It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:04 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 722 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:49 am
Posts: 51
The game Chaos World (CH) crashes on the opening in game cutscene (after you create a character and start the game.)

It crashes because it expects 4 screen mirroring.

I'm not sure if mapper 195 is supposed to have 4 screen mirroring available, or if the game uses a slightly modified mapper, or actually is a different mapper altogether.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6437
Location: UK (temporarily)
4 screen seems unlikely... even in the later pirate era, adding an extra IC costs money, and most of the time it seems to be bad documentation rather than 4-screen layout.

Then again, the game seems to only boot probabilistically (staying at a solid grey screen the rest of the time), so it's kinda hard to diagnose things.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 11:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5821
Location: Canada
The Chaos World ROM I have is mapper 1. The opening stuff is vertical arrangement, and the game map appears to use single screen, as far as I can tell. (Kinda surprised there's no bootgod entry for it?)

Edit: oh, sorry, I didn't notice the "CH", but it looks like for the Chinese hack version it ends up in the wrong mirroring mode instead of single screen 0 for the game map, on FCEUX at least.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 12:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:49 am
Posts: 51
lidnariq wrote:
4 screen seems unlikely... even in the later pirate era, adding an extra IC costs money, and most of the time it seems to be bad documentation rather than 4-screen layout.

Then again, the game seems to only boot probabilistically (staying at a solid grey screen the rest of the time), so it's kinda hard to diagnose things.


So far from what I tested, the game won't boot when saveram is present. It must be getting corrupted during writing somehow?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6437
Location: UK (temporarily)
Game seems to operate correctly in Nestopia when emulated as mapper 195 if save ram has been deleted, and not with 4-screen mirroring.

Looks like Nestopia treats Waixing's MMC3 clones' mirroring register differently. Rather than just using the LSB to select V/H, it instead uses the two LSBs to select V/H/0/1. I bet that's what's happening here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 3:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:49 am
Posts: 51
Yeah you're right it's one screen not four screen, my mistake.

Any idea about the saveram?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6437
Location: UK (temporarily)
My best guess is that the game expects save RAM to power up with all FFs, and emulators are giving it all 0s. But having just tried that ... it didn't help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:15 pm
Posts: 66
I just played through The Legend of Zelda, and i noticed slowdowns when many enemies where on screen (and/or did attacks like beams etc).
Also noticed Flickering on sprites quite often.

Is this how it was on the NES or is something wrong, cause it seemed to be quite a bit too obvious at times, looked more glitchy so to speak.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6437
Location: UK (temporarily)
It is extremely likely that those flaws are authentic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:15 pm
Posts: 66
Okay, that's good to know:)

What settings solve the problems though, the overclock and unlimited sprites?
And if so, do they break stuff?

I know they don't speed up the game (at least Zelda) which is nice.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:09 pm
Posts: 1035
Enabling more sprites per scanline on Zelda will cause this visual quirk. The hardware can only draw eight, so the developers placed eight in a line by the tops of doors to ensure Link's body was hidden.

Image

_________________
https://kasumi.itch.io/indivisible


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3192
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
zerowalker wrote:
Okay, that's good to know:)

What settings solve the problems though, the overclock and unlimited sprites?
And if so, do they break stuff?

I know they don't speed up the game (at least Zelda) which is nice.

http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Spri ... flow_games contains a list of games that are known to break (and what the breakage is) when using the "no sprite limit" feature. In short: do not use this feature unless you're willing to accept potential visual anomalies.

None of us who grew up with these games on the actual hardware cared much about "sprite flicker" -- we were too busy enjoying the games themselves.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:53 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3075
Location: Brazil
And then it's requested overclocking, no sprite limit, Dendy support and so on... for complaining/reporting annoyances later. After all, are you really enjoying playing the games or just enjoying the FCEUx features?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:15 pm
Posts: 66
The link being shown under the door actually happened to me without any features activated.
Or well not like that though, but only one place, but it's like a black space between the "Menu" and the Map.

How is overclock affecting games, is it safer?

As for complaining.
I am not complaining, i just wanted to confirm if my issues where supposed to be there.
And if they are, then it's all fine, and any solution to that is hacking, and therefore i don't have any expectations on the emulator for that part.
The Emulator should in first priority handle NES as it's supposed to be handled as that is the goal of puNES.

Overclocking etc is a bonus, if they work, it's great, if they don't, then Maybe it can be tweaked or you may be screwed;P
I am all for options, but i care much for accuracy as the main point, so me asking about these features are not to be taken as a view away from that:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: puNES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:07 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3075
Location: Brazil
Anything that breaks the hardware rules will glitch the games. It's fun... until the time something glitches and so... "is that normal to happen"? As I said, the bad side of using an emulator for messing up the hardware defaults. A few guys fired against me regarding the lack of such features in my emulator... until now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 722 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group