Screen scrolling logic

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

lerenarzp

Screen scrolling logic

Post by lerenarzp »

Hello, guys!

First of all, thank you for the stuff you are doing. It's really amazing to see such a big and interesting community.

I've decided to test my skills and try building an NES game (jRPG). I'm accustomed to high-level programming languages, like C++, so ASM 6502 is quite new for me. I've decided to use ASM6 at the moment. With the help of your handful guides, I was able to build an NROM-256 image with 32KB PRG, 8KB CHR and vertical mirorring. Eventually, I will switch to the cart with PRG-RAM, I assume (but this doesn't matter at the moment, as I'm still learning).

At the moment, I'm failing to understand the concept how to change contents of nametables and "scroll" the world map and will appreciate any help. I've read a lot of articles/posts, but still failing to undertsand the concept.

So, PPU is drawing tiles based on the content nametables ($2000 and $2400 in my case) and scroll position.
Let's assume that I've loaded the "world map" at $2000. Red rectangle corresponds to the area that is "seen" on the screen (screenshot). Then:
  • A. If player decides to go the the right, I should:
    • 1. Update the left-most column of $2400 with new data.
    • 2. Scroll by 16 pixels to the right.
  • B. If player decides to go to the left, I should:
    • 1. Update the right-most column of $2400 with new data.
    • 2. Flip nametables $2400 and $2000 by changing last 2 bits of $2000 (or it will result in this).
    • 3. Scroll by 16 pixels to the left.
  • C. If player decides to go down, I should:
    • 1. Update the top-most row of $2000 with new data.
    • 2. Scroll the screen 16 pixels to the bottom.
  • D. If player decides to go up, I should: