Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

User avatar
Banshaku
Posts: 2398
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Japan
Contact:

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Banshaku » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:31 pm

It's around 20$ in japan at cybergadget:
4544859022630.jpg
I may buy one someday but for some reason they sell it at an exorbitant price on amazon.jp so I don't know if it's means it's discontinued or not.

User avatar
Ben Boldt
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:27 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Ben Boldt » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:02 pm

Banshaku wrote:It's around 20$ in japan at cybergadget:
4544859022630.jpg
I may buy one someday but for some reason they sell it at an exorbitant price on amazon.jp so I don't know if it's means it's discontinued or not.
I like it, it looks very nice. It is nice that it is keyed on both sides so nothing can go backwards. I have put a cart in backwards once by accident. Amazingly nothing broke.

Haruka
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Haruka » Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:37 am

I have a question about the circuit.

Why connect PRG A14 and PRG A13 to 74'139 and AY-3-8910, rather than CPU A14 and CPU A13? We are trying to decode CPU memory region $C000~$FFFF, not PRG, aren't we?
Connecting PRG /CE rather than CPU /ROMSEL to 74'139 is also confusing me.

I found that what we are trying to do is quite similar with PRG RAM circuit. The sole difference is the address region. Am I correct?

krzysiobal
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by krzysiobal » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:54 am

It is CPU, not PRG, as you correctly think.

Haruka
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Haruka » Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:07 am

krzysiobal wrote:It is CPU, not PRG, as you correctly think.
So this is the "not so confusing" circuit, right?

Code: Select all

          74'139
         -----v-----
     GND-|/1E   VCC|-+5V
139./2Y1-|1A    /2E|-CPU /ROMSEL
139./2Y1-|1B     2A|-CPU A14
        -|/1Y0   2B|-CPU R/W
        -|/1Y1 /2Y0|-
        -|/1Y2 /2Y1|-139.1A
 AY.BDIR-|/1Y3 /2Y2|-
     GND-|GND  /2Y3|-
         -----------

AY-3-8910
----v----
    .   |
    .   |
    .   |
     BC1|-GND
     BC2|-CPU A13
    BDIR|-139./1Y3
    .   |
    .   |
    .   |
---------

krzysiobal
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by krzysiobal » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:15 am

Yep, and 8910.A8=VCC, 8910./A9=GND, 8910.CLK=M2 divided by 2

Haruka
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Haruka » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:28 am

krzysiobal wrote:Yep, and 8910.A8=VCC, 8910./A9=GND, 8910.CLK=M2 divided by 2
Thank you krzysiobal! I'll try making my reproduction.

mir2sila
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by mir2sila » Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:53 pm

Hey, guys.I ran into an incomprehensible problem.I did Gimmik, with the generator AY-3-8910, but I did not hear any additional sounds.But if I press my fingers 1 to 7 pin 74ls74, then additional sounds appear.as soon as I remove the fingers from these contacts, the sound disappears again (((Someone can help me deal with this.I used BARCODE WORLD as a donor.I did it according to this scheme...Image
Attachments
14.png

lidnariq
Posts: 10426
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by lidnariq » Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:03 pm

Check your wiring.

Alternatively, disconnect the 74'74 temporarily and directly connect what you've marked as "CONN M2" to "(B)". (disconnect "(B)" from the 74'74 during) Music will be one octave too high but it'll let you verify everything else works correctly without having your fingers in it.

mir2sila
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by mir2sila » Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:41 pm

lidnariq wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:03 pm
Check your wiring.

Alternatively, disconnect the 74'74 temporarily and directly connect what you've marked as "CONN M2" to "(B)". (disconnect "(B)" from the 74'74 during) Music will be one octave too high but it'll let you verify everything else works correctly without having your fingers in it.
I did as you wrote, the additional sounds began to work an octave higher, without fingers.What do I need to do now to make everything work as it should?help please.

lidnariq
Posts: 10426
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by lidnariq » Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:51 pm

Something most have gone wrong with your 74'74 wiring. Given that you said that touching pin 1 made things work, I'd suspect that connection was the problem. Check for cold solder joints, &c.

Maybe just putting everything back will inadvertently fix things.

Maybe should connect 74'74 pin 4 to +5V also.

mir2sila
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by mir2sila » Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:01 pm

lidnariq wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:51 pm
Something most have gone wrong with your 74'74 wiring. Given that you said that touching pin 1 made things work, I'd suspect that connection was the problem. Check for cold solder joints, &c.

Maybe just putting everything back will inadvertently fix things.

Maybe should connect 74'74 pin 4 to +5V also.
Yeah, I pulled pin 4 up to +5, and it fully worked)))
Thank you very much,you are a real professional))) :) :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by l_oliveira » Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:36 pm

Lol yes I saw the picture and was about to mention, not leave inputs floating on CMOS chips but there were already a reply. Leaving inputs floating like that is a bad idea. If it was a classic TTL type (7474) it would fly but not with HC/HCT chips.

mir2sila
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by mir2sila » Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:41 pm

l_oliveira wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:36 pm
Lol yes I saw the picture and was about to mention, not leave inputs floating on CMOS chips but there were already a reply. Leaving inputs floating like that is a bad idea. If it was a classic TTL type (7474) it would fly but not with HC/HCT chips.
Unfortunately, I am not strong in electronics,but I can read, and create something according to ready-made schemes)

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by l_oliveira » Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:51 am

The reason for that is that regular/classic TTL chips have a tendency to assume logic level 1 when unused inputs are left open. CMOS are more sensitive to signal due to it being based on a different type of transistor (bipolar on classic TTL vs mosfet on MOS/CMOS chips) which is a lot more sensitive to input signals. Pins being left disconnected will float and serve as antenna for external static charges. Hence why approaching the finger had the effect you described.

Post Reply