It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:31 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 8:36 pm 
Just letting everyone know that I'm gearing up for another run of copyNES units. This time, it is unlimited. I will be getting 100 boards made. The host code was redesigned some and fixed/cleaned up a bunch so it's better, and I will be offering blank PCBs and possibly some PCB+part kits depending on what people want.

The boards are on order now so in a couple weeks I should have them and that's about that. Once everything is available I will be posting it on my website and on here and a few other forums and such.

If anyone has anything the think would be good to have on copyNES' host code lemme know (i.e. debug features, etc).


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 12146
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
How about ability to write to common flash chips (e.g. Atmel) so that we don't have to use sockets anymore on hacked NROM cards?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 2815
Location: Indianapolis
tepples wrote:
How about ability to write to common flash chips (e.g. Atmel) so that we don't have to use sockets anymore on hacked NROM cards?


Should be no problem, CopyNES loads code plugins from the host PC and when I get one I'll be writing one for Squeedo.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 2815
Location: Indianapolis
I should mention also that I've never tried flashing CHR-ROM through the PPU, so I don't know if that'd work for sure. It might.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:11 am
Posts: 377
Location: Karlshamn (Sweden)
this is great news :D
what will the price be? I must have one! ;)

edit:
about "host code (i.e. debug features, etc)." I'm not fully sure what is supported of it for now... but I would love things like:
* breakpoints that can be triggerd from a computer
* register viewer so you can watch (and possibly change) registers
* adress watch, so you can watch specific variables for your game (and possibly change them)
* memory viewer

this would be some cool futures I would love to see.. just think of how nice IDE that could be written for computers to write NES games :D
this is nothing ofcourse that has to be in CopyNES for me to buy one.. but you asked for debug features, and this are some I would love to see (if they are possible)

_________________
Sorry for misspellings, I'm from Sweden ^^


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 3:26 pm
Posts: 29
[ (Slightly) Off topic ]

Any plans for a CopyNES system that uses video out to display status, (instead of an LCD) etc?

Doesn't seem to me that this should be too difficult. I appreciate the simplicity of using the LCD, but could one just stack a RAM IC to setup some pattern tables etc...no? Doesn't even have to be a full 8K - ASCII set can be stored in 2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Posts: 1175
Movax wrote:
[ (Slightly) Off topic ]

Any plans for a CopyNES system that uses video out to display status, (instead of an LCD) etc?

Doesn't seem to me that this should be too difficult. I appreciate the simplicity of using the LCD, but could one just stack a RAM IC to setup some pattern tables etc...no? Doesn't even have to be a full 8K - ASCII set can be stored in 2K.


Can't be done without a major redesign, since CopyNES only overrides the CPU, not the PPU.

Besides, there's no need to indicate status on the NES side (all previous CopyNES units were shipped without the LCD!) since the client software displays all of the necessary status info.

_________________
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:31 am
Posts: 418
OK guys, I expect everybody to redump every NES and Famicom game and confirm that the previous dumps are good or not. It is allot of hard work, but with 100 more CopyNES systems out there, everybody can chip in 1/100th of the needed work :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:59 pm 
[quote="dXtr"]this is great news :D
what will the price be? I must have one! ;)

edit:
about "host code (i.e. debug features, etc)." I'm not fully sure what is supported of it for now... but I would love things like:
* breakpoints that can be triggerd from a computer
* register viewer so you can watch (and possibly change) registers
* adress watch, so you can watch specific variables for your game (and possibly change them)
* memory viewer


Sorry, this is a modified nintendo, not an ICE (in circuit emulator). Doing that stuff is impossible in the traditional sense.

Though, what COULD be done maybe is a user could put debug stuff in their game to use copyNES' BIOS to send and receive stuff through the PC interface. You could have copyNES dump data or upload things or similar. The BIOS sits in some "empty" space on the memory map (well, more specifically it steals some of the mirrored space where the PPU and RAM sit) so it will not affect any kind of bankswitching or RAM/ROM setups.

If you wanted to monitor the value of some memory location, you could put a call to the BIOS "send" routine to blast it out the port to the PC, or alternatively have some kind of mini-dump route to dump the RAM or whatever.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:11 am
Posts: 377
Location: Karlshamn (Sweden)
ok.. as you might note I'm not an expert in hardware ^^
and those kind of thinks I proposed was more of a "fun thing to have" then something I can't live with out (all of those things can be done in emulators). so anyways, what about date when you think you can start selling, and price? :)

_________________
Sorry for misspellings, I'm from Sweden ^^


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
so how much are you selling them for?

and I do not mean to offend you but you are a guest how do we know you are the real you and not just some joker


Last edited by peppers on Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Louisville, KY
kevtris wrote:
Just letting everyone know that I'm gearing up for another run of copyNES units. This time, it is unlimited. I will be getting 100 boards made. The host code was redesigned some and fixed/cleaned up a bunch so it's better, and I will be offering blank PCBs and possibly some PCB+part kits depending on what people want.

The boards are on order now so in a couple weeks I should have them and that's about that. Once everything is available I will be posting it on my website and on here and a few other forums and such.

If anyone has anything the think would be good to have on copyNES' host code lemme know (i.e. debug features, etc).


Sounds awesome man, ive been waiting a long time for ya to do this =) Do you have a ballpark figure of our much say the pcb+kit would cost? Thanks Alot =)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:25 pm 
Quote:
Sounds awesome man, ive been waiting a long time for ya to do this =) Do you have a ballpark figure of our much say the pcb+kit would cost? Thanks Alot =)


It looks like the cost is going to be $125 per conversion, and I haven't decided yet on the bare PCB and kit versions. I got quotes out to several board houses now and I'm waiting for them to get back to me. When I know how much it will cost, I will let everyone know.

When I say "per conversion" this means you send me your *working* nintendo (yes I will check :-) and I will modify it and test it and return it to you. As for kits I'm not quite sure. I was thinking of selling bare board, board+parts, or a stuffed board (minus CPU). I might offer all 3 styles and see what people want. Once I know more how many orders I will have, I will buy parts and charge accordingly. More people = less cost per unit due to volume discounts on parts.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 3:26 pm
Posts: 29
Quietust wrote:
Besides, there's no need to indicate status on the NES side (all previous CopyNES units were shipped without the LCD!) since the client software displays all of the necessary status info.


Of course , but it would be 'neat'. Make it easier to play around with bits of homebrew code too. (From what I thought I understood about copynes, one could still acess the ppu, the only problem with displaying something is there are no pattern tables with no cart... disable cart pattern tables, enable ppu vram...should work.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:23 pm 
Well, I ordered boards for CopyNES today... so they will be ready in a couple weeks. In the mean time I will order around 20 sets of parts. I have 100 boards coming, and they are full pro boards with soldermask on both sides and silk screen and all that fun jazz.

I haven't set a price for them yet but it looks to be in the $15 area for a bare board. As for a set of parts with the board, I dunno. The conversion is still $125 with you providing a WORKING NES.

More details will be posted when I have more info.


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group