It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:27 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 282 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2331
Location: DIGDUG
My current work-around solution is to insert alphanumeric characters into the blank area of the original image, then import lossy, and then edit out the alphanumeric tiles, leaving them unused. Takes me very little time.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:24 am
Posts: 367
FrankenGraphics wrote:
Hey shiru, i was wondering if you could look into this?

-As of some recent version, NESST saves .chr files as 8kB by default. This causes inconvenience further down the pipe as 95% of the time, the other 4kB is just an empty fill. I was wondering if you could make it so that unless theres some actual content other than a fill on the "B" set, a 4kB file would be defaulted?

The current workaround for this is either
-saving each file separately rather than all three/four at once; which gives the option to set filesize for chr files.
-cut the superfluous 4kB:s in a hex editor
-use ca65 and pass a 4kB range for the .incbin directive (not an option in other assemblers).
-use powershell or bash to cut it in half

So there are options, but adds a step to the process and a bit of required vigilance compared to earlier NESST versions. If an 8kb file gets in by mistake and breaks a boundary, ca65 users will get a warning, asm6 users will see the file assemble silently but it won't run properly.


Am I misunderstanding your request or are we using different versions of NESst?

It looks to me like 4k is default with other options available:


Attachments:
tmp.gif
tmp.gif [ 45.98 KiB | Viewed 2528 times ]

_________________
www.mteegfx.com
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:54 am 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1783
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
When you All > Save, it saves an 8kB chr file with no options. (But used to save an 4kB file, no options in earlier versions).
When you Chr > Save, it saves your latest used option, + gives you options.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:24 am
Posts: 367
Ah, that'd explain why I hadn't noticed. My workflow doesn't typically have me saving all.

_________________
www.mteegfx.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 6:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:52 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Finland
Quote:
Load CHR file with size of 1K, 2K, 4K, 8K, or other size of multiple of 16.


Regardless of this I'm still getting "Wrong file size" error from loading a file of 32k in size.

EDIT: This seems to happen with 16k files as well. This is weird since both of tese are in a multiple of 16.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:14 am
Posts: 1
Attachment:
robin.jpg
robin.jpg [ 155.92 KiB | Viewed 1654 times ]

Is it possible to make such special screens with NES Screen Tool.
How?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 4:01 am 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1783
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
i don't see anything special about it? Some colours reappear across two subpalettes to make attribute transitions more fluid.

Pattern based graphics editing takes a bit of time getting used to, but NESST is perfectly suited for the job.

Without having the game, i'd assume "press start" and "camerica" is on the sprite layer. A quick glance makes it look like the camerica logo is within 64 pixels.

So you need to make some metasprites and export them as OAM data for your NES program to layer.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 4:20 am 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1783
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
SusiKette wrote:
Quote:
Load CHR file with size of 1K, 2K, 4K, 8K, or other size of multiple of 16.


Regardless of this I'm still getting "Wrong file size" error from loading a file of 32k in size.

EDIT: This seems to happen with 16k files as well. This is weird since both of tese are in a multiple of 16.


Did you get it working, susikette? One thing i noticed the other day is that NESST will crop sizes of nametabledata/map files if you open files via the "all" menu. Maps need to be loaded via the "nametable" menu.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 4:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:16 am
Posts: 205
Buherman wrote:
Attachment:
robin.jpg

Is it possible to make such special screens with NES Screen Tool.
How?


With patience 8-)

_________________
Projects:
Shadow of the Beast (port)
The Sword of Ianna
The Banketh - The Video Game

My website: RetroNES


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 6950
Location: Canada
FrankenGraphics wrote:
i don't see anything special about it?
...
i'd assume "press start" and "camerica" is on the sprite layer. A quick glance makes it look like the camerica logo is within 64 pixels.

You couldn't actually do this in NESST because the screen is split into two halves to make use of twice as much CHR. (Also, there are three sprites as FrankenGraphics suggests.)

Probably possible to make something similar by simplifying a few details, especially that big tree, but as-is it's not something NESST by itself would handle.


By the way, if there's a background screen you want to transfer from FCEUX to NESST, you can go to the Debug > Hex Editor, and then in there File > Dump to file > PPU Memory. The resulting data can be split up into CHR ($0000-1FFF) nametable ($2000-23FF, or one of the other 3) and palette ($3F00-3F0F) and you can load those into NESST.

...though if you just want to learn how it's made, FCEUX's nametable viewer and PPU viewer are a pretty good start just by themselves. (Mesen and Nintendulator have similar tools for inspection too.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:16 pm
Posts: 1
rainwarior wrote:
FrankenGraphics wrote:
i don't see anything special about it?
...
i'd assume "press start" and "camerica" is on the sprite layer. A quick glance makes it look like the camerica logo is within 64 pixels.

You couldn't actually do this in NESST because the screen is split into two halves to make use of twice as much CHR. (Also, there are three sprites as FrankenGraphics suggests.)

Probably possible to make something similar about phen375 by simplifying a few details, especially that big tree, but as-is it's not something NESST by itself would handle.


By the way, if there's a background screen you want to transfer from FCEUX to NESST, you can go to the Debug > Hex Editor, and then in there File > Dump to file > PPU Memory. The resulting data can be split up into CHR ($0000-1FFF) nametable ($2000-23FF, or one of the other 3) and palette ($3F00-3F0F) and you can load those into NESST.

...though if you just want to learn how it's made, FCEUX's nametable viewer and PPU viewer are a pretty good start just by themselves. (Mesen and Nintendulator have similar tools for inspection too.)


An extremely convenient component which I've never found in one of these editors previously is the capacity to 'paint' traits/palettes on the nametable. Extremely decent :)


Last edited by NathanielBowie on Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3677
Location: Mountain View, CA
The title screen to Super Robin Hood actually uses sprites as well as background tiles. Use of sprites means you have some additional colours (overall) available to you. Everything is background tiles except for the CodeMasters logo, the Camerica logo, and the "Press Start" text, which are sprites.

Good looking graphics on the NES are done often by the graphics artist understanding the NES attribute table design/limitation and knowing how to design a screen that has things appropriately placed to work well with it. Once you learn about it and start to see it (visually) in games, it's hard to unsee.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 282 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group