It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:24 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
I've been working on a big project and so unfortunately haven't had time to progress on my intended compo entry, Psychic Death House, and as I really like the idea and don't want to make a hash of it I've reluctantly shelved it for now.

I'm super keen on getting something in for the compo though, so I'm revising my ludum dare entry, You are Insignificant, in to a second fuller and, hopefully, better game - The Legend of Quacking Jacks Gold.

This will involve completely redoing the physics (as they were a bit rubbish) and making it in to a larger action packed platform-jumping gold-stealing duck-dodging adventure.

As with any project, I've decided to work on the most important aspect first, something completely crucial without which the game would be hobbled. Today, I have been working on.. the title screen.

What do you think?


Attachments:
title_screenv3.png
title_screenv3.png [ 5.94 KiB | Viewed 1468 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 584
Excellent, but the font for Team Disposable is terrible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19254
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
It looks better if I rescale the title screen using fractional bilinear interpolation: nearest neighbor at an integer ratio no greater than the final size followed by linear interpolation to the final size
Attachment:
loqjg-title-rescaled.png
loqjg-title-rescaled.png [ 10.72 KiB | Viewed 1440 times ]


But looking at how close the copyright notice is to the edge, I see another problem: NTSC TVs might cut it off. Nintendo's rule was to keep important text out of the top and bottom 24 pixels and the left and right 16 pixels. I follow a looser rule inspired by both my own measurements of SDTVs and the scaled mode of the PocketNES emulator: keep text out of the top 16, bottom 12, and side 8. The red tinted areas are thus the most likely to be cut off.
Attachment:
loqjg-title-safearea.png
loqjg-title-safearea.png [ 11.39 KiB | Viewed 1440 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
Ah, thanks for the feedback! I will move the copyright notice, and change its font to something less heinous.

Progress! I've managed to get my ludum dare engine ported over to an unrom with chr-ram, and the basics of a new level loading structure in place using Sumez's excellent level editing tool, however I am having trouble updating chr-ram tiles when in play.

I was hoping to flash over a lava tile with two alternating tiles, for instance, but I think the problem is that I don't have enough time in vblank to do so.

Has anyone managed this successfully (updating a tile in chr-ram with the screen on)? I'm not using any tile compression, and the loading to the PPU starts right after the flag is given for vblank


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19254
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
team_disposable wrote:
I am having trouble updating chr-ram tiles when in play.

I was hoping to flash over a lava tile with two alternating tiles, for instance, but I think the problem is that I don't have enough time in vblank to do so.

You realistically have time to upload 128-160 bytes during vblank between one frame and the next using a moderately unrolled loop. This is equivalent to eight to ten tiles. Haunted: Halloween '85 and its sequel The Curse of Possum Hollow sling tiles all over the place, dynamically loading both background and sprite tiles needed for the next part of the level. The background tiles and maps in both games and the sprite tiles in the second game are compressed.

I took the liberty of rearranging your title screen to fit all important parts in the center 224x192 pixels, following the title safe area guideline implicit in Nintendo's background planning sheets.


Attachments:
loqjg-title-rearranged.png
loqjg-title-rearranged.png [ 3.41 KiB | Viewed 1413 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
Wow, thanks Tepples, that's awesome! Thanks for taking the time to show me the edge limits, I've still got some experimenting to do, but this has definitely set me on the right track!

Re: CHR-RAM, clearly I am doing something incorrect then - I will experiment some more.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
CHR-ram is now working properly and the engine can now do everything as an UNROM it could do as an NROM.

Attachment:
new_engine.gif
new_engine.gif [ 289.27 KiB | Viewed 1378 times ]


Next up: Better Physics!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
I've got the bulk of the physics working -

Bit shifting has given me some nice floaty jumping, and a while loop makes sure collision detection is happening at the appropriate juncture.

Also:

Attachment:
trampled by pig.png
trampled by pig.png [ 2.55 KiB | Viewed 1332 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:41 am 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1021
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Cool! Is that for story cards?

You could perhaps use the 'hair' colour to give hands and forearms some shadowing and/or detail.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
That's a good idea! My artistic skills aren't up to much, however I did try something similar on the duck which I'm quite pleased with

Attachment:
duck.png
duck.png [ 1.71 KiB | Viewed 1326 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
I've changed the pose to make it a little more dynamic and added shading as you suggested - I think it looks quite a bit better, thanks!

Attachment:
shocked_player.png
shocked_player.png [ 1.27 KiB | Viewed 1312 times ]


Physics also now completely working, with moving platform collisions.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
Horizontal platforms are now also working - cant quite get rid of this "pop" effect where the player pops through a platform if they jump on to it from below...

All moving platforms are a single speed in this gif, but they can be configured individually. They are all currently moving to the same width/height, however I have a plan to fix that.

Attachment:
GXaGO0.gif
GXaGO0.gif [ 587.74 KiB | Viewed 1300 times ]


Next: bugfixing, gold, coins, and level building!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:52 am
Posts: 225
team_disposable wrote:
Horizontal platforms are now also working - cant quite get rid of this "pop" effect where the player pops through a platform if they jump on to it from below...



How are you managing collisions? You're probably ejecting the player as if it were going downwards, if you're doing it as I did... try skipping the collision if the player has an upwards movement, maybe? If my assumption is right he should "pop" up only when he reaches the peak of his jumping arch, and it might be less jarring to see (but still forgivable if the player missed the platform by a couple of pixels)

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:52 am
Posts: 79
I managed to crack it, thanks - I also redid the physics engine while I was there.

The game now has an overworld connecting the levels together, and pretty much the whole engine (bar two planned boss fights) is built.

Hurrah!

Attachment:
intro-overworld-levels.gif
intro-overworld-levels.gif [ 1008.08 KiB | Viewed 1216 times ]


The overland graphics are a work in progress.

My current bug - Famitone will only play one sound effect. Anyone have any ideas why?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 1834
Location: DIGDUG
Quote:
Famitone will only play one sound effect. Anyone have any ideas why?


Explain more.

You can only play one at a time (simultaneously)... or all calls to play sound fx plays the same sound.

Standard famitone2 ?

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Last edited by dougeff on Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group