with it; you still ended up with hard edges. But now since you're adding interpolated pixels, it looks bad when expanded. To solve this, you could do the extra expansion before the interpolation, add a single blitter that expands the NES 256x240 to the full output size, or add an option to use the old nearest-neighbor option so users like Eugene.S can get what they want.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group