It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:42 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 5
Castlevania III mmc5 to mmc3 work
because of chr bank selecting ,
I have to use a large (256k+256k+mmc3)
it is not finished.


Last edited by Airwe on Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3943
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

I can see a lot of bugs regarding which mirroring mode is used. Since MMC5 lets you pick mirroring modes easily, and so does the MMC3, this seems like it won't be that much of a problem.


Attachments:
patches.zip [2.59 KiB]
Downloaded 290 times

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Last edited by Dwedit on Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2962
Location: Tampere, Finland
Dwedit wrote:
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

Do we even have policies regarding that since moving away from the Parodius Network?

(BTW: The NESDev front page still references the old Parodius policies.)

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19096
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Don't do anything that could cause Nintendo or a major seller of VC games to get this whole site taken down.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7228
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Apparently you can't even get in gameplay with this hack.

I think it should be hard to go with MMC5 -> MMC3, especially because of PRG bankswitching which is 8k, 8k, 16k on MMC3, but 16k, 8k, 8k on VRC6 and the MMC5 mode that is used by CV3.

If this would have been possible, Konami would have done it really. It would have saved them much costs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19096
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Two things might help:
  • Does CV3 normally put anything in $6000-$7FFF? If not, something that'd normally be in one of the switchable banks could be relocated to PRG RAM there.
  • Does CV3 use the DMC? If so, the music can be rewritten not to use it, freeing up $C000-$DFFF.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 5
Dwedit wrote:
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

I can see a lot of bugs regarding which mirroring mode is used. Since MMC5 lets you pick mirroring modes easily, and so does the MMC3, this seems like it won't be that much of a problem.



Thanks .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 5
tepples wrote:
Two things might help:
  • Does CV3 normally put anything in $6000-$7FFF? If not, something that'd normally be in one of the switchable banks could be relocated to PRG RAM there.
  • Does CV3 use the DMC? If so, the music can be rewritten not to use it, freeing up $C000-$DFFF.


CV3 didn't use $6000-$7FFF,and $C000-$DFFF selected when Dracula is lauging.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 5
tepples wrote:
Don't do anything that could cause Nintendo or a major seller of VC games to get this whole site taken down.


Sorry...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:06 am
Posts: 5
So, is this possible?, do we have a CV3 in MMC3 mapper, that would become really nice for a multicart..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group