puNES Emulator

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Post by zeroone »

FHorse wrote:If someone wants to test it:
Linux version 32bit
Linux version 64bit
Windows SDL 32bit version
Windows SDL 64bit version
Could you provide zip links? I cannot download .exe files directly on this box.
FHorse
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Post by FHorse »

uVSthem wrote:Thanks for the update. Do you see any reason to use D3D9 over OpenGL or vice versa.
Under windows many video drivers don't support well opengl unlike directx. If the opengl version on your computer works just as well as that d3d9, there is no difference.
zeroone wrote:Could you provide zip links? I cannot download .exe files directly on this box.
Updated the links with the zip.
User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Post by zeroone »

FHorse wrote:Updated the links with the zip.
I tested it out on my Win7 box. Awesome and very accurate emulator. My tests of accuracy were limited to making sure that Battletoads stage 2 does not freeze and the HUD doesn't shake in the Simpsons games. This is solid stuff. Keep up the good work.
User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Post by zeroone »

This is also the only emulator I've seen that appears to accurately render Rad Racer's 3D mode (press Select). All other emulators suffer from timing glitches.

And, Bee 52 works. Amazing.

Can you shed some insight into how you achieved this level of accuracy?
Bavi_H
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:52 am
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Post by Bavi_H »

FHorse, thank you for puNES.

When I use puNES with a gamepad, it doesn't prevent Windows Power Options from turning off the screen.

OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit, puNES: 0.98 or 0.99WIP for Windows SDL 64-bit.
OS: Windows XP SP3, puNES: 0.98 or 0.99WIP for Windows SDL 32-bit.
FHorse
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Post by FHorse »

Bavi_H wrote:When I use puNES with a gamepad, it doesn't prevent Windows Power Options from turning off the screen.
Updated the links with a new version, try now.
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 32bit version
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 64bit version
zeroone wrote:Can you shed some insight into how you achieved this level of accuracy?
Many many many many many many hours of debugging sessions. :wink:
User avatar
nothingtosay
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 11:46 pm

Re: puNES Emulator

Post by nothingtosay »

Hey, I love to see development of this emulator! Thanks for the pause feature; it makes it really easy to compare filters and shaders with any game. Question: would it be possible to enable both filters and shaders to work together? Like if I wanted to try to recreate as much as possible the look of an NES plugged into a CRT TV, I would use the NTSC composite filter and then combine that with one of the scanline shaders. Could you allow that or is there some incompatibility? Or maybe you just don't want to. :lol:
Hubz
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: puNES Emulator

Post by Hubz »

Wow thank you so much for adding the Retroarch shaders. This is by far the best choice for NES Emulation. Also I fixed my screen tearing issue although I'm not exactly sure how. It was either my reformatting of my PC and reinstalling everything or switching to 720P for my resolution. So just an idea to try for anyone having a similar issue.
User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: puNES Emulator

Post by zeroone »

FHorse wrote:Many many many many many many hours of debugging sessions.
Nintendulator does not pass all the NMI test ROMs. Can you offer any advice in this area? I.e. are there any undocumented features of the PPU or CPU that you incorporated into puNES related to NMI timing? For example, in cpu_inline.h:

Code: Select all

		/*
		 * se l'nmi e' attivo quando scrivo nel registro r2000
		 * deve essere eseguito nell'istruzione successiva.
		 * L'ho notato con "baxter,zugzwang-adventuresoflolo.fm2"
		 * al tas.frame 53762. Se non c'e' questo vengono generati
		 * 2 nmi nello stesso frame, perche' il primo frame e' generato
		 * proprio nella scrittura di questo registro e la mancata
		 * esecuzione dell'istruzione successiva pone le condizioni
		 * per il secondo nmi che avverra' 25 scanline dopo.
		 */
		if (nmi.high && (nmi.cpu_cycles_from_last_nmi <= cpu.base_opcode_cycles)) {
#if !defined (RELEASE)
			old_delay = TRUE;
#endif
			nmi.delay = TRUE;
		}
If I understand the above correctly, the NMI is delayed by 1 CPU cycle if the number of CPU cycles executed since the last NMI is below the instruction length. Does that effectively prevent the NMI from occurring within an instruction that triggered the NMI by writing to a PPU register?
Bavi_H
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:52 am
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Post by Bavi_H »

Bavi_H wrote:When I use puNES with a gamepad, it doesn't prevent Windows Power Options from turning off the screen.
FHorse wrote:Updated the links with a new version, try now.
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 32bit version
Windows 0.99 WIP SDL 64bit version
Yes, those versions work, thank you.
Alexxx
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 6:01 am

Re: puNES Emulator

Post by Alexxx »

Is it possible to add a "allow more than 8 sprites per scanline" option to puNES?
tepples
Posts: 22708
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: puNES Emulator

Post by tepples »

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 12427
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: puNES Emulator

Post by tokumaru »

tepples wrote:Especially now that retroUSB's AVS famiclone has a 15 sprites mode.
That's pretty cool!
Black Zero
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:14 pm

Re: puNES Emulator

Post by Black Zero »

@FHorse

Based on commit #718 on Github you have now added full support for RetroArch shaders which is a highly sought after feature, at least for me.

I have some shaders for the Nestopia Libretro core which I use frequently, is there any possibility for a WIP build so I could test them in puNES?

Thanks in advance!
FHorse
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

puNES Emulator WIP

Post by FHorse »

Linux32
Linux64
Win32 D3D9
Win64 D3D9
Win32 OpenGL
Win64 OpenGL
Updated links for the new WIP. The linux version now need that nvidia-cg-toolkit is installed.
Post Reply