It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:17 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:39 pm
Posts: 140
Could someone help me with ripping green dino from Adventure Island 3? I've found all the others, but I can't find green one. Also I am unable to rip it myself - the AI3 CHR rom is so messed up that I can't find all sprites for the green dino - only managed to find half of his head.

Also if someone would want to fullfill my request, I have also some expectations in regard to format of dump.

I need one-line spritesheet with sprites placed even (as in monospace fonts). I need all animations of green dino.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3471
Location: Indianapolis
I think that game had a debug mode where you could view all the sprites/animations, unless I'm thinking of AI2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:39 pm
Posts: 140
Even if it had, I don't know how to invoke it.

//edit: Yes, I've tried Konami code, btw.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3471
Location: Indianapolis
Sorry, I looked it up and I guess it was the 2nd one I was thinking of.
http://tcrf.net/Adventure_Island_2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:39 pm
Posts: 140
It turned out that AS4 has also debug mode - put codes

GAXXSSZE
AAUZOIZA (in that order)

then select password on title screen. Even though AS4 has also green dino - I still need help with ripping it since I can't pinpoint where it is located (I know that's under OBJ menu, but rest is mystery). .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:42 pm
Posts: 359
Location: Denine's Devil Mansion
In AS3, Green dino is at the 0x39000 address.
Here's chunk of GFX, with green dino in red squares.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:39 pm
Posts: 140
Yeah, but it is so messed up that it's hard to rip it. Anyway - I need all its animations.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
Sounds like you've not done this before. Typically the sprites in NES games have tiles spread out over the CHR ROM, or if you're lucky all grouped together. But rarely are they arranged in the ROM itself. Most of the time data tables are used to assemble different pieces of the sprite into different arrangements to create animations. The only way you're going to be able to get all of the frames without hacking the ROM is to extract them from screen shots.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
Why not just use frame advance and screenshot features? It is way faster.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:39 pm
Posts: 140
Problem is that Nestopia for Linux don't have frame advance (or I don't know of it) and all other emulators either don't work under wine, have problems with AI3/4 rom or don't have this feature. Believe me - this was first thing I though about, because it is simplest way to go.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
Screenshots of all the animation frames (some are redundant).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19115
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
darkhog wrote:
emulators either don't work under wine

Have you reported failure under Wine to the maintainer of each affected emulator?

Quote:
have problems with AI3/4 rom

Have you reported defective emulation to the maintainer of each affected emulator?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:39 pm
Posts: 140
Yeah, but for wine thing, most of the authors don't care and for problems with AI roms - it'll take some time before they'll fix it and I don't have time to waste.

Thanks for screencaps, Shiru. Now I can go for it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group