It is currently Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:04 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wrong PSU
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Posts: 1194
Location: Behind you with a knife!
I recently bought a new graphics card and it seems to perform worse than my old one. I think that the problem is the voltage/ampage of my PSU. The cards says I need 12v/26a but the highest my PSU provides is 12v/18a. Would this explain the poor performance of my new card?

_________________
http://www.jamesturner.de/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:02 pm 
Offline
Formerly ~J-@D!~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 474
Location: Rive nord de Montréal
It is probably the cause, also, it might damage your graphic card (I don't have any idea of the existence of protection circuit on graphic cards) so you should remedy to the situation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:52 am
Posts: 407
Wait, how would under-powering a card damage it?

_________________
- BMF
RuSteD LOgIc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
I think you mean, "How would overtaxing the power supply damage anything?" to which the answer seems clear.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:52 am
Posts: 407
darp. blargg brain works better, yes.

_________________
- BMF
RuSteD LOgIc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Posts: 1194
Location: Behind you with a knife!
So my 9800GT requires 12v/26a and my new PSU has three rails, each with only 12v/18a. Since this means there is a maximum of 18a per rail, and the graphics card can only use one, is this causing the low FPS? My new PSU will have just one rail with all the amps and voltage down it.

_________________
http://www.jamesturner.de/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group