It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:31 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3165
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
Attachment:
Sprite Flicker Ahoy!.png
Sprite Flicker Ahoy!.png [ 16.88 KiB | Viewed 3663 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2433
This has both clever palette choices and clever uses for sprites and backgrounds.

I don't really like the white in the character. Too much contrast with the somewhat dark purple and blue. I'm thinking a light blue would work better. I don't think you need that grey, so you can replace it with the dark red color you're using.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:14 am
Posts: 264
Never mind the sprite flicker, what about the slowdown?

While the picture does look very nice, I can't help but feel that the detailing is a bit TOO busy for the NES' capabilities. It's kind of hard to look at at times, basically.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3165
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
OneCrudeDude wrote:
Never mind the sprite flicker, what about the slowdown?

Well, then it will be even more accurate to the source material. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7320
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
What, what, do you mean, the NES is supposed to be able to render that image ?!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19354
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
It doesn't look too far off from what has been done on NES. The explosions aren't any bigger than those in the NES game Thwaite; they just look more like popcorn. And both the floor and the craft above it can be drawn as background. With CHR ROM banking, there isn't much of a 256 tile limit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10169
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
tepples wrote:
With CHR ROM banking, there isn't much of a 256 tile limit.

Or with MMC5's extended attributes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 4:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3165
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
Well, here's an "improved" version:

Attachment:
GunForce 2 NES.png
GunForce 2 NES.png [ 15.89 KiB | Viewed 3427 times ]

Here's a picture of how it originally looked (well, not exactly, but you get the idea.): (I hate how vibrant the NES's color palette is. I couldn't find a brown that didn't look straight up red, so I just used grey for the plane. The same situation happened with the train):

Attachment:
Original.png
Original.png [ 52.56 KiB | Viewed 3427 times ]

Now, I have absolutely no clue how you'd transfer this scene:

Attachment:
GunForce 2.png
GunForce 2.png [ 66.31 KiB | Viewed 3427 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 10:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:14 am
Posts: 264
Do a Kid Niki and make that take a sprite while the ship is a BG object that moves around. Of course, the Tank is too big to be used as a sprite, so only use around 16 pixels or so.

Image

Alternatively, just remove the tank entirely and just walk around on the ground to shoot the boss. I find it amazing what sorts of workarounds and creative liberties contract developers had to come up with when it came to ports.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 10:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3165
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
OneCrudeDude wrote:
Alternatively, just remove the tank entirely and just walk around on the ground to shoot the boss.

If you mean the train, (the thing the player is standing on) I'm not sure how that would work. The whole level is fought on the train and you go to the front of it, which you are seeing there. I know this really isn't practical and that the developers would never do something like this, but could you actually have it to where the boss and the train are both BGs? You'd have tiles of the train moving around and the scrolling counter acting it so it looks like the boss is flying around. (The boss would use more than one palette, unlike the train.) I don't even know how this would work without making a million different tiles and I imagine processing it all would be a nightmare... Because of how the NES uses tiles, would it actually be possible to have hardware in the cart that renders the tiles of the train moving? I guess you could do this with CHR ram and some sort of enhancement chip?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19354
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
You could have a second PPU that produces tile data. This is how Wide Boy works. But for the price of designing such an ASIC, you could already have made your own game console out of an ARM SoC.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10169
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
I think that the obvious fix would be to not have the train and the boss overlap. Would that change the gameplay much?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3165
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
tokumaru wrote:
I think that the obvious fix would be to not have the train and the boss overlap. Would that change the gameplay much?

Even if they don't overlap, you still need all the tiles of the train moving, unless you want the boss to float in one place...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10169
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
As long as they don't overlap (and I mean vertically overlap, so even if they are horizontally apart that'd be overlapping), you can move both the train and the enemy freely, in both axes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:14 am
Posts: 264
Predator does something similar for the big-mode stages.

Image

Arnold has been rendered as a background image, while everything else, including the mid-air platforms, are sprites that scroll. So what you could do is have the floor and tank be the lower layer, and the flying machine to be the upper layer. That means the machine can't fly below the tank and touch the floor, limiting its area of movement. You could move it horizontally, though, and I'm pretty sure you could make the machine fly 'under' the tank, by performing some sort of overlapping trick. So I'd say you should have the tank take up most of the horizontal space, since if the machine were to go under the "blank area", it might disappear? I actually wonder.

It wasn't uncommon for NES ports of arcade games to either rework some aspects (the mazes in the Contra bases for example) or to cut stages out entirely.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group