We are Hejickle

Moderator: Moderators

WhiteHat94
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:02 pm

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by WhiteHat94 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:53 am

Aha, yep, that is indeed what it is, makes sense

nocash
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by nocash » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:26 am

Small glitch: Unused sprites should be at Y=EFh..FEh. They are currently at Y=FFh (first scanline). NTSC would usually crop that, but it would be visible on PAL.

I tried the game yesterday and it felt a bit too easy (even without buying or using any extra items). Though today it felt more difficult, and I even managed to die today. I think the difference was that I were killing all enemies one after another yesterday, and tried to pass by enemies without attacking them today.

The falling leaves are really neat - especially in the R.I.P. screen.

Seeing more and more new levels unlocked is also nice.

Don't know if that would fit in: But one could also add puzzle elements, like needing keys or spells to open locked doors or passages. It might slowdown the gameflow though.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11466
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by tokumaru » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:58 am

nocash wrote:Unused sprites should be at Y=EFh..FEh. They are currently at Y=FFh (first scanline).
What? AFAIK, no, Y=$FF does not put sprites at the top of the screen. The wiki also confirms that $FF is a valid Y coordinate for hiding sprites.

User avatar
FrankenGraphics
Formerly WheelInventor
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by FrankenGraphics » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:09 am

Yes, afaik and a little unfortunately sprites will "pop" when overflowing the y axis (in that they don't wrap around halfway), and you can't put sprites visible on the very first scanline.
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog

nocash
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by nocash » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:26 am

Oops, my specs might be a bit outdated then.

User avatar
pubby
Posts: 548
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by pubby » Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:43 pm

I'm confused. Can I keep the sprites at Y=$FF, or should I change it?

User avatar
FrankenGraphics
Formerly WheelInventor
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by FrankenGraphics » Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:17 pm

i think nocash might've meant that since a sprite is shown on the line below its actual value, a sprite att $ff would show on scanline 0. Or maybe they meant something else: because lines 240-260 (idle line + vblank lines) are padding between lines 239 and 0, a sprite could wrap around just a little on NTSC (but this is masked by overscan), assuming that's how it works*. On PAL or Dendy, the vblank period is longer.

*Then again, i'm not sure if sprites are carried over to the next frame at all. I don't think so, but honestly don't know. The answer is probably somewhere on the wiki.
Last edited by FrankenGraphics on Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog

tepples
Posts: 21752
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by tepples » Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:19 pm

Sprites do not wrap on NES. Only the background allows "negative" scroll values, an artifact of treating the attribute table as two rows of tilemap above the top row.

User avatar
pubby
Posts: 548
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by pubby » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:10 pm

Submitted and updated the OP with version 3. The changes are minor, but largely regard balance.

User avatar
FrankenGraphics
Formerly WheelInventor
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by FrankenGraphics » Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:00 pm

How does armor plate work? once bought, always equipped? Is it possible to stack?
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7677
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by rainwarrior » Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:24 pm

Very nice music. I notice the "No Weapon" is actually really a weapon? Like I am not allowed to hold "no weapon" in both hands? That seems funny. (Not that I need to... and I'd be tempted to call it a feature not bug for the sake that it amuses me.)

User avatar
pubby
Posts: 548
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by pubby » Fri Feb 01, 2019 1:55 am

FrankenGraphics wrote:How does armor plate work? once bought, always equipped? Is it possible to stack?
Yes and yes. Buy it and it increases your defenses a little.
rainwarrior wrote:Very nice music. I notice the "No Weapon" is actually really a weapon? Like I am not allowed to hold "no weapon" in both hands? That seems funny. (Not that I need to... and I'd be tempted to call it a feature not bug for the sake that it amuses me.)
Yeah unarmed attacks are implemented as a weapon. It's a bit silly, but that was the easiest way to code it.

Originally there was going to be more reasons to use unarmed attacks, but they were cut due to cartridge size limits.

WhiteHat94
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:02 pm

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by WhiteHat94 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:20 pm

Something small, but if you hold Start to start the game, you will get the same starting floor layout every time.

User avatar
dougeff
Posts: 2616
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Location: DIGDUG
Contact:

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by dougeff » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:58 am

I just played this for the first time this morning. I find it fascinating. Good work.
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES

bngrybt
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:03 am

Re: We are Hejickle

Post by bngrybt » Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:02 pm

Whoa! This is hands down my favorite compo entry this year. I was a huge fan of Castle of the Winds when I was a kid. I spent hours playing that game. It was a rogue-like, but it used Windows icons for a tileset and was a bit more streamlined compared to other rogue-likes of its time. This is giving me huge vibes of that game, and I love it. Like, I love this. If you ever do a full cart release, it's an insta-buy for me.

Post Reply