It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:09 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:53 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Ah... the full quote.
"The Reset button on the Control Deck resets the PPU only on the front-loading NES (NES-001). On top-loaders (Famicom, NES-101), the Reset button resets only the CPU".

Interesting. Just tested it in my emulator and - indeed - it scrambles the image and got opcode $12 as invalid.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19099
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Anyone know a guy who has a copy of Micro Machines and an NES-101?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:16 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
tepples wrote:
Anyone know a guy who has a copy of Micro Machines and an NES-101?

I own a toploader NES, swapped duty cycles, but unsure if it's a 101.
About the cart (USA?), I could buy it, but... not looking in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:30 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10057
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Zepper wrote:
I own a toploader NES, swapped duty cycles, but unsure if it's a 101.

"NES-101" is the model number of the official top-loading NES, which the Phantom System definitely isn't. I do remember my clones (Turbo Game and Dynavision) resetting only the CPU though... Maybe the Phantom System is the same?

I have an NES-101, but the only Camerica cart I own is Bee 52.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:37 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
It's a custom brazilian NES board. A toploader, probably famiclone.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5718
Location: Canada
A flash cart should suffice, unless you think there's some yet-misunderstood feature of the cartridge? What's the goal of the test, tepples?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19099
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
The goal of the test is to see whether pressing Reset freezes an authentic copy of Micro Machines on systems that don't reset the PPU along with the CPU. If so, we can list it in Game bugs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:25 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
No japanese version, right?

EDIT: no good offers... I could buy one of these. No way. :shock: In Brazil, it's even rare and hyper-overpriced.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing ... rtIndex=20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 531
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Well, I've played Ultimate Stuntman on a Hi-Top Game, a NES clone from Millar.
If I remember correctly, I needed to press reset more than once to go back to title.
It should behave similar to Micro Machines, should it?
I also think that the Gradiente's Phantom System is the only clone that also resets the PPU, at least the only one I know of. When the reset button is pressed it blacks out the screen.
I'll try to do some tests tomorrow to confirm this, since the one I got is almost fully functional.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 531
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Confirmed.
I tested Ultimate Stuntman on the Hi-Top Game.
Pressing reset mutes some audio channels and after the intro ends, it goes back to Codemaster's logo.
On the Phantom System the game goes back to the logo as soon as I press reset.
Micro Machines should behave the same way, correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:20 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
Hmm... now I wonder...

If I use a 72-to-60pin adaptor and plug MicroMachines in an original Famicom... would it work?
Has the Famicom any kind of protection?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 531
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I think it doesn't have any kind of protection.
I don't know if the Famicom also resets the PPU, but the Phantom System definetively does!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:05 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10057
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
There's nothing preventing NES cartridges from working on the Famicom besides the different connector. If a game doesn't work, the software is to blame.

Fisher wrote:
I don't know if the Famicom also resets the PPU

thefox wrote:
No on Famicom (reset line is not connected to PPU).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 531
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
:oops: I should have read the thread more carefully.
I just don't have an original Micro Machines, and the prices here in Brazil, as stated before, just don't fit my pockets :-(
But Ultimate Stuntman should behave the same way.

EDIT: Is just me that's finding funny 3 brazilians talking in another language in a foreign forum? :lol:
In fact, I just couldn't find a forum as good as nesdev to suit my NES needs. :wink:
I've even come across an old brazilian forum that a guy asked me money to give information... :(
Unfortunatelly this forum doesn't exists anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:29 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10057
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Fisher wrote:
Is just me that's finding funny 3 brazilians talking in another language in a foreign forum?

I'm used to talking about NESDev exclusively in english, so talking in portuguese would actually feel weirder to me.

Quote:
In fact, I just couldn't find a forum as good as nesdev to suit my NES needs. :wink:

NESDev is the best there is!

Quote:
I've even come across an old brazilian forum that a guy asked me money to give information... :(

That's terrible!

Quote:
Unfortunatelly this forum doesn't exists anymore.

The forum where the guy tried to extort you? I'd say it's a fortunate thing it doesn't exist anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group