It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:39 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 19  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:59 pm
Posts: 6
GGuy was able to get a video of my progress on HDMario! Although it seems like the option "use as default tile regardless of pallette" got unchecked for some things like coins and boxes. A big thanks to GGuy for recording this for me
http://youtu.be/UcTokxwSyEM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:15 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks to GGuy! And it's good to have you here. I look forward to seeing more from you.

These are all very cool:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV-5vujk ... tA5LMjYnPA

Joao's Super Mario Bros. backgrounds in particular are looking great so far.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:15 pm
Posts: 50
Original designs by Joao Victor G. Costa. Some of this is impossible in HDNes but the general idea is coming across!

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
Nice work everyone!

20-7-2014
1. Fixed a load state bug by pushing load state and save state to the end of current frame.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 9:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:59 pm
Posts: 6
I had an idea, though I could completely understand if it would not be possible.
Basically have HDNes detect the background color and effectively chroma key (green screen) it out, to be replaced with a much higher quality background image. Though with some colors, such as a black background, that appear on screen in places other than the background, I could see this as being unfeasible, thoughts mkwong?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
It is possible. Instead of filling the screen with the background colour, I can paint the background image onto the screen before rendering other layers. Some games keep the background black and use transparent pixels in place of black, in this case the user can provide a replacement tile with solid black instead. However if the games also change the background colour and combine with transparent pixels to produce special effects (for example lightning), then the replacement tile will not work.

The only other big problem I can think of is how well the emulator can run with this feature. Uploading a large texture (1024 * 960 for 4x) to the graphic card is slow and uses a lot of memory. Besides that, the emulator needs to update the sprite and bg texture and vertices every frame and that is pretty slow too. I'm not sure how doing both will affect the speed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19116
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
The large texture for the backdrop would need to be changed rarely, only when the player enters a new map or when the emulator has to reload everything anyway (such as Alt-tab in and out causing loss of the DirectX surfaces). And a backdrop texture would often be blurry enough to be amenable to S3 texture compression. I'm just concerned about games that don't use color 0 for the background, such as Concentration Room in-game (whose color 0 is white but whose actual background is brown).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 1:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2963
Location: Tampere, Finland
Was scripting support ever considered? That could provide a nice way to do music upgrades as well.

By scripting support I mean that a script file could be bundled with the HD pack of a game that could perform some operations based on some trigger conditions (execution breakpoints would be sufficient at least for some features like music and sfx triggering). Hard part would be of course figuring out what sort of API would be flexible enough. But if a scripting system was good enough, it could maybe used to smooth out some of the parts that can't be handled automatically.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:59 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Usually it's a pair like LDA #$value, JSR $address. Quite cool the idea, someone could trap sound fx and music "codes".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
Trapping code is a good idea. Thanks.

My to-do list is like this(not necessarily in order):
1. Create HD pack for one action CHR ROM game. (Castlevania)
2. Create HD pack for one RPG CHR ROM game. (Dragonball Z)
3. Create HD pack for one action CHR RAM game. (1943)
4. Create HD pack for one RPG CHR RAM game. (Final Fantasy)
5. Add more mappers. (a few Konami mappers and MMC5)

I want the internal working of the emulator to mature before adding scripting support. So I won't consider it until I have MMC5 working.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:15 pm
Posts: 50
Here's more pixel art by Joao Victor G. Costa.

https://www.youtube.com/user/JinnDemonEvil/videos

You can support him on Patreon --
http://www.patreon.com/jinn


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 3:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2801
mkwong98 wrote:
My to-do list is like this(not necessarily in order):
1. Create HD pack for one action CHR ROM game. (Castlevania)


Castlevania (the first one) is CHR-RAM, the UNROM mapper.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
Thanks for spoting that. In that case I think I'll do Astyanax instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm
Posts: 179
24-8-2014
1. Added an option to show all tiles on the screen instead.
2. When "All" is selected in the screen shot dropdown box, shows screen shot name for tiles which have no replacement

BTW I uploaded the source code to GitHub for anyone interested.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 4:52 pm
Posts: 24
Great new additions mkwong. I'm extremely happy to see the source has been released.

Tonight I started putting together a spreadsheet listing the compatibility of games thanks to the NesCartDB.
I should have it done by tomorrow maybe. US carts only right now. Green = The game works. Red = It's a CHR RAM game or other issues and there will be problems. And finally Yellow means that there is an unsupported mapper and it will not load.
Check it out here. HDNes Compatibility List

edit: I updated the list today. Problem games are now marked as red, CHR RAM are now blue, yellow is still unsupported mapper and green of course means it should work without any problems.


Last edited by GGuy on Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 19  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group