It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:44 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:01 am
Posts: 11
Would it be at all possible to get some tracks before they've been mixed together? If not then a couple of random tracks would work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:01 am
Posts: 11
Actually, if they could all be tracks from super mario bros for consistency that would work. Thanks is advance. I'm looking to see if I can also implement the mixer as part of the project.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:09 am
Posts: 298
Four more tracks, in 7z format because zip broke the attatchment size limit.


Attachments:
File comment: WARNING 430 MB
smb1-raw-2.7z [1.43 MiB]
Downloaded 53 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:01 am
Posts: 11
Does the way you sample the output let you just take the pulse, triangle and noise channels separately before they've passed through the DACs?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:09 am
Posts: 298
kyguy37536 wrote:
Does the way you sample the output let you just take the pulse, triangle and noise channels separately before they've passed through the DACs?

Not without significant modifications.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:01 am
Posts: 11
Okay no problem. Thanks for all the help/data. Are there are any ideas off the top of your head that would maybe allow me to improve on the way that the NES processed the audio so I can go a little more in depth on the project?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:09 am
Posts: 298
kyguy37536 wrote:
Okay no problem. Thanks for all the help/data. Are there are any ideas off the top of your head that would maybe allow me to improve on the way that the NES processed the audio so I can go a little more in depth on the project?

My goal as an emulator author is accuracy, so I honestly have no idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:01 am
Posts: 11
Do you have the samples of the songs after the filters have been applied?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
NES generates those pretty square waves and triangle waves and stuff at sampling rates in the MHz, then everything after that is analog. No more emulation at that point, just simulating the effects of the circuits. Heck, you'd probably need an oscilloscope to see how close the NES's generated waves are to their ideal forms before any other analog stuff happens.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:14 pm 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1129
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
The triangle is certainly going to look a lot less than ideal :lol:

Speaking of which, does anybody know the +/- voltage of the channels before and after mixing? Would be good to know when adding in ext. audio from a cart.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES APU in Matlab
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:09 am
Posts: 298
kyguy37536 wrote:
Do you have the samples of the songs after the filters have been applied?

No, and I couldn't post them anyway, because it destroys the compression ratio. And my filters aren't hardware-accurate to begin with.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], krzysiobal, tepples and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group