Nestopia V1.40 no worky???

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Nestopia V1.40 no worky???

Post by WedNESday » Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:07 am

...it just crashes with 'Unknown Direct3D Error' whenever I try to load a ROM...

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Zepper » Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:56 pm

Try NESticle! :D

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by WedNESday » Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:37 pm

Fx3 wrote:Try NESticle! :D
I mean, what? How about offering me some genuine support or something. :lol:

User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4236
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Dwedit » Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:57 pm

DirectX 9 Webupdater?
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by WedNESday » Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:34 am

Dwedit wrote:DirectX 9 Webupdater?
Whaaaaaaat?

tepples
Posts: 21755
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:05 am

Have you tried going to Windows Update and downloading the latest available version of DirectX?

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11469
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:10 am

tepples wrote:Have you tried going to Windows Update and...
That certainly wouldn't work for quite a lot of people!

tepples
Posts: 21755
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:12 am

tokumaru: Are you thinking of Nestopia in Wine?

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11469
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:45 am

Not really, but you do have a good point.

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by WedNESday » Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:27 pm

Look sunshine, there aint nothing wrong with my PC, ok? I do windows update all of the time. Now is anyone else having the same problem?

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Zepper » Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:52 pm

WedNESday wrote:Look sunshine, there aint nothing wrong with my PC, ok? I do windows update all of the time. Now is anyone else having the same problem?
I had the same problem with the Windows game "Mega Mari", the exact error you're getting. Once I switched to another PC, it was gone. ;)

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by WedNESday » Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:50 pm

Fx3 wrote:
WedNESday wrote:Look sunshine, there aint nothing wrong with my PC, ok? I do windows update all of the time. Now is anyone else having the same problem?
I had the same problem with the Windows game "Mega Mari", the exact error you're getting. Once I switched to another PC, it was gone. ;)
Great. I'll just switch to that other £1000 computer I've got no problem...

User avatar
BMF54123
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:52 am
Contact:

Post by BMF54123 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:46 pm

You're being the polar opposite of helpful here, Fx3. :(

I wasn't even aware Nestopia used Direct3D (is it faster than DirectDraw or something?). I know of several emulators that let you switch between DirectDraw and Direct3D, so maybe Nestopia has a similar option? I'm not at my home computer right now, so I can't check. (1.40 works fine for me, BTW.)

If all else fails, you could try reinstalling your video card drivers. Given the incredible vagueness of that error message, that's about all the advice I can give you...

Xkeeper
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:35 am

Post by Xkeeper » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:55 pm

Actually, I'll just say that I had a similar problem with some program from however long ago (it just crashed outright for no reason, and only worked on a different computer). I'm not sure what it is, but you might have some luck by seeing if there are any updates for your video drivers.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Zepper » Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:01 pm

WedNESday wrote:Great. I'll just switch to that other £1000 computer I've got no problem...
It can be hardware related. Sorry for not being clear... :|

Post Reply