It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:41 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6447
Location: UK (temporarily)
Oh dear. That's a big pile of nothing (hence why it compressed so well)

At best, that's the memory region that would correspond to the empty space in the PCB, but ... while the resistor-diode-capacitor was still present, it should have shown the contents of the ROM labeled "MK008".

Does the full 4 MiB dump also compress to a similarly high ratio?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
lidnariq wrote:
Oh dear. That's a big pile of nothing (hence why it compressed so well)

At best, that's the memory region that would correspond to the empty space in the PCB, but ... while the resistor-diode-capacitor was still present, it should have shown the contents of the ROM labeled "MK008".

Does the full 4 MiB dump also compress to a similarly high ratio?


I checked with the 4MB and I have the same info as the 32kib with the hex editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6447
Location: UK (temporarily)
I don't see a particularly plausible way that all three ROMs would die at the same time, in the same way.

I'd vaguely wonder if the 74'139 is working?

Do you have a logic tester / voltmeter / resistor+LED of some sort? If so, you could test whether certain pins are high or low when go to dump it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
lidnariq wrote:
I don't see a particularly plausible way that all three ROMs would die at the same time, in the same way.

I'd vaguely wonder if the 74'139 is working?

Do you have a logic tester / voltmeter / resistor+LED of some sort? If so, you could test whether certain pins are high or low when go to dump it.

Yes, I do have a voltmeter. I can give it a try also. But, I'm not sure that some ROMs are deads because this cart was working before doing the dump things.

Can you confirm which script I need to use? (the final one).

I removed one side of the resistor and one side of the diode to be sure to have a good dump.

Thanks in advance !!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
lidnariq wrote:
I don't see a particularly plausible way that all three ROMs would die at the same time, in the same way.

I'd vaguely wonder if the 74'139 is working?

Do you have a logic tester / voltmeter / resistor+LED of some sort? If so, you could test whether certain pins are high or low when go to dump it.

I have something !!!! I just read on the Kazzo board "Famicom cartridge front side"...... I insert the cart correctly. Here in attachment the first 32kib.


Attachments:
700-in.1_32kib.zip [11.61 KiB]
Downloaded 4 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6447
Location: UK (temporarily)
Oh, yeah, that's totally plausible. I see part of a menu there.

The 4 MiB dump probably won't work in an emulator, but if you zip it up, is it approximately 1.5MiB in size?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
lidnariq wrote:
Oh, yeah, that's totally plausible. I see part of a menu there.

The 4 MiB dump probably won't work in an emulator, but if you zip it up, is it approximately 1.5MiB in size?

In a zip, it's 748Ko. Picture in attachment.


Attachments:
700-in-1-zip.PNG
700-in-1-zip.PNG [ 41.49 KiB | Viewed 189 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6447
Location: UK (temporarily)
Hmm. That's a little better compression that I would have naively guessed. But not wholly out of the range of possibility...

At this point, I think it's likely that you have a good dump, but what we don't have is a good way to get you an emulator that supports it.

I don't suppose you're up to building an emulator from source?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
lidnariq wrote:
Oh, yeah, that's totally plausible. I see part of a menu there.

The 4 MiB dump probably won't work in an emulator, but if you zip it up, is it approximately 1.5MiB in size?

UH THIS IS ODD. I tried the zipped from and see what I have : a 100-in-1 version ??? The cart is a 700-in-1! I'm really surprised.

EDIT : I'm using FCEUX. Already tried Nestopia which doesnt work with the zipped ROM.


Attachments:
100-in-1-odd.PNG
100-in-1-odd.PNG [ 44.08 KiB | Viewed 185 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6447
Location: UK (temporarily)
We already know that MK008 ROM exists in a different multicart that's using the same 74xxx ICs; it clearly reads from the UVEPROM to determine how many entries to display.

The "canonical" memory layout for mapper 235 (which is not the same as either your cart nor SkinnyV's in the link above) uses different mask ROMs in slots "0" and "2" instead of "0" and "3" (and in your case, also "1").

So the code inside MK008 clearly involves switching to that UVEPROM to choose how many entries to display.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6447
Location: UK (temporarily)
Oh, huh, Nestopia's got some funny code going on with four different variants of what it calles Golden Game 260-in-1, handling up to 4 different sizes of PRG:
Code:
            selector
            (
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_1024K ? 0 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_2048K ? 1 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_3072K ? 2 : 3
            )
[...]
               static const byte slots[4][4][2] =
               {
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0}, {0x60,0} }
               };

               uint bank = slots[selector][address >> 8 & 0x3][0] | (address & 0x1F);


I ... don't think I see something here that obviously corresponds to your hardware, however?

Although ... given what I see above, I'd naively assume that a 4 MiB image like you have should work?

Unless the problem is that Nestopia needs a NES2.0 header for a 4 MiB image? Try changing the header in a hex editor from
4e 45 53 1a 00 00 b2 e0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 to
4e 45 53 1a 00 00 b2 e8 00 01 00 07 00 00 00 00


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
lidnariq wrote:
Oh, huh, Nestopia's got some funny code going on with four different variants of what it calles Golden Game 260-in-1, handling up to 4 different sizes of PRG:
Code:
            selector
            (
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_1024K ? 0 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_2048K ? 1 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_3072K ? 2 : 3
            )
[...]
               static const byte slots[4][4][2] =
               {
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0}, {0x60,0} }
               };

               uint bank = slots[selector][address >> 8 & 0x3][0] | (address & 0x1F);


I ... don't think I see something here that obviously corresponds to your hardware, however?

Although ... given what I see above, I'd naively assume that a 4 MiB image like you have should work?

It seems I can't run anything with the ROM. I just did a second dump with :

Code:
 board <- {
   mappernum = 235,
   cpu_rom = {
      size_base = 4194304, size_max = 4194304, banksize = 0x8000
   },
   ppu_rom = {
      size_base = 0, size_max = 0, banksize = 0
   },
   ppu_ramfind = false, vram_mirrorfind = true
};

function cpu_dump(d, pagesize, banksize) {
  for (local i = 0; i < pagesize; i += 1) {
    cpu_write(d, 0xF800 | (i & 31) | ((i << 3) & 0x300), i);
    cpu_read(d, 0x8000, 0x4000);
    cpu_read(d, 0xc000, 0x4000);
  }
}


Now the ROM is 210-in-1 with exactly 212 games. Again there, I can't play games : it reboot or pixelized.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
lidnariq wrote:
Oh, huh, Nestopia's got some funny code going on with four different variants of what it calles Golden Game 260-in-1, handling up to 4 different sizes of PRG:
Code:
            selector
            (
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_1024K ? 0 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_2048K ? 1 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_3072K ? 2 : 3
            )
[...]
               static const byte slots[4][4][2] =
               {
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0}, {0x60,0} }
               };

               uint bank = slots[selector][address >> 8 & 0x3][0] | (address & 0x1F);


I ... don't think I see something here that obviously corresponds to your hardware, however?

Although ... given what I see above, I'd naively assume that a 4 MiB image like you have should work?

Unless the problem is that Nestopia needs a NES2.0 header for a 4 MiB image? Try changing the header in a hex editor from
4e 45 53 1a 00 00 b2 e0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 to
4e 45 53 1a 00 00 b2 e8 00 01 00 07 00 00 00 00

Now I am able to run the 4MB ROM with FCEUX! But still not able to play games.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:20 am
Posts: 26
labatt24 wrote:
lidnariq wrote:
Oh, huh, Nestopia's got some funny code going on with four different variants of what it calles Golden Game 260-in-1, handling up to 4 different sizes of PRG:
Code:
            selector
            (
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_1024K ? 0 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_2048K ? 1 :
               prg.Source().Size() == SIZE_3072K ? 2 : 3
            )
[...]
               static const byte slots[4][4][2] =
               {
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x00,1} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x00,1}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0} },
                  { {0x00,0}, {0x20,0}, {0x40,0}, {0x60,0} }
               };

               uint bank = slots[selector][address >> 8 & 0x3][0] | (address & 0x1F);


I ... don't think I see something here that obviously corresponds to your hardware, however?

Although ... given what I see above, I'd naively assume that a 4 MiB image like you have should work?

Unless the problem is that Nestopia needs a NES2.0 header for a 4 MiB image? Try changing the header in a hex editor from
4e 45 53 1a 00 00 b2 e0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 to
4e 45 53 1a 00 00 b2 e8 00 01 00 07 00 00 00 00

Now I am able to run the 4MB ROM with FCEUX! But still not able to play games.


I have some difficulty using the PM system (mails stuck in the Outbox). I will document things here.

Following the recommandation of lidnariq :
Try replacing "0xF800" with "0xF000"

It seems it did the work! Now I can play games. The ROM size in the ZIP is 2MB. The odd thing here is the cart is 700-in-1 and actually I have 210-in-1 BUT in a working condition. The 700-in-1 is exactly the same thing than the golden game 260-in-1 but without a music menu and without visual (only a black background, purple color menu and the mention 700-in-1 center upper.)

It is possible the cart is using a different mapper ?

And quick question, what is a mapper? It is determined by the hardware itself?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19239
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Please see https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Mapper

It is a number defined by the emulation community that identifies the hardware on the cartridge board.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group