A weird triangle effect in Fester's Quest...

Discuss NSF files, FamiTracker, MML tools, or anything else related to NES music.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Sivak
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:04 am
Location: Somewhere
Contact:

A weird triangle effect in Fester's Quest...

Post by Sivak » Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:53 pm

In the game over track (track 7 in the NSF), there's this weird thing that happens with the triangle wave at the end of the track. Can't describe it, but I'm sure you'll know what I mean if you test it. It also happens in Blaster Master track 16.

Anyone have any idea on how they did that/

User avatar
Memblers
Site Admin
Posts: 3786
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Indianapolis
Contact:

Post by Memblers » Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:48 pm

It's a cool effect. My guess has been that they're using the linear counter, giving it short values and resetting it every frame. It's clocked at 240Hz, so you can make some really short tones with the triangle channel by setting it to 1, 2 or 3. Rush 'n Attack used that in it's intro music.

Drag
Posts: 1292
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:57 pm
Contact:

Post by Drag » Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:31 pm

It's playing extremely short notes on the triangle channel really quickly, leaving small gaps in between. Also, it's bringing the pitch up slightly, and then back down through the duration of the sound.

I think it's a frog croak. :P

User avatar
B00daW
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by B00daW » Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:25 pm

Here's an example recorded via hardware to show off some phasing or "gating" via triangle. I'm trying to devise instruments like the ones Sunsoft used and I'm pretty close to figuring it out. :)

Edit: After messing around on trying to replicate the croaks, I'm pretty sure I've determined that it's not possible with the FamiTracker engine.

Two methods *should* work but don't. Looping triangle's envelope as "| 1 0" or "| 0 1" makes the stuttered triangle on a per tick basis that we want. But if we try to track it looped or even not looped at "speed 1" (which is tracking per tick) it either melds the tone per note tick on the frame; making a looped, whole tone or looped whole silence.

So the other methods would be to track at any speed with the looped on/off or off/on triangle and either use arpeggio or pitch envelopes. In either case I find the resolution too large per sample to modulate the pitch or notes fast enough to create that croak noise.

I've also tried using hardware sliding up and down to no prevail and software sliding commands -- but fall prey to not having enough control over the frequency changing and the allowed spaces for changing the frequencies. The results are irratic and unlike the Sunsoft croak.

I'm probably wrong, but can anybody else replicate it using FamiTracker or NerdTracker? I have not yet tried NerdTracker.

Anyone else? Show up my failure, plz. ;D

User avatar
Jarhmander
Formerly ~J-@D!~
Posts: 491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:36 am
Location: Rive nord de Montréal

Post by Jarhmander » Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:38 pm

Code: Select all

CD o4 @t4,1 
C o4 L fgab>cdefgab>cdefedc<bagfedc<bagfedc  
D L yx4008,x1 yx4017,0 w 
http://jarhmander.home.googlepages.com/croak.nsf

The very basic idea is here, and that can't be done using Famitracker because the linear counter isn't accessible.

FAILURE :)

User avatar
B00daW
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by B00daW » Fri Jan 02, 2009 4:16 pm

Here's the NSF and FTM of my attempts.

FAILURE. :P

FamiTracker's replayer just needs to be a ton quicker to be able to pull this off.

User avatar
B00daW
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by B00daW » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:44 pm

Well, FamiTracker can totally do this... I just wasn't messing with the "Engine Speed" function.

Croak!

SUCCESS

User avatar
Jarhmander
Formerly ~J-@D!~
Posts: 491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:36 am
Location: Rive nord de Montréal

Post by Jarhmander » Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:34 am

Amazed of your success ;)

but the real effect uses the linear counter which isn't accessible in Famitracker, so your example doesn't work on a real NES using regular NMIs

User avatar
B00daW
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by B00daW » Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:45 am

http://average.truechiptilldeath.com/fi ... st-b01.mp3

This is a little experiment recorded from hardware. :) It is possible.

User avatar
Jarhmander
Formerly ~J-@D!~
Posts: 491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:36 am
Location: Rive nord de Montréal

Post by Jarhmander » Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:02 pm

How did you do that?

User avatar
B00daW
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by B00daW » Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:27 am

Increased the refresh rate. :D

tepples
Posts: 21839
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:29 am

With MMC3 scanline counters?

User avatar
Jarhmander
Formerly ~J-@D!~
Posts: 491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:36 am
Location: Rive nord de Montréal

Post by Jarhmander » Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:43 am

If so then you're cheating ;)

tepples
Posts: 21839
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:46 am

My philosophy: If you can run a platform game at the same time as a given effect, you're not cheating.

frantik
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:56 pm

Post by frantik » Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:09 am

damn theres potential for some nasty basslines with some of those sounds :twisted:

Post Reply