Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

User avatar
Banshaku
Posts: 2334
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Contact:

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Banshaku » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:31 pm

It's around 20$ in japan at cybergadget:
4544859022630.jpg
I may buy one someday but for some reason they sell it at an exorbitant price on amazon.jp so I don't know if it's means it's discontinued or not.

User avatar
Ben Boldt
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:27 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Ben Boldt » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:02 pm

Banshaku wrote:It's around 20$ in japan at cybergadget:
4544859022630.jpg
I may buy one someday but for some reason they sell it at an exorbitant price on amazon.jp so I don't know if it's means it's discontinued or not.
I like it, it looks very nice. It is nice that it is keyed on both sides so nothing can go backwards. I have put a cart in backwards once by accident. Amazingly nothing broke.

Haruka
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Haruka » Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:37 am

I have a question about the circuit.

Why connect PRG A14 and PRG A13 to 74'139 and AY-3-8910, rather than CPU A14 and CPU A13? We are trying to decode CPU memory region $C000~$FFFF, not PRG, aren't we?
Connecting PRG /CE rather than CPU /ROMSEL to 74'139 is also confusing me.

I found that what we are trying to do is quite similar with PRG RAM circuit. The sole difference is the address region. Am I correct?

krzysiobal
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by krzysiobal » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:54 am

It is CPU, not PRG, as you correctly think.

Haruka
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Haruka » Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:07 am

krzysiobal wrote:It is CPU, not PRG, as you correctly think.
So this is the "not so confusing" circuit, right?

Code: Select all

          74'139
         -----v-----
     GND-|/1E   VCC|-+5V
139./2Y1-|1A    /2E|-CPU /ROMSEL
139./2Y1-|1B     2A|-CPU A14
        -|/1Y0   2B|-CPU R/W
        -|/1Y1 /2Y0|-
        -|/1Y2 /2Y1|-139.1A
 AY.BDIR-|/1Y3 /2Y2|-
     GND-|GND  /2Y3|-
         -----------

AY-3-8910
----v----
    .   |
    .   |
    .   |
     BC1|-GND
     BC2|-CPU A13
    BDIR|-139./1Y3
    .   |
    .   |
    .   |
---------

krzysiobal
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by krzysiobal » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:15 am

Yep, and 8910.A8=VCC, 8910./A9=GND, 8910.CLK=M2 divided by 2

Haruka
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Connect AY-3-8910 sound chip to FME-7 board

Post by Haruka » Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:28 am

krzysiobal wrote:Yep, and 8910.A8=VCC, 8910./A9=GND, 8910.CLK=M2 divided by 2
Thank you krzysiobal! I'll try making my reproduction.

Post Reply