Wrong PSU

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Wrong PSU

Post by WedNESday » Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:00 pm

I recently bought a new graphics card and it seems to perform worse than my old one. I think that the problem is the voltage/ampage of my PSU. The cards says I need 12v/26a but the highest my PSU provides is 12v/18a. Would this explain the poor performance of my new card?

User avatar
Jarhmander
Formerly ~J-@D!~
Posts: 488
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:36 am
Location: Rive nord de Montréal

Post by Jarhmander » Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:02 pm

It is probably the cause, also, it might damage your graphic card (I don't have any idea of the existence of protection circuit on graphic cards) so you should remedy to the situation.

User avatar
BMF54123
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:52 am
Contact:

Post by BMF54123 » Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:10 pm

Wait, how would under-powering a card damage it?

User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg » Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:50 am

I think you mean, "How would overtaxing the power supply damage anything?" to which the answer seems clear.

User avatar
BMF54123
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:52 am
Contact:

Post by BMF54123 » Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:56 pm

darp. blargg brain works better, yes.

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by WedNESday » Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:53 pm

So my 9800GT requires 12v/26a and my new PSU has three rails, each with only 12v/18a. Since this means there is a maximum of 18a per rail, and the graphics card can only use one, is this causing the low FPS? My new PSU will have just one rail with all the amps and voltage down it.

Post Reply