It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:05 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:21 am 

Hi! Obviously I'm new here and I'm completely new to programming for any console. Although I'm currently programming for the SNES I hope I can ask questions here, too, as this was the only newbie subforum I saw.
I have two questions regarding scrolling and sprites on these old systems (NES and SNES) - I guess they are quite similar in this regard.

1. There are many games using sprites which are much bigger than 8x8 pixels, Super Metroid for example. I read I can use sizes up to 64x64, but still the Samus sprite is still bigger (bosses even more). Do I have to "render" multiple sprites to get one big image on the screen? That's what I currently do, but it's somewhat strange.

2. I want to implement scrolling in my game, however from what I saw/read this can't be done like it's done on modern computers (for example) where the whole screen is constantly re-drawn. I should say that I implemented a tile-based engine (something like in Mario games).
What I've read up to now is still a bit unclear to me, however it sounded like I have to substitute rows of tiles on the screen while moving/scrolling the map. I managed to get the background scrolling, but of course it always wrapped at the end of the screen. What is the proper way to do this? I'm aiming for something like in Mario3 on the NES.

I hope I wasn't too unclear, if so please ask anything that isn't clear.
Thanks in advance!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:56 am 

About sprites you shouldn't confuse sprites with meta-sprites.

Sprites (on the hardware viewpoint) is a piece of graphic the PPU place over BG by hardware.

A meta sprite (commonly called Sprite in Gamer's communauty) is one or more sprites that joined together to form a character, enemy, weapon, etc...