It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:45 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 585
If you wrap it in ggvm like Owlia, the ROM can't be extracted from it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
maseter wrote:
For example, i played the legends of owlia demo in an emulator, and bought the game on steam.

"Legends of Owlia" is a huge game, so a demo makes sense.
This one here is a small highscore game. Complexity-wise, it's comparable to "Kung Fu". Demo versions don't make sense for these kind of games.

If you want to know whether this kind of gameplay interests you, the following video should suffice:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eee0yurkIW4

maseter wrote:
And without a rom nobody can start working on a nude patch... :)

If anybody's really that desperate to wank to a 16 x 36 pixel sprite, I guess he doesn't necessarily need the game. He can just as well alter the sprite in an image file.

Here, have fun. :mrgreen:
Attachment:
Amy.png
Amy.png [ 1.4 KiB | Viewed 762 times ]


calima wrote:
If you wrap it in ggvm like Owlia, the ROM can't be extracted from it.

This might be an option. I'd first have to check out how this works, though, since GradualGames said that customization is necessary.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 2:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19259
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
The other way, because you wrote it in C, is to keep the game logic and write a new display engine that uses good old SDL.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
tepples wrote:
The other way, because you wrote it in C, is to keep the game logic and write a new display engine that uses good old SDL.

Meh. That won't happen.

I didn't do a clear separation of game logic vs. display logic simply because such a separation would take too much CPU time away in an NES game.

For example, the current animation phase of a character is stored as a pointer that points to an array that has all the actual PPU tile numbers for drawing that character plus palette and size information.
The current animation phase in the game logic isn't just an ID which the drawing logic uses to find the drawing data in a lookup table. The current animation phase is an actual pointer to an array of NES-specific data with numbers that refer to pattern tables and palettes.

How should I convert this to SDL?
Should I create the drawing logic as actually puzzling together 8x8 tiles and coloring them on the fly, even though in an SDL game, each character animation phase could be simply stored in a full bitmap file?
Or should I change the meta sprite definitions from a data array to an SDL_Surface (or whatever is used for that)? This way I would have to fiddle with actual variables in data structs that also store purely logic-based things.

Same with the background: The way each slice of a house looks like is actually stored with the corresponding tile values.
And palette information is stored with the NES' specific layout of palette data where one byte stands for a 32x32 pixel area on the screen.
And for drawing tiles anywhere on the screen, like the title screen artwork, I use the first two bytes to actually specify the current drawing starting address of the PPU. I don't specify the x and y tile coordinate of a background tile, I specify the actual PPU address for it.

In any case, porting the game to the PC would not be just cleanly switching out some of the low level files and keeping everything else the same. It would require manually editing stuff in several different files.
Or it would require the drawing logic to behave like the NES PPU.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 9:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:37 am
Posts: 186
DRW wrote:
If anybody's really that desperate to wank to a 16 x 36 pixel sprite, I guess he doesn't necessarily need the game. He can just as well alter the sprite in an image file.

Here, have fun. :mrgreen:

Well, if you insist! :wink:

I had a few minutes to kill before bed, so I roughed out a quick sex loop, in an approximation of your sprite style.
I was going to mock up a full scene, but ran out of time. It's also rough around the edges, but... meh.

Here's an external link, to the GIF on Imgur: (NSFW!)
https://i.imgur.com/5Vvtnne.gif

Enjoy! :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
I can't believe it. He actually did this.

Don't let my graphics artist see this image.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:27 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Hong Kong
Without the other elements, you may interpret the character as changing to a flesh coloured overall and banging her head though. May work as a head butt move. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 6:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
I've got a question to the people who bought the game:

Has anybody played the cartidge on an AVS? If yes, have you experienced the problem that you can start the game, but once the level starts, the character cannot be controlled?

John Hancock made a video about our game:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=13_lHMATrt8

And he experienced this very problem on the AVS.

My graphics artist tried it on her AVS and there was no issue. And I have never seen anything like that on a real NES anyway.

So, now I want to find out whether it's a compatibility issue with the AVS (maybe only for older revisions) or whether John got a faulty cartridge or whatever else is possible.

Also, did anybody of you ever experience this issue on a real NES?

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 1835
Location: DIGDUG
I don't have an AVS. But, logically... if this was a common problem, I would think you would have had complaints from more customers.

I would have this person send it back to you, and then locate someone nearby who has an AVS. (If you're in Germany, I know at least 1 person there who has one)...and see if it's an AVS specific problem.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 10:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
In the moment, my primary suspicion is AVS revisions.
John's AVS is from the first batch.
Both, my publisher and my graphics artist checked the game and didn't see the issue. My graphics artist's AVS is definitely from a later batch.

I wrote a mail to bunnyboy about AVS revisions.
If he tells me that they improved the nine sprites overflow bit behavior, then this might be the solution because that's exactly the rarely-used, obscure feature that I need to do parallax scrolling, so that's probably where the game freezes if the feature isn't properly implemented in the console.
Since the music keeps playing (music update happens in every NMI, even if everything else in NMI is skipped because the game logic isn't ready yet), John probably thought the game didn't freeze and it's only the controls that don't work.

If it was a cartridge problem (Pretty unlikely, why would faulty hardware produce section-specific input bugs?), I would simply let him send it back to the publisher and let the publisher test it.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19259
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Does the customer have a PowerPak? And are there up-to-date test ROMs for the sprite limit bit?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
I don't know whether he has a PowerPak.

For the ROM, I could probably create one.

The current thing that I asked him is whether he would be willing to update the firmware on his AVS.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:57 pm
Posts: 15
if sprite overflow is the problem, perhaps he has the 16 sprite per scanline option selected?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
But shouldn't the sprite overflow bit still be triggered at nine sprites, independent from how many sprites are actually capable to be shown on screen?

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 4:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1474
Somebody just confirmed me that it's indeed the AVS 16 sprites option.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group