It is currently Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:54 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8531
Location: Seattle
You can graft two RAMs on top of the PRG ROM as easily as anything else. It's not like that rework is the hard part.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
I made an adapter that solders onto the cart and doubles as the prg rewire and it’s just big enough for one ram chip


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
I’m wondering if it’s my battery circuit not working then game works but won’t save. Here is exactly how I have it wired:

Pin 56 of mmc5 goes to pin 28 of ram
Pin 57 goes to a 1k resistor to the batteries positive then to pin 28 of the ram
Pin 93 goes to pin 28 of ram


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8531
Location: Seattle
Frankym2612 wrote:
Pin 56 of mmc5 goes to pin 28 of ram
As far as I know, that's how the normal circuit works, that's fine.
Quote:
Pin 57 goes to a 1k resistor to the batteries positive then to pin 28 of the ram
But you already connected RAM Vcc to the supply on pin 56. Why did you connect it to the battery also?
Quote:
Pin 93 goes to pin 28 of ram
Why did you do that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
For some reason if I don’t go from 57 to the battery and to the ram it glitches I tried just having 56 to 28, also the case with 93 I figured it needed to be tied high also tried tying it low it only works tied high


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8531
Location: Seattle
Frankym2612 wrote:
For some reason if I don’t go from 57 to the battery and to the ram it glitches I tried just having 56 to 28,
You've got some other problem going on then. The OEM carts aren't doing anything fancier.
Quote:
also the case with 93 I figured it needed to be tied high also tried tying it low it only works tied high
Why did you assume that pin 93 should be tied high or low?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
I’ve definitely got something going on although using laser invasion 57 isn’t going to a ram like in the koe carts. For the 93 it is a15 and there is no a15 on the ram chip I figured it was high disable low enable there are no other accessible pins on the ram but maybe you could fill me in on where it goes? I assure you Ille understand


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8531
Location: Seattle
Frankym2612 wrote:
there is no a15 on the ram chip
You're right. There isn't.

The ETROM PCB ignores A13 and A14, and instead only uses PRG RAM 0 /CE and PRG RAM 1 /CE.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
Ok so I’m guessing use pin 26?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8531
Location: Seattle
Tell me what you're thinking. Why are you suggesting that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
You told me it needs to be connected to the ram


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8531
Location: Seattle
And I'm asking you to explain your thinking process.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
I don’t need to explain myself to you either you help me or don’t get off your high horse and stop playing these games


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8531
Location: Seattle
I teach. I never give instructions that can be followed without thinking. If that doesn't work for you, have fun without me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:25 pm
Posts: 22
Oh I will


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group