It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:48 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:01 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Seattle
Does anyone know if the RetroUSB AVS reproduces the NES's hardware quirks, e.g. the DMC/gamepad conflict? I'm looking into purchasing a hardware NES for dev-testing purposes, and the AVS seems like a more dependable option than an eBay-sourced original, assuming it can do what I need it to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:34 pm 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 909
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
It contains a FPGA programmed to replicate behaviour. I don't know how exact the FPGA in the AVS replicates everything, so i'm just saying this: there are probably some obscure behaviours in the original which aren't even fully charted yet. This is a theoretical and (to be fair) small problem which you nevertheless can avoid by getting original hardware.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3192
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
If you know of a 100% reliable way to test for such quirks, either in a game or a test ROM, let me know and I'll be happy to try it on my AVS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:27 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10067
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
People are still discovering quirks in the original hardware every once in a while, so I think it's safe to say that the AVS can't possibly work 100% like the original console. Until someone decides to replicate CPU and PPU dies at the lowest level, copying their exact transistor layouts, we're stuck with "close-but-not-quite" replications of the original logic.

If the software you're developing doesn't make use of intricate raster effects or pushes the boundaries of the console's design too much, it should be safe to use accurate emulators and/or an AVS during development, and have someone else test the final build on original hardware for you just to be sure everything is OK. But if you're doing complex effects that rely on very precise timing and/or manipulation of hardware registers at sensitive times, you definitely should be using the original console for testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:01 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Seattle
WheelInventor wrote:
I don't know how exact the FPGA in the AVS replicates everything, so i'm just saying this: there are probably some obscure behaviours in the original which aren't even fully charted yet. This is a theoretical and (to be fair) small problem which you nevertheless can avoid by getting original hardware.

tokumaru wrote:
If the software you're developing doesn't make use of intricate raster effects or pushes the boundaries of the console's design too much, it should be safe to use accurate emulators and/or an AVS during development, and have someone else test the final build on original hardware for you just to be sure everything is OK. But if you're doing complex effects that rely on very precise timing and/or manipulation of hardware registers at sensitive times, you definitely should be using the original console for testing.

Looks like I'll have to stick with the real deal to ensure flexibility and compatibility, then. I'd kind of suspected as much, but I'm glad (though also slightly disappointed) to have it confirmed. Thanks for your help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 8:19 pm
Posts: 89
The other thing to think about is what % of the people you want to sell this to will still be using an original NES to play the game vs some other clone (retron, AVS, etc).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:30 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10067
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
hackfresh wrote:
The other thing to think about is what % of the people you want to sell this to will still be using an original NES to play the game vs some other clone (retron, AVS, etc).

The original console is always the common ground though, since all others are modeled after it. Even if all original Nintendo units fail, the original design is still the reference for all other implementations. If different developers start to cater to the inaccuracies of this or that clone, the standard is lost.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5733
Location: Canada
Given how many emulators don't implement the DPCM glitch without compatibility problems, and that the PAL revision doesn't have the glitch, it might have been a sensible idea for the RetroAVS not to implement it (depending on point of view / implementation details).

As far as test ROMs, maybe these ones will do?
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?p=63998#p63998


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:58 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10067
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
I can understand why one might choose not to implement the DPCM glitch, but if programmers suddenly started ignoring this glitch while still marketing their products as "NES games", that could be a problem for anyone still using the original console.

Not that this kind of problem is unheard of, even back in the commercial days of the NES. For example, there are a few games reading from $2004 for timing reasons, but IIRC, early PPUs didn't support $2004 reads. The Master System port of Earthworm Jim apparently has problems with its status bar, because not all consoles support scaled sprites, unlike the Game Gear, where the original game's status bar worked fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:01 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Seattle
koitsu wrote:
If you know of a 100% reliable way to test for such quirks, either in a game or a test ROM, let me know and I'll be happy to try it on my AVS.


In addition to the glitch test that rainwarrior linked, this OAM-synchronized controller read test looks like it could be a good way to see how cycle-accurate the AVS is:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=14319&start=15#p172188


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 4:16 am 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 909
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Here's a similar yet different question:

I test on a PAL unit, and am looking to get a NTSC unit to cover most cases (for testing timing, cross-compability, palettes, and so on).
Except PAL not having the playback/controller bug, and maybe not AVS either, would it suffice to have an original PAL + AVS?

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 808
Location: Sweden
AVS is maybe fun for playing with, but for development I'd get real hardware just to be sure testing is reliable.
An AV-modded Famicom is perfect for this and probably cheaper than an NTSC NES. If you do you can also play around with the microphone. :)

I plan to get a PAL NES again (our old one was thrown in the garbage by my sister :cry: ) at some point just to test PAL compatibility. But they are so darn expensive nowdays! They used to be so cheap.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:41 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10067
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
WheelInventor wrote:
Here's a similar yet different question:

I test on a PAL unit, and am looking to get a NTSC unit to cover most cases (for testing timing, cross-compability, palettes, and so on).
Except PAL not having the playback/controller bug, and maybe not AVS either, would it suffice to have an original PAL + AVS?

I say buy an AVS if you wanna own an AVS (I really want one myself, but there's no way I can pay what it'd cost to import it), but there are no guarantees that it'll make a good development tool. Timing can be tested in a bunch of accurate emulators, an emulator with an NTSC filter will probably be much more helpful with palettes than the AVS, and I have no idea what you mean by cross-compatibility. If you're looking for an excuse to buy an AVS, I don't think this is it.

The AVS is targeted to players, not developers, so I'm sure that accuracy was a concern when creating it only up to a certain point. For example, I've been told that bunnyboy deliberately decided to omit the DPCM controller reading bug, because it doesn't bring any benefits to players. It's actually safer to not implement some quirks of the original hardware and be a little lenient than do a 1:1 copy.

EDIT: Apparently there's been no confirmation about the DPCM/controller bug.


Last edited by tokumaru on Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:46 am 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 909
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Quote:
I plan to get a PAL NES again (our old one was thrown in the garbage by my sister :cry: )

OUCH.

Quote:
But they are so darn expensive nowdays!

I got my second one (including box and everything) for ~600 sek off tradera. That was two years ago, though.

Right now there's two superficially dysfunctional units up, one that probably only needs a good cotton wipe with cleaning gasolene or doctors' alcohol (don't know the proper english terms), or worst case, evening out the connector pins with flat-surface pliers, and one that probably needs a LED change or resoldering. You could save one of those from somebody installing a death grip connector.

Link 1 and 2.

EDIT1: Better than pliers, you can construct a small vice from two 1-2mm thick aluminium panels, two screws and nuts. That way youy can apply an even pressure. PM me if you want to discuss local material sources.

Alternately or additionally, having a cartridge pcb in the connector while clamping them gives evenly distributed support.

re tokumaru:
By cross-compability i mean writing code that may work on PAL but glitch out on NTSC (i'm a novice and don't know the proper way around many things yet, or have a comprehensive idea over making multi region ROMs)
But yeah, i want a NTSC unit for testing purposes, but at the same time an AVS because of its added features. :P I guess i didn't have that distinction clear.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AVS for NES dev?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5733
Location: Canada
tokumaru wrote:
For example, I've been told that bunnyboy deliberately decided to omit the DPCM controller reading bug, because it doesn't bring any benefits to players. It's actually safer to not implement some quirks of the original hardware and be a little lenient than do a 1:1 copy.

Where were you told this? We speculated that it might not earlier in this thread but nobody posted a definitive answer / source about it.

WheelInventor wrote:
By cross-compability i mean writing code that may work on PAL but glitch out on NTSC (i'm a novice and don't know the proper way around many things yet, or have a comprehensive idea over making multi region ROMs)

If it doesn't rely on specific timings or the long vblank, most things on PAL NES will still work on NTSC NES. I tried to make a list of differences recently here.

If it runs on a PAL NES and also in NTSC mode on a relatively accurate emulator like Nintendulator, you're probably OK.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group