It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:23 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:03 am
Posts: 733
and releasing a game with this much lag https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqPNpab5Y8g


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:03 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 4159
Location: A world gone mad
Seems OK to me, then again I come from a day where a 2.8MHz 65816 with no hardware sprites or screen pan/scroll capability (read: everything was software) was all you got.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Berlin, Germany
koitsu wrote:
Seems OK to me, then again I come from a day where a 2.8MHz 65816 with no hardware sprites or screen pan/scroll capability (read: everything was software) was all you got.

Tell me something. In those days, did you used to walk to work or did you ride on the back of a dinosaur?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4192
WedNESday wrote:
Tell me something. In those days, did you used to walk to work or did you ride on the back of a dinosaur?

I think you had to open the door and get on the floor.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2536
Location: DIGDUG
I get that reference.

https://youtu.be/zYKupOsaJmk

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2536
Location: DIGDUG
BTW, I always thought that Nintendo could easily have put 8MHz chips and 4x the RAM in the original NES.

Computers in 1985 were that good (sometimes).

Edit, those were 68000 machines at 7-8. The 6502 computers in 1985 were 1-2 Mhz.

Edit 2, and the PC Engine didn't come out till 1987, with a 7Mhz 65c02.

So I guess I was off by 2 years and 1 Mhz.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:02 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 4159
Location: A world gone mad
The question is whether or not that would've been financially feasible for Nintendo. Their goal was to maximise profits while simultaneously minimising impact if the Famicom/NES flopped. It's not always a case of "just use a faster crystal" -- who knows if the Ricoh-developed CPU can even run stable at 8MHz. (Footnote: I'm dreading this subject because I suspect someone is going to start talking about overclocking their NES)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:45 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Imagine haveing a 7mhz 6502

For many years, all of them being made have been guaranteed for at least 14MHz, and the off-the-shelf ones usually top out around 25MHz, if the supporting parts can work at that speed. See WDC's data sheet at http://6502.org/documents/datasheets/wd ... 8_2018.pdf . WDC is the IP owner of the 65c02 technology, and they license it to companies that make ASICs (application-specific ICs, ie, custom ICs) for automotive, industrial, appliance, toy, and even life-support equipment, with a volume of over 100,000,000 units a year, although they're rather invisible since they're in ASICs. IOW, you won't find "6502" in the part number printed on them. These have I/O, timers, memory, and other support circuitry all onboard, not having to go outside the IC for those things like we have to with a bare 6502. The fastest of these is running over 200MHz (yes, two hundred MHz—not a typo). Mike Naberezny, owner of 6502.org, kind of doubted the sales volume numbers given by WDC, but then had the control IC from his modern VW's instrument cluster decapped last year (2018), and found, under the microscope, that the processor was a 65c02.

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Berlin, Germany
dougeff wrote:
I get that reference.

https://youtu.be/zYKupOsaJmk

A. It wasn't a 'reference'.

B. 'The uploader has not made this video available in your country.'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7528
Location: Canada
Dwedit made the reference, it was lyrics to the song you can't watch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:44 pm
Posts: 998
Location: Japan
Oziphantom wrote:
and releasing a game with this much lag https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqPNpab5Y8g

Yes, not many PC-Engine / Turbografx games have noticeable slowdown, simply because of a really nice clock speed for a 65C02-like, and the remnants of an 8-bit game design philosophy. (ie: not a lot of rotating sprite monsters like in Gunstar Heroes, and not a lot of 3-D wireframe games.)

Part of the reason Bloody Wolf slows down is that it was an arcade port from hardware that used 2 CPUs identical to the PCE (HuC6280), so they had to make the gameplay AND sound code run on a single CPU for the home port. Also, I have a feeling that the programmers didn't make good, fast HSync interrupt routines, as the game slows down more when there is HSync line scrolling happening on-screen, like when wading through rivers.

_________________
http://www.chrismcovell.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:36 pm 
Offline
Formerly Espozo
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3501
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Metal Slug 2 says "hi" :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:03 am
Posts: 733
WedNESday wrote:
koitsu wrote:
Seems OK to me, then again I come from a day where a 2.8MHz 65816 with no hardware sprites or screen pan/scroll capability (read: everything was software) was all you got.

Tell me something. In those days, did you used to walk to work or did you ride on the back of a dinosaur?

You have to remember that it was all self inflicted, he could have got an Amiga(hell even an ST), for less even ;) So he sadly had a machine from the company that was behind ;) Although to be fair he did buy the best computer they have ever made.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:03 am
Posts: 733
Garth wrote:
Quote:
Imagine haveing a 7mhz 6502

For many years, all of them being made have been guaranteed for at least 14MHz, and the off-the-shelf ones usually top out around 25MHz, if the supporting parts can work at that speed. See WDC's data sheet at http://6502.org/documents/datasheets/wd ... 8_2018.pdf . WDC is the IP owner of the 65c02 technology, and they license it to companies that make ASICs (application-specific ICs, ie, custom ICs) for automotive, industrial, appliance, toy, and even life-support equipment, with a volume of over 100,000,000 units a year, although they're rather invisible since they're in ASICs. IOW, you won't find "6502" in the part number printed on them. These have I/O, timers, memory, and other support circuitry all onboard, not having to go outside the IC for those things like we have to with a bare 6502. The fastest of these is running over 200MHz (yes, two hundred MHz—not a typo). Mike Naberezny, owner of 6502.org, kind of doubted the sales volume numbers given by WDC, but then had the control IC from his modern VW's instrument cluster decapped last year (2018), and found, under the microscope, that the processor was a 65c02.


A NMOS 6502 can do up to 4mhz(unofficially according to Mench; MOS shipped them up to C spec which is 3mhz rated), 8mhz is out of the question. Given the clock domains, 0.9, 1.8 or 3.5 are the easy ones to get, so 3.5 probably wasn't an option for them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 1177
Location: Hokkaido, Japan
koitsu wrote:
I come from a day where a 2.8MHz 65816 with no hardware sprites or screen pan/scroll capability (read: everything was software) was all you got.
I believe modern IBM-PC video cards STILL don't have hardware sprites and scroll.

I want my sprites! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group