puNES Emulator

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Version 0.34

Post by FHorse » Sun Sep 11, 2011 1:21 am

Changelog:
0.34
Implemented Jaleco mappers (18, 72, 78, 87, 92, 140), VRC1 (75), VRC2 (22 and 23), VRC3 (73) and VRC4 (21, 23, 25).

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Version 0.35

Post by FHorse » Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:14 am

Changelog:
0.35
Fixed a bug in the APU code that produced a distorted sound in some games.
Implemented mappers 12, 15, 38, 41, Namcot (19), Irem (32, 65), Tengen (64), Sunsoft (67, 68).

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Version 0.36

Post by FHorse » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:50 am

Changelog:
0.36
Fixed a bug in delta modulation channel (DMC) codes that now works well.
Implemented mappers 69, 70, 76, 77, 79, 80, 82, 86, 88, 89, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 99, 107, 152, 154, 206.

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Version 0.37

Post by FHorse » Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:13 pm

Changelog:
0.37
Implemented mappers 16, 108, 112, 113, 115, 117, 118, 119, 120, 148, 158, 159, 193.

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Version 0.38

Post by FHorse » Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:15 am

Changelog:
0.38
Implemented mappers 56, 121, 132, 133, 136, 137, 138, 139, 141, 142, 143, 145, 146, 147, 149, 156, 171, 172, 173, 175, 184, 185, 189, 208.

kfazz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:26 am

Post by kfazz » Sat Oct 15, 2011 1:04 am

i found a rom that works in fceu but not punes. both original rom and translated version crash the same way.
http://www.braingames.getput.com/forum/ ... D=278&PN=3
http://www.romhacking.net/translations/182/
ken@kitchen:~/Desktop/punes$ fceu ~/Desktop/Maze\ of\ Galious\ 2\,The\ \(English\).nes

Starting FCE Ultra 0.98.12...
Loading /home/ken/Desktop/Maze of Galious 2,The (English).nes...

PRG ROM: 8 x 16KiB
CHR ROM: 0 x 8KiB
ROM CRC32: 0xdf16890a
ROM MD5: 0x0fbf6c60a3519b8eccf06e8544f20287
Mapper: 2
Mirroring: Vertical

Initializing video...
Initializing with OpenGL(Use "-opengl 0" to disable).
Video Mode: 640 x 448 x 32 bpp
Paletted texture extension not found. Using slower texture format...
Initializing sound...Error opening a sound device.
ken@kitchen:~/Desktop/punes$ ./punes32 ~/Desktop/Maze\ of\ Galious\ 2\,The\ \(English\).nes
ERROR: File not found : puNES.cfg
Alert: PC = 06FF, CODEOP = 02
(it also crashes fceux)

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Version 0.39

Post by FHorse » Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:12 am

Changelog:
0.39
Implemented mappers 114, 150, 176, 177, 178, 180, 182, 183, 186, 243.

P.s.
Thx kfazz for reporting the problem with "The Maze of Galious 2". You can try this version and tell me if you still have the problem?

kfazz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:26 am

Post by kfazz » Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:39 pm

thanks FHorse! it works, but there is a small graphical glitch in the intro that isn't present in fceu. it scrolls some text up from the bottom, and whatever line is in the bottom row also appears at the top of the screen.

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Post by FHorse » Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:52 am

It's not a graphical glitch. You don't see in FCEU because it doesn't show the first and the last 8 scanlines.

User avatar
Eugene.S
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Location: Russia (UTC+3)
Contact:

Post by Eugene.S » Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:32 pm

Hi, FHorse.
Can you add "DPCM Pop reducer" to puNES APU?
from Fceu doc:
Why do some games make a popping sound (Batman, Ninja Gaiden 3, Castlevania II etc.)?
These games do a very crude drum imitation by causing a large jump in the output level for a short period of time via the register at $4011.
The analog filters on a real Famicom make it sound decent(better). I have not completely emulated these filters
(Xodnizel)

NSFPlay/NSFplug, NotSoFatso also have checkbutton "Enable $4011 register".

listen small test:
http://www.mediafire.com/?aehn106ytzztbg3

Nestopia have built-in pop-reducer by default.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Zepper » Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:19 pm

Just notice "pop reducer" and not "pop killer". ;)

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Post by FHorse » Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:57 am

Hi Eugene.S, I've added a built-in pop-reducer and in the next release will be enabled by default. Thx for the report.

Zepper wrote:Just notice "pop reducer" and not "pop killer". :wink:

hehehe :D

FHorse
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am

Version 0.40

Post by FHorse » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:21 pm

Changelog:
0.40
I'have rewritten from scratch the input system and now are supported 2 players, joysticks, it's possible redefine the button of the control pad and also I can implement the emulation of other input devices much more easily.
Fixed various bugs.

P.s.
Eugene.S can you tell me if the pop-reducer works?

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2269
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by 3gengames » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:23 pm

Sweet. I installed this and that's the only reason I didn't use it long was the controller assignment. I'll sure download and install this one later. :D

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Zepper » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:34 pm

I'm interested about your pop-reducer method, if you don't mind to share it.

Post Reply