It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:57 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 795
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
As I have promised some time ago, here's a video of this game's opening:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAafMRzZFfs
I'm still fighting this crap capture card, since I'm getting no sound at all.
But this should be no problem, I guess...
I can try to do some game play videos, if needed.

I just have some little questions:
Is there a way to eliminate the slowdown on this game? Preferably without writing another ROM with a modified PRG.
What options I would have to make a repro on this board?
I was thinking originally in doing a Batman ROTJ, since I like this game and, as many old games, it's ridiculously expensive here!! But maybe I could do some other games, like Contra J, or even Crisis Force. Stay with this game as is is a good option too, but I really would like to eliminate the slowdown, if possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm
Posts: 437
Fisher wrote:
Is there a way to eliminate the slowdown on this game? Preferably without writing another ROM with a modified PRG.

The mapper hack added by the pirates adds a lot of cycles to the processing time. The only way to fix that is by modifying the ROM.

Fisher wrote:
What options I would have to make a repro on this board?

Remove the IRQ circuit and you've got a fairly standard VRC2b board. Most games using a VRC2 should be pretty easy to get on this board, although some VRC2 variants will need a couple things rewired.

Fisher wrote:
I was thinking originally in doing a Batman ROTJ, since I like this game and, as many old games, it's ridiculously expensive here!!

This game does not use a VRC2, so it won't work unless you add a mapper hack like the pirates did.

Fisher wrote:
But maybe I could do some other games, like Contra J, or even Crisis Force.

Contra will require a small modification to the board (or possibly the ROM?) in order to work, since it relies on the microwire interface.

Crisis Force uses a VRC4, which means it won't work if it relies on any VRC4-specific features. Additionally, it needs PRG-RAM, so you'll need to add components to handle that (and prevent conflicts with the VRC2).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 1:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 795
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
As I have thought.
Looks like the best idea is to stick with the game as-is.

I've seem a Batman ROTJ hack, but it's VRC4.
Looks like the best thing to do.

Maybe I mess up a little and put a socket on PRG ROM to try some hacks... who knows?
Up to now, the ROMs I have got/used seemed almost undestructible!!
But I really know it's not true!! I think I've been very lucky to have not killed any good cartridge yet.
Although I'm very cautious, I don't know if this lucky will last very long, so... better stay as-is.

Many thanks for everybody!!
Let me know if some more videos would be needed.
I'm really learning alot here!! Many thanks for sharing your knowledge!!

Edit: Just out of curiosity, I tested some Gamegenie codes with this game.
To my surprise, they worked as they should!
I tried the US version codes. Interesting, huh?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 6:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 795
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Sorry about my absence, I've been really busy lately...
As promised some time ago, I'm posting some gameplay videos:

Stage 3-1 and 3-2 https://youtu.be/mtGUVVPaSug
Stage 4 https://youtu.be/H8md_xgnp-s

I have other weird pirate game to dissassemble, dump, scan and ask for help to try to fix a glitch.
But this will have to wait a little more.

Many thanks for the help!!
See you guys later!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 1:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 12:52 am
Posts: 7
Some evolution of subj bootleg cart. PAL16 instead of 3xTTL.


Attachments:
3BnRdKXxEvc.jpg
3BnRdKXxEvc.jpg [ 815.99 KiB | Viewed 573 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 2:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 795
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
That's cool!
Does it suffer from slowdowns?
Mine unfortunately does, but I think there's a version with this bug corrected.
I'm not sure if they're compatible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 4:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 12:52 am
Posts: 7
Fisher wrote:
That's cool!
Does it suffer from slowdowns?
Mine unfortunately does, but I think there's a version with this bug corrected.
I'm not sure if they're compatible.

I haven't this cart yet but seller warned me about slowdowns.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group