Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
Post Reply
poggeldi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:55 am

Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by poggeldi » Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:41 am

Hey you NES-Gurus! :-)
A friend of mine asked me to build a repro cart of the rare game "Dooly Bravo Land" (Korea only release).
Nestopia gives me the following information:
________________________________
Soft-patched: No
CRC: 86BE4746
SHA-1: 6AAA5521F91F101448E77C996C9802015578400C
System: NES-NTSC
Board: CAMERICA BF9093, Mapper 71
PRG-ROM: 256k
V-RAM: 8k
Solder Pad: H:1 V:0
Battery: No
Dump: Unknown
________________________________

As a donor cartridge i chose MIG-29/Camerica:
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=218
this should work i guess!?

I successfully built a good handful of repros in the past but have my problems with this one.
Do you have any hints how to rewire the PRG-EPROM?
Or is this Camerica-PCB a very special one that cannot be used as a donor?

poggeldi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:55 am

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by poggeldi » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:18 am

no one who could help? :(

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 989
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by Fisher » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:30 am

Unfortunatelly I'm having personal problems and can't try some tests for now.
I'm sure someone else here can help to clarify things, even better than me.
Could you try your ROM on a UNROM board?
AFAIK the mappers are very similar, but not equal.

lidnariq
Posts: 8776
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by lidnariq » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:00 am

As far as we know, Mapper 71 is mostly just UOROM with bus conflict prevention and CIC defeat circuitry.

But I'm a little skeptical that a Korea-only release actually used that hardware.

krzysiobal
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by krzysiobal » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:43 am

Dooly Bravo Land is just regular 256K UNROM (or rather UOROM) game, but it has bus conflicts and writes at $c000-$ffff to change PRG banks, that's why it was assigned mapper 71.

Mig29 Soviet Figher is 128K game and the BF90XX chip it uses has only 3 bits for storing bank number so it is not good donor candidate.

---

OK, Look's like in contrary to FireHawk (which is also 128K and uses BF9097), the version at bootgod uses BF9093 which has 4 bits, so maybe the line controlling PRG-A17 is not wired to anything and can be rewired to support your game.

---

If your version uses BF9093, chech to what is wired pin14 of that chip.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 989
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by Fisher » Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:06 pm

Could this be used on a mapper 180 board?

poggeldi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:55 am

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by poggeldi » Sun Sep 02, 2018 2:39 am

Thanks for your answers!
krzysiobal wrote: If your version uses BF9093, chech to what is wired pin14 of that chip.
Yes, my version uses BF9093. Pin14 of that chip is not wired at all. Should this pin be wired to PRG-A17?
PRG-A17 (PIN 30 of the EPROM) is also NOT connected to anything on the board...

And is there any other pin which should be lifted/rewired?

krzysiobal
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by krzysiobal » Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:48 am

Should this pin be wired to PRG-A17?
Yes, connect them.

poggeldi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:55 am

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by poggeldi » Thu Sep 06, 2018 8:09 am

krzysiobal wrote:
Should this pin be wired to PRG-A17?
Yes, connect them.
Unfortunately I still get a grey screen (nothing displayed) when I connect those 2 pins...
Any other ideas?

krzysiobal
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by krzysiobal » Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:22 pm

What EEPROM or Flash are you using?

poggeldi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:55 am

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by poggeldi » Fri Sep 07, 2018 6:16 am

I use a WINBOND W27C020 EEPROM... Never had any problems with those.
But can I destroy an EEPROM by connecting something wrong?
I think my first rewiring attempt was this one:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 24 and 31
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 24 to GND (OE)

Then I simply tried it without any rewiring (PRG-ROM=EEPROM 1:1) and your suggestion BF9093/Pin14->PRG-A17

krzysiobal
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by krzysiobal » Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:57 am

Check if EPROM.PIN1 is connected to VCC (if not, connect it)

poggeldi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:55 am

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by poggeldi » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:39 am

Sorry for the late answer.
Yes, PIN1 is connected.
Please look at the fotos attached. Do you see anything wrong there?

---
edit: oh wait... PIN1 is VPP (only for programming the chip), right? this is not connected. PIN 32 is VCC...
Attachments
20180920_074414_resized.jpg
20180920_074404_resized.jpg

lidnariq
Posts: 8776
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Problems with building Camerica Game Repro / Mapper 71

Post by lidnariq » Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:04 am

The W27C020 EEPROM datasheet doesn't say anything about what Vpp needs to be doing during read operation, but you probably still want to tie it to either +5V or 0V instead of letting it float.

Post Reply