It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:09 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 11:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:41 pm
Posts: 74
lidnariq wrote:
This is also why Castlevania 3 is on MMC5 instead of VRC6, even though it doesn't really use hardly any of the MMC5 features.


I did work on an MMC5 mapper mostly to get Castlevania III running. It uses the IRQ counter, ExRam page and fill mode. I really had to restructure my code to make mappers more flexible when it came to implementing Ex Graphics mode to run Rom City Rampage. It allows for tile-specific bank pages and attributes (improving on the coarse 16x16 pixel attribute limit).

_________________
Tile IDE and tile engine for XNA: http://tide.codeplex.com/
Fancy Fish Mod - Minecraft Mod: http://fancyfishmod.weebly.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:21 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6297
Location: Seattle
Congratulations on pedantically misinterpreting what I said as a request for details on how Castlevania 3(US) uses the MMC5.

Since you've chosen to be pedantic, I'll point out that you did not observe that it uses MMC5's CHR 8×1K banking, and especially the 16+8+8 PRG banking mode that is uniquely compatible with the VRC6.

Would have using the phrase "MMC5 exclusive features" have kept you from enumerating that list? It's not relevant to the point, which is that games often changed mapper when exported from Japan because NoA and NoE rarely OKed ASIC mappers that Nintendo hadn't made.

Before the pedants pile on: Yes, I know about MC-ACC, FME-7, and Namco's 108. Those don't negate my point.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:41 pm
Posts: 74
lidnariq wrote:
Congratulations on pedantically misinterpreting what I said as a request for details on how Castlevania 3(US) uses the MMC5.


I didn't mean any offence, perhaps I have an annoying habit of rambling off topic. To be honest I have never thought through the reason why different localisations of a game were released on different mappers. It initially occurred to me that it would be simpler to just change font characters and text strings. I appreciate the insights you've given me and I admit I failed to take proper note of the wiki links you posted, my apologies. :)

_________________
Tile IDE and tile engine for XNA: http://tide.codeplex.com/
Fancy Fish Mod - Minecraft Mod: http://fancyfishmod.weebly.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19120
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
A forum search for username "tepples" and word "certified" brought up several posts stating the conventional wisdom about why CV3 uses MMC5.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group