Mapper for Romstar Thunder and Lightning

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

rowejere

Mapper for Romstar Thunder and Lightning

Post by rowejere »

Hello,

Sorry if this is posted in the incorrect section (I'm a noob with NesDev).

I'm trying to use the Kazzo cartridge "INL Retro" Dumper-Programmer to dump an NES library and I have been successful with all games except one (Romstar Thunder and Lightning). According to the following list from "http://tuxnes.sourceforge.net/nesmapper.txt" (which seems to be widely utilized), the game uses an MMC1 mapper. There is also a note indicating a bad dump. I suspect MMC1 is incorrect as the site "http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=942" lists GNROM mapper 66. I've tried this mapper as well and it still does not seem to dump properly. Since I'm a noob, I don't have enough mapper knowledge to make my own script yet. I'd be happy to learn, but I'm not quite sure where to start. I'm hoping someone here has some knowledge that may identify the issue.

Thanks!
lidnariq

Re: Mapper for Romstar Thunder and Lightning

Post by lidnariq »

It is very likely GNROM, given the entry in NesCartDB.

Does your cart look the same as the picture on NesCartDB?

If you're willing/able to open it, does that look the same as the pictures on NesCartDB? Especially, look for a piece of text somewhere on the PCB. In the picture on NesCartDB, "GNROM" is in the top center, right below "©1986 Nintendo".

Where did you get the GNROM script that you tried using?
rowejere

Post by rowejere »

Hi. The script came from the anago script database at https://github.com/arantius/anago-scripts. I have a picture of the opened up cart. It seems to match what is listed on that bootgod database. The script from anago is as follows:

/*
Written based on
http://tuxnes.sourceforge.net/mappers-0.80.txt
*/