It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:51 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 2:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5824
Location: Canada
Had not tried with the zapper (I don't have a CRT, and when you said "trigger" i thought you just meant the in-game trigger).

Tried it now. No problems in 1 player mode, but in 2 player mode if I pull the zapper (in port 2) trigger when it's player 1's turn, I get severe graphical corruption. Looks like nametables are messed up kind of randomly, and also the CHR banking gets changed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 542
Location: United States
Here's an update to the rom:
Attachment:
RussianRoulette.nes [288.03 KiB]
Downloaded 88 times


The main issue I've noticed now (on my side at least) is that the zapper trigger doesn't always register a trigger pull in-game. Let me know what other issues you run into. Thanks everyone!

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 11:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5824
Location: Canada
I don't see any graphical problems with the zapper anymore, but the trigger is really unreliable. I might have to pull it 10 times just to get the shot to fire.

You might take a look at how Duck Hunt or other games read the zapper trigger. There's usually some kinda debounce filter going on.

I wrote some Zapper test ROMs a while ago when I wanted to know what kind of signals you get from the zapper. It's a bit of a mess, really.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 10:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 542
Location: United States
Are those test roms open source?

They seem to work fine:

zapper_light.nes makes a buzz whenever the zapper is aimed at the white space (with precision) and sometimes goes off a little when I wag the lightgun at my bright, flourescent lights

zapper_trigger.nes is very interesting! The buzz goes off when the trigger is partially pulled (there is an audible click in the zapper itself), but the buzz stops when the trigger is completely pulled. (I didn't know the lightgun could do this.) Is this how the test is supposed to work?

Edit: Oh yeah, thanks! :oops: :)

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 12:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5824
Location: Canada
I can't seem to find the source, but as I recall both ROMs just continually poll either the "light" or the "trigger" bit; if set it flips the value written to $4011 (buzz) and waits until the next NMI to start polling again.

Yes the trigger starts to signal on about halfway into a pull, and it turns off somewhere roughly on the "zap", and there's a lot of bounce/noise at either transition. (Slow pulls are particularly bad.)

There's also no way to distinguish half pull then release from pulling to "zap". Either way counts as a shot, generally.


Edit: I found the source, cleaned it up a little and posted it in that thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 7:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 1:22 pm
Posts: 501
Is this going to be a Compo entry? I was thinking so since you linked it from the Compo planning thread.

Just thinking this could be moved into the Compo 2016 subforum.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 8:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 542
Location: United States
darryl.revok wrote:
Is this going to be a Compo entry? I was thinking so since you linked it from the Compo planning thread.

Just thinking this could be moved into the Compo 2016 subforum.
Sure, that would be splendid.

Here's the latest update.

Attachment:
RussianRoulette.nes [288.03 KiB]
Downloaded 79 times

I'm getting graphical glitches again; this time horizontal bars in certain tile spaces. Anyone else noticing these?

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 9:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2981
Location: Tampere, Finland
Jedi QuestMaster wrote:
I'm getting graphical glitches again; this time horizontal bars in certain tile spaces. Anyone else noticing these?

Where are you running it?

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 9:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 542
Location: United States
thefox wrote:
Where are you running it?

On a PowerPak.

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 10:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2981
Location: Tampere, Finland
This diagnostic from NDX might be a clue:
Code:
Warning: Writing to $2007 while PPU is rendering (PC = $EBFA)  (further messages suppressed)
(Appears when the DEMO mode starts.)

There was/is a glitch in most PowerPak mappers causing PPU writes during rendering (which signifies a bug in the program 99.9% of the time) to leak through to PowerPak's CHR-RAM chip. Details at viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11339.

I worked around the glitch in PowerMappers v23 (at https://kkfos.aspekt.fi/), but naturally this is something that's better fixed in the game itself.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 2:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 582
ebfa is inside the NMI routine, specifically _flush_vram_update in neslib. The first update which loads the gun writes about 55 bytes to the nametable, which should be well below the 160 bytes recommendation even with the general overhead.

The normal frame code likewise doesn't get even close to overdoing a frame, it stays below 1/5 with occasional spikes to 1/4.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 542
Location: United States
thefox wrote:
I worked around the glitch in PowerMappers v23 (at https://kkfos.aspekt.fi/), but naturally this is something that's better fixed in the game itself.

I used to have those! :o Okay, thanks. I'll try it out when I have time.

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 11:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 542
Location: United States
I tried out the ROM with PowerMappers v23 and don't see graphical glitches anymore.

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 542
Location: United States
Is there anyone out there willing to help out solely with the Zapper functions? I'd need someone who knows how to program and has the hardware to test it.

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6447
Location: UK (temporarily)
Remind me what exactly it is you need done with the zapper? Just the bit where it's missing the trigger?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group