It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:38 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 7:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 543
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I think this isn't the best place to ask a question like this, but I tried some tips I found on other forums and none worked. :cry:

My CRT TV is acting weird... it has horizontal retrace lines only on the center of the screen.
If I play a bit with the screen adjust on the Flyback I get them to disappear, but the screen becomes too dark.
If I turn the screen adjust to the other side, they become fullscreen.

Any tips or other forum recomendations are welcome.
Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 9:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6304
Location: Seattle
To make sure I understand ... you can see the electron beam during horizontal retrace but only in the center of the screen?

This is almost certainly a bit of crosstalk between all the HV parts of the tube, one of the more awkward bits to compensate for. I don't know what to look for, but I'd start by seeing whether I could get my hands on the service manual for the TV.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 9:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3473
Location: Indianapolis
If the TV was made in the late 90's through early 00's, I would be extra suspicious of any electrolytic capacitors.

edit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 7:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 578
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
What kind of TV is it exactly ?

It kind of sounds like black current loop isn't working right, so the video amp might be damaged or there might just be a bad connection. Did it happen suddenly ?

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 8:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 543
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I hope this picture helps to explain better:
Attachment:
20170507_121027.jpg
20170507_121027.jpg [ 567.69 KiB | Viewed 1064 times ]

It had a problem that it had sound but no image.
I tried to activate the insurance and they "fixed" it.
Unfortunately they say it has no problem and that are "my eyes" that are seeing something that doesn't exists.
Did I somehow become a medium or a prophet to see more than meets the eye?? :evil:
I'll try to get the service manual and look for bad caps and resistors on the circuits surrounding the tube.
Unfortunatelly the label that has it's model number is missing :cry: but I bought it new around 2008.
And... yes, it's a CCE!! :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 9:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 578
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
If it is a capacitor problem it only involves one or two high voltage capacitors that are on B+ (usually +140V) and Video Supply (usually +200V). Service manual will list the exact voltages if you can find it, and when you do, I'd like to take a look also.
Low filament voltage can have such effect too, acceleration voltage (the thing you adjusted on the flyback) needs to be boosted to gain brightness, but sooner or later you reach cutoff limit and guns don't get switched off at low/no signal levels (reason you see the retrace lines).
If all those voltages check out then the tube is EOL. You can do a trick that boosts filament voltage (more heat, more electrons, more brightness) but it will only postpone the inevitable a bit. Flyback itself might be bad too, if anode voltage drops so will brightness but you cannot really measure the anode voltage (15...28kV, depending on tube size).

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 10:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6304
Location: Seattle
Given the spacing there, that actually looks like it's leaving the gun on during vertical retrace... makes me suspect that it's never actually turning off the guns at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 10:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 578
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
horizontal blanking retrace lines are pretty much invisible due to their speed, the ones seen on the photo are indeed of vertical blanking period.

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:57 pm
Posts: 1248
Retrace lines are invisible because they occur during the horizontal and vertical blanking periods of the video signal. During both horizontal and vertical blanking, the voltage is set to the blanking level, which is below the black level (outside of Japan at least), and this is done to make sure the gun does not output during retrace.

Modern TVs may manually turn off the gun during retrace, but "officially", it's the video signal that's supposed to turn off the gun during the retrace.

I've seen a TV before which has these lines when you're sitting on the blank input screen with no signal, but the lines disappear once an input signal actually appears. Do you still see these lines when you have a device plugged into the TV and turned on?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 3:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 543
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Drag wrote:
Do you still see these lines when you have a device plugged into the TV and turned on?

Yes I do.
They're less noticeable on scenes with lighter colours and very apparent on dark.
I'm just kind of pissed off because it seems the guys who fixed it removed the identification label, besides saying they're seeing nothing.
Would this be very noticeable to me because I'm a old gamer or it's just an excuse to not fix not completely well done job?

I'm still searching for some service manual. Looks like I've put this TV name on my (very messy) Xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier     "Monitor3"
   VendorName     "CCE"
   ModelName      "HPS-2290"
   Gamma 2.8 3.0 3.0
EndSection

If someone is interested in see the full mess, the file is here. It's a multiseat setup, what kind of explains the mess...
Unfortunately I could not find anything besides the remote control and its LIRC codes. :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 7:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:57 pm
Posts: 1248
Yeah, something's really funky, those lines showing up suggests that the brightness is set so high that the blanking level is above 0 volts, but for that to happen, the picture would appear really super light and washed out, so something else must be wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 5:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19122
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
It's not automatic gain control copy protection, is it? Because when I was in school, I saw a cheap TV where that caused distracting white lines across the screen to slowly fade on and off.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 543
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Interesting.
But it seems to not be the case since this picture was taken with no active video source.
I strongly need to take my time and disassemble it.
Maybe I can at least figure the correct model number.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1308
tepples wrote:
It's not automatic gain control copy protection, is it? Because when I was in school, I saw a cheap TV where that caused distracting white lines across the screen to slowly fade on and off.

That sounds like Macrovision protection on a DVD, combined with a cheap television that has harsh overscan and/or doesn't blank during vertical retrace. Those were intended to upset consumer-grade VCRs, which might encounter tracking problems when the white lines are introduced.

Fisher wrote:
Interesting.
But it seems to not be the case since this picture was taken with no active video source.
I strongly need to take my time and disassemble it.
Maybe I can at least figure the correct model number.


It does look to me like your Screen /G2 control is too high. If there are bias controls for the individual guns, you can try turning those up after turning down the screen control on the flyback to counter the crushed dark colors that you'd get from turning down screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 4:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am
Posts: 201
I'm dumb when it comes to electronics, but have you inspected the area that was repaired for shorts? Maybe they screwed something up when they fixed it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group