Invisible platforms in super mario

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
yanos
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:16 pm
Location: Montréal

Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by yanos » Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:48 am

Graphically the game looks right, but I have some invisible platform and some hole in walls here and there (example:http://imgur.com/Jg5iUHK). I'm not sure what part of my emu is wrong on this. Could this be a cpu bug?

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by zeroone » Sun Aug 02, 2015 9:39 am

yanos wrote:Could this be a cpu bug?
Does your emulator pass all the CPU test roms?

yanos
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:16 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by yanos » Sun Aug 02, 2015 11:28 am

Yep. except some timing issue that I'm currently trying to fix.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by Zepper » Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:41 pm

Hmm... perhaps PPU mirroring is incorrect?

yanos
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:16 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by yanos » Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:42 pm

I doubt it since if that's the case, EVERYTHING would be wrong. But it's only every so often here and there. It's quite puzzling :(

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by zeroone » Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:21 pm

yanos wrote: I doubt it since if that's the case, EVERYTHING would be wrong. But it's only every so often here and there. It's quite puzzling
It looks like the status bar at the top is cutoff. Does the status bar look correct normally except when this happens?

User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4234
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by Dwedit » Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:57 pm

Double check the RAM implementation, that everything is mirrored correctly, and that addresses are correct.
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!

User avatar
James
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by James » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:10 pm

I'm unsure about the "platform", but there's something wrong with your sprite 0 hit detection code.
get nemulator
http://nemulator.com

yanos
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:16 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Invisible platforms in super mario

Post by yanos » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:26 am

Yeah, my sprite 0 hit detection is not is bogus, it's just not the priority right now. I'll check my ram implementation and mirroring code in the PPU.

Post Reply