It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:49 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45 ... 49  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 6:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:15 pm
Posts: 52
Ah but wait, which should be more accurately correct?
Cause it's all very confusing for me, cause i am just used to the Pixel 1:1 where it's all easy;P

And also, where are the save files located, i would like everything to be saved in the folder of the Emulator,
from my understanding it's in my documents, i find the folder but no clue which is the save file (not save stat).

Many thanks;D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19087
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
The user may not have permission to write to the emulator folder, especially if an emulator is installed for all users in an administrator-owned folder such as %ProgramFiles%\application or /opt/publisher/application.

The convention is to create a folder inside the user's home directory and store settings, battery RAM files, and saved states there. On Windows, this folder is usually called %APPDATA%\publisher\application; on UNIX it's $HOME/.application or $HOME/.publisher/application. Because the file manager hides the %APPDATA% folder or folders whose name begins with ., it's convenient to offer a menu item within your emulator to open this folder in the file manager.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:15 pm
Posts: 52
Ah i see.

And also i need some emergency help, the game didn't save last time i played:((
I played a lot, and restarted the games several times.

Then i let it be on, and the Emulator crashed when i focused on it.
Then i started the game anew, and the save file was from when i last started the Emulator:(

I am guessing i am screwed, or does the save file exist somewhere, temporary before saving when i guess the Emulator closes?

EDIT:

Have replayed it and added a request on Git to "fix" it, so that the save files are actually written on the spot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 4:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 5
Hello,
first of all congratulations for all the hard work put in this project.
I'm using version SDL 0.100 and i tried to use crt-royale.glslp (from the latest Retroarch pack), when i select the shader PuNes closes itself.

I have a laptop equipped with Intel Hd4000.

Could you please check this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 3:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
lidnariq wrote:
puNES doesn't even implement the VS System's coin drops or dip switches, nevermind supporting the alternate PPUs.
Vs. System support
BlackGuyRX wrote:
Is there any option for exclusive fullscreen? I use a G-Sync monitor and this emulator doesn't seem to be compatible, it stutters when G-Sync is active, even if i try to add it to the 3D settings via nVidia control panel.
I'm sorry but I do not have a G-Sync monitor and even a video card NVidia. :(
tepples wrote:
it's convenient to offer a menu item within your emulator to open this folder in the file manager
Good idea.
cybermat wrote:
I'm using version SDL 0.100 and i tried to use crt-royale.glslp (from the latest Retroarch pack), when i select the shader PuNes closes itself.
I have a laptop equipped with Intel Hd4000.
I will contact you in private.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 3:44 am
Posts: 5
I took a video using OpenGL version, as you can see when screen moves vertically there is a line of artifacts.
I tried different options but i have the same behaviour.


Attachments:
puNES.rar [1.22 KiB]
Downloaded 121 times

[ Play Quicktime file ] ducktales.mp4 [ 572.22 KiB | Viewed 3336 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:49 am
Posts: 1
Hello FHorse! I am a big fan of puNES! It is simply the best emulator, especially because the Video Shader 'CRT Scanlines' makes it look exactly like my childhood TV. :D :lol:
Also, wonderful job on the 7-Zip support. Now I can play directly from the GoodNES ROM set without having to extract them or reconvert them into ZIP archives.
Now, I have a question for you. Will you be adding AVI Recording in a future release?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:29 pm
Posts: 2
Hello!
I've been trying to use RetroArch shaders without success.
For the Dx9 version I use the .cgp files but get a "shader error. use no filter" (or something very similar to that)
Using the SDL version, I use the .glslp files but when I try to load them, puNES crashes.
Any ideas?
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
aych001 wrote:
Hello FHorse! I am a big fan of puNES! It is simply the best emulator, especially because the Video Shader 'CRT Scanlines' makes it look exactly like my childhood TV. :D :lol:
Also, wonderful job on the 7-Zip support. Now I can play directly from the GoodNES ROM set without having to extract them or reconvert them into ZIP archives.
Now, I have a question for you. Will you be adding AVI Recording in a future release?
Hi aych001, first of all thx for the support :). In my list of things to do there is also the possibility to record a video of the game session. Sooner or later.
gabb995 wrote:
Hello!
I've been trying to use RetroArch shaders without success.
For the Dx9 version I use the .cgp files but get a "shader error. use no filter" (or something very similar to that)
Using the SDL version, I use the .glslp files but when I try to load them, puNES crashes.
Any ideas?
Thanks!
I sent you a private message.

If someone want test the last 0.101 WIP these are links
Windows:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21595068/punes32.wip.d3d9.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21595068/punes64.wip.d3d9.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21595068/punes32.wip.sdl.zip
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21595068/punes64.wip.sdl.zip
Linux:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21595068/punes32
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21595068/punes64
Changelog:
- Full support of Vs System (dip switches, coin counter, etc.).
- Overclocking (based on the idea of feos).
- Added a new feature : "Tools" menu.
- UNIF mapper TF1201 ("Lethal Weapon (Ch)").


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 3:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 11:46 pm
Posts: 37
FHorse, it's impressive that you keep adding very tangible enhancements to your emulator! I'm especially happy about the recent additions of being able to load a custom shader and disable the sprite limit and I'll have to try out the new overclocking function.

I had an idea for another enhancement that probably would be pretty easy. I don't know about anyone else, but I'd really appreciate being able to save settings for different games, especially palettes and overscan cropping. I currently have a text document where I write down how much each game needs to be cropped to eliminate artifacts while preserving all the rest of the image, and I have to look at it and then change the values in the emulator each time I switch games. Also, different games look better with different palettes. It would be great if I could get everything set up how I want it and then save a game-specific profile that would be automatically loaded the next time I open the game. I hope you consider my request. In any case, keep up the great work. :beer:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:15 am
Posts: 1
I really like this emulator, but now I encountered a compiling error under Linux for v0.100 with latest packages (GCC 6.1.1):
xBRZ/xbrz.cpp: In function ‘double {anonymous}::distRGB(uint32_t, uint32_t)’:
xBRZ/xbrz.cpp:174:12: error: ‘sqrt’ is not a member of ‘std’
return std::sqrt(square(r_diff) + square(g_diff) + square(b_diff));
xBRZ/xbrz.cpp: In function ‘double {anonymous}::distYCbCr(uint32_t, uint32_t, double)’:
xBRZ/xbrz.cpp:201:12: error: ‘sqrt’ is not a member of ‘std’
return std::sqrt(square(lumaWeight * y) + square(c_b) + square(c_r));
xBRZ/xbrz.cpp: In constructor ‘{anonymous}::DistYCbCrBuffer::DistYCbCrBuffer()’:
xBRZ/xbrz.cpp:237:44: error: ‘sqrt’ is not a member of ‘std’
buffer[i] = static_cast<float>(std::sqrt(square(y) + square(c_b) + square(c_r)));

I think sqrt is a member of math not std, plus I don't think it is needed to specify it. But just looking up the github page, a patch has already been committed...
It was probably already mentioned but I'd really like to have a debugger menu if it's possible :mrgreen: .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19087
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
std::sqrt in cppreference.com

Is #include <cmath> in the right place?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5710
Location: Canada
reedwolf wrote:
I think sqrt is a member of math not std, plus I don't think it is needed to specify it.

It is a member of std if you include <cmath>. It may also be a member of the global namespace (varies).

If you include <math.h> instead it will just be in the global namespace.

xbrz.cpp appears to include neither. I imagine that it was accidentally working because of some implementation that collaterally includes std::sqrt through another header.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:39 pm
Posts: 9
Hello, Can you please add a Frame Skip OFF option. Thank you and have a nice day.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:25 am
Posts: 1
Trying to use the bilinear.cgp and nearest.cgp shaders from the libretro common-shaders Git repo causes an error on loading the shaders, switch to "No filter" message.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45 ... 49  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group