It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:00 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 ... 49  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 710
Location: New York, NY
FHorse wrote:
If someone wants to test it:
Linux version 32bit
Linux version 64bit
Windows SDL 32bit version
Windows SDL 64bit version


Could you provide zip links? I cannot download .exe files directly on this box.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
uVSthem wrote:
Thanks for the update. Do you see any reason to use D3D9 over OpenGL or vice versa.
Under windows many video drivers don't support well opengl unlike directx. If the opengl version on your computer works just as well as that d3d9, there is no difference.
zeroone wrote:
Could you provide zip links? I cannot download .exe files directly on this box.
Updated the links with the zip.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 710
Location: New York, NY
FHorse wrote:
Updated the links with the zip.


I tested it out on my Win7 box. Awesome and very accurate emulator. My tests of accuracy were limited to making sure that Battletoads stage 2 does not freeze and the HUD doesn't shake in the Simpsons games. This is solid stuff. Keep up the good work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 710
Location: New York, NY
This is also the only emulator I've seen that appears to accurately render Rad Racer's 3D mode (press Select). All other emulators suffer from timing glitches.

And, Bee 52 works. Amazing.

Can you shed some insight into how you achieved this level of accuracy?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:52 am
Posts: 93
Location: Texas, USA
FHorse, thank you for puNES.

When I use puNES with a gamepad, it doesn't prevent Windows Power Options from turning off the screen.

OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit, puNES: 0.98 or 0.99WIP for Windows SDL 64-bit.
OS: Windows XP SP3, puNES: 0.98 or 0.99WIP for Windows SDL 32-bit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Bavi_H wrote:
When I use puNES with a gamepad, it doesn't prevent Windows Power Options from turning off the screen.
Updated the links with a new version, try now.
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 32bit version
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 64bit version
zeroone wrote:
Can you shed some insight into how you achieved this level of accuracy?
Many many many many many many hours of debugging sessions. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 11:46 pm
Posts: 37
Hey, I love to see development of this emulator! Thanks for the pause feature; it makes it really easy to compare filters and shaders with any game. Question: would it be possible to enable both filters and shaders to work together? Like if I wanted to try to recreate as much as possible the look of an NES plugged into a CRT TV, I would use the NTSC composite filter and then combine that with one of the scanline shaders. Could you allow that or is there some incompatibility? Or maybe you just don't want to. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 4:16 pm
Posts: 19
Wow thank you so much for adding the Retroarch shaders. This is by far the best choice for NES Emulation. Also I fixed my screen tearing issue although I'm not exactly sure how. It was either my reformatting of my PC and reinstalling everything or switching to 720P for my resolution. So just an idea to try for anyone having a similar issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 710
Location: New York, NY
FHorse wrote:
Many many many many many many hours of debugging sessions.


Nintendulator does not pass all the NMI test ROMs. Can you offer any advice in this area? I.e. are there any undocumented features of the PPU or CPU that you incorporated into puNES related to NMI timing? For example, in cpu_inline.h:

Code:
      /*
       * se l'nmi e' attivo quando scrivo nel registro r2000
       * deve essere eseguito nell'istruzione successiva.
       * L'ho notato con "baxter,zugzwang-adventuresoflolo.fm2"
       * al tas.frame 53762. Se non c'e' questo vengono generati
       * 2 nmi nello stesso frame, perche' il primo frame e' generato
       * proprio nella scrittura di questo registro e la mancata
       * esecuzione dell'istruzione successiva pone le condizioni
       * per il secondo nmi che avverra' 25 scanline dopo.
       */
      if (nmi.high && (nmi.cpu_cycles_from_last_nmi <= cpu.base_opcode_cycles)) {
#if !defined (RELEASE)
         old_delay = TRUE;
#endif
         nmi.delay = TRUE;
      }


If I understand the above correctly, the NMI is delayed by 1 CPU cycle if the number of CPU cycles executed since the last NMI is below the instruction length. Does that effectively prevent the NMI from occurring within an instruction that triggered the NMI by writing to a PPU register?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:52 am
Posts: 93
Location: Texas, USA
Bavi_H wrote:
When I use puNES with a gamepad, it doesn't prevent Windows Power Options from turning off the screen.
FHorse wrote:
Updated the links with a new version, try now.
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 32bit version
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 64bit version
Yes, those versions work, thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 6:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 6:01 am
Posts: 2
Is it possible to add a "allow more than 8 sprites per scanline" option to puNES?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19104
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Especially now that retroUSB's AVS famiclone has a 15 sprites mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10063
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
tepples wrote:

That's pretty cool!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:14 pm
Posts: 38
@FHorse

Based on commit #718 on Github you have now added full support for RetroArch shaders which is a highly sought after feature, at least for me.

I have some shaders for the Nestopia Libretro core which I use frequently, is there any possibility for a WIP build so I could test them in puNES?

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: puNES Emulator WIP
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Linux32
Linux64
Win32 D3D9
Win64 D3D9
Win32 OpenGL
Win64 OpenGL
Updated links for the new WIP. The linux version now need that nvidia-cg-toolkit is installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 ... 49  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group