It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:16 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:27 pm
Posts: 17
I have not looked much into music hacking, except for this FF6 document I was reading a while ago but what I want is probably different.

Could Mario Bros 3 in Mario All Stars for example have Mario Bros 3 NES music, or is this impossible?

I've got an NSF for Mario bros 3 and an SPC for Mario All Stars. Not sure what else to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19497
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I thought the music was already the same (but with different instruments) between the NES and Super NES versions of Super Mario Bros. 3. What are you trying to do? Make the Super NES version use square waves to sound just like an NES? Reintroduce the slight desynchronization in the airship theme that was fixed in the Super NES version? Your actual goal informs the choice of replacement technique of least effort.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:27 pm
Posts: 17
Quote:
Make the Super NES version use square waves to sound just like an NES?

This.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10233
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Isn't there at least one NSF player for the SNES? Surely you could use the same techniques it uses to simulate the NES sound channels.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7350
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
The SNES is alas poorly suited to play baack square waves, because they'll either sound very lowpass-filtered, or you won't be able to reach high notes (or both). So in order to sound decent you'll need a collection of square waves at different lengths and play the longer ones when lower notes are played and the shorter ones when higher notes are played. Also the square waves might be pre-highpass filtered to sound more NES like.

In anycase I don't see much interest in doing that, the music is the only major difference between the NES and SNES versions, so if you were to hack the SNES version to have a music more similar to the NES version, why not just play the NES version instead ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 630
+ better graphics + no flicker + no wrong colors at edges


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 6:29 am
Posts: 482
Location: Denmark (PAL)
"better" graphics :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7350
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
calima wrote:
+ better graphics + no flicker + no wrong colors at edges

Any emulator can easily remove sprite flickering, and Nestopia can easily mask the rightmost 8 pixels in order to hide the wrong colours - as for "better" graphics, I don't see why you'd desire them if you don't desire "better" sound.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:59 am 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1215
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Some other options:

-AVS solves most cancelling/flickering in 16 sps mode
-add a new layer of paint onto the chr-rom (sure, it's not original then)
-Move it out of NROM, make new custom graphics
-Fiddle with the scrolling engine and mirroring (pretty cumbersome to do just to be able to play a more personalized and polished copy)

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:40 pm
Posts: 157
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
I really dislike the shading they added to sprites on the SNES version, and to me it feels kind of darker somehow. More detailed backgrounds is a good addition, but I don't like the colors there either. Actually, looking at both versions in detail, it totally loses the "staged play" feel of the original version with things in the horizon with parallax scrolling and fog...

_________________
http://nesrocks.com/blog/superpitfall30th/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:36 am 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1215
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
And there's the overuse of colours and gradients again making everything feel oddly rounded (besides active choices to round corners) i bemoaned in the snesdev thread. It's like everythings' made out of hard candy.

(on the other hand, as a kid i always thought the blocks used in the staircase to the flagpole looked like chocolate blocks).

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10233
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
FrankenGraphics wrote:
as a kid i always thought the blocks used in the staircase to the flagpole looked like chocolate blocks

Maybe even more than the actual chocolate blocks in Castle of Illusion's (SMS) candy level, but they're similar.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:05 am
Posts: 142
Location: Hungary
This is a good example of how low-pass it would get: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyS5ymEURJw


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:27 pm
Posts: 17
Just had an idea...

What if it's an MSU-1 hack?

The only cappy thing is, you'd need an SD2SNES or a specific emulator.

BUT thoeretically this is possible to deploy with NES clarity using MSU-1.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2504
I tried writing some spc700 code to see how long it takes to make a square wave in software, and I got this:

Code:
ldw {phase_0}         //5
adw {frequency_0}      //5 10
stw {phase_0}         //5 15
cpy {duty_0}         //3 18
bcs +            //2 20
adc {output}={volume_0}      //6 26
+;


Already 26 cycles, and the spc700 only has 32 cycles between samples. :roll:

Maybe doing two samples at once would be a little bit better.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group