Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Sour
Posts: 739
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:16 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by Sour » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:39 pm

koitsu wrote:I suspect what Mesen is doing, in contrast, is simply saving all possible PRG-RAM banks (8x8KB) to a single 64KB file as an easy way to deal with the situation, given how annoying >8KB battery-backed PRG-RAM can be to deal with (see above).
This is what it does for games that aren't in the DB or aren't using NES 2.0 headers. Otherwise it tries to figure out which banks are meant to be saved based on the save ram's size (although this is relatively new behavior, 0.9.7 will save all 64kb of save ram no matter what)
koitsu wrote:(Boy I sure wish Mesen's Event Viewer List View tab had a filtering capability similar to the PPU View tab! I'd love to see just mapper reads/writes, for example).
I was actually wondering myself if I had implemented this or not when I was remaking the same tool for the SNES a few weeks ago, I guess the answer is no :p Should be easy to make the list filtered based on the options on the first tab, though (which means the options should probably be moved outside the tabs entirely), I'll add it to my list.

zxbdragon
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by zxbdragon » Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:52 pm

try replace Ppu.cpp:

Code: Select all

					case 320:
					HBlankOff:

						cycles.hClock = 321;

						if (hActiveHook)
							hActiveHook.Execute();
to

Code: Select all

					case 320:
					HBlankOff:

						cycles.hClock = 321;

						//if (hActiveHook)
						//	hActiveHook.Execute();
wram to 16K or High
ETROM
This is an old problem of nestopia,We have this problem when translating super Chinese 3

https://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XNDEwMDEwODkxMg==.html

User avatar
*Spitfire_NES*
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 4:10 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by *Spitfire_NES* » Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:44 pm

I figured i would add this here as well since it's nestopia related and not start a new thread clogging up even more on the forum. I noticed very recently a new nes rom was released called: 8bit Adventure Steins;Gate.

If you have played the Switch version of Stein's Gate Elite, it comes with a bonus game called 8bit Adventure Steins;Gate. It's pretty cool. It's actually an nes rom! I recently tracked it down and noticed on some emulators this does work and some others it does not. (Nestopia, Mednafen will not so far) (FCE ultra does)

I tried running this in nestopia and it always throws the "Corrupt File" error. I viewed the header in a hex editor and cannot understand what is corrupted about it. It is a perfectly fine 16 byte header. It seems to be mapper 4, 512 prg-rom and 256k chr-rom so it is not the need for an oversized mapper. I had not seen anyone mention this on here so thought i would put it out there. :D

What would be corrupted about this rom on some emulators?
Last edited by *Spitfire_NES* on Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zxbdragon
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by zxbdragon » Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:02 pm

8bit Adventure Steins? ROM? NES?

User avatar
*Spitfire_NES*
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 4:10 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by *Spitfire_NES* » Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:46 pm

zxbdragon wrote:try replace Ppu.cpp:

Code: Select all

					case 320:
					HBlankOff:

						cycles.hClock = 321;

						if (hActiveHook)
							hActiveHook.Execute();
to

Code: Select all

					case 320:
					HBlankOff:

						cycles.hClock = 321;

						//if (hActiveHook)
						//	hActiveHook.Execute();
wram to 16K or High
ETROM
This is an old problem of nestopia,We have this problem when translating super Chinese 3

https://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XNDEwMDEwODkxMg==.html
Nice! I just now saw this and tested this and it works perfectly and the behavior is as it should be! Thank you for sharing that here Dragon! :beer: :D Is that code in ppu even needed or was this something that was thought at one time to be accurate but now is no longer needed?

I'll pass this info along to Rdanbrook so he can get this put into Undead.

And yes 8bit Adventure Steins;Gate is an nes rom that was released with the nintendo Switch version of Stein's Gate Elite. However, something in the header must be throwing a corrupted error in nestopia. Not sure why, as i examined the header with a hex editor.

zxbdragon
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by zxbdragon » Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:50 pm

8bit Adventure Steins;Gate ROM Where to download?

NewRisingSun
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:30 am

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by NewRisingSun » Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:09 am

The commonly-available ROM is indeed corrupt: the last CHR bank is 213 bytes too short. Also, the text window is shaking like crazy on most of the accurate emulators, all the time in Mesen, and at least in the laboratory in others as well. Somebody with a devcart could upload this game and try it, to find out whether the supposedly accurate emulators are doing it wrong or the game is.

User avatar
*Spitfire_NES*
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 4:10 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by *Spitfire_NES* » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:29 am

NewRisingSun wrote:The commonly-available ROM is indeed corrupt: the last CHR bank is 213 bytes too short. Also, the text window is shaking like crazy on most of the accurate emulators, all the time in Mesen, and at least in the laboratory in others as well. Somebody with a devcart could upload this game and try it, to find out whether the supposedly accurate emulators are doing it wrong or the game is.
So another copy needs to be uploaded or is this actually the way the rom is intended to be with a chr bank too short?

zxbdragon
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by zxbdragon » Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:57 am

关于这个方案,就当我没有说过。Nestopia就是个垃圾坑,

User avatar
koitsu
Posts: 4216
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Location: A world gone mad

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by koitsu » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:23 am

zxbdragon wrote:关于这个方案,就当我没有说过。Nestopia就是个垃圾坑,
哈哈 :D Nestopia的源码是稀奇古怪; 我想帮忙 但嫌麻烦所以没帮.

zxbdragon
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by zxbdragon » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:09 am

koitsu wrote:
zxbdragon wrote:关于这个方案,就当我没有说过。Nestopia就是个垃圾坑,
哈哈 :D Nestopia的源码是稀奇古怪; 我想帮忙 但嫌麻烦所以没帮.
Nestopia是目前看到结构最好代码,代码,比其它模拟器容易读的多,
他把C++使用的相对如火

User avatar
*Spitfire_NES*
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 4:10 pm

Re: Sim City on Nestopia/Other emulators

Post by *Spitfire_NES* » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:45 am

内斯皮亚有问题, 但还是很有相关性的。感谢您多年来在代码方面提供的所有帮助。它继续变得更好!不过, 有时和工作一起工作也会非常令人沮丧。:P

Post Reply