It is currently Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:04 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:51 pm 

I've just written my first update and background collision routine for a new project I am working on. I have never done a platformer before. I've gone over the logic several times, but I get the impression that it is sub-optimal. Could you all help me think this through? I can't seem to find any discussion of this on the forums.

Note that this routine handles applying gravity, applying velocity to position, background collision and response to those collisions.

Code:
For Object in All Objects
   Apply gravity to Object Y velocity
   Apply Y velocity to Y position
   Calculate bounds
   Check Y collision with background
      If a collision occured
         Correct Y position
         Recalculate top and bottom bounds
   Apply X velocity to X position
   Recalculate left and right bounds
   Check X collision with background
      If a collision occured
         Correct X position
         Recalculate left and right bounds

My current implementation resolves all edge-cases, but there is a lot of processing here. My current implementation is taking a full 6 scan lines worst-case. I could probably trim this down a bit, but I can't shake the feeling that my logic is not optimal.

Thoughts? How do you all implement platformer-style collision detection?

Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:49 pm 

6 scan lines total? That's really good as far as I know. Even 6 scan lines per object doesn't seem too bad. Though I'm no expert :lol:

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:05 pm 

qbradq wrote:
My current implementation is taking a full 6 scan lines worst-case.

Is that 6 scanlines per object, or 6 scanlines total for all of the objects?
Either way, that sequence itself is correct, so any optimizations would need to be for the code itself.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:55 pm