Famicom vs NES development?

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

tad4shi

Famicom vs NES development?

Post by tad4shi »

Hi everyone,

While I love the NES, I want to develop for the Famicom because I just prefer it over the NES.
Will there be any differences, big or small? If I make a game for the NES, will I also be able to play it on the Famicom?
I know that their cartridge pinouts are a bit different, but in every NES emulator I tried, famicom games also seemed to work.

I'm extremely new to NES development. In fact, I just got interested in it today and I'm looking forward to learning a lot.
I have some hardware hacking/circuit design experience as a hobbyist and know some C by programming microcontrollers.
Nope, I never tried assembly before!

Thanks!
FrankenGraphics
Formerly WheelInventor

Re: Famicom vs NES development?

Post by FrankenGraphics »

General differences are listed here:

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Famicom

There are some minor differences as well, even between famicom revisions, but generally you needn't worry. It can be obscure stuff like attempting to read the primary PPU OAM (not possible on early famicoms) - stuff you hardly need or want. To cite nesdev wiki: "The readability was added on the RP2C02G, found on most NESes and later Famicoms" [1].
tad4shi

Post by tad4shi »

Thanks! So as a noob, if I were to make a simple NES game, it would run perfectly on a Famicom, right?
orlaisadog

Post by orlaisadog »

I think Super Mario Bros. was unchanged between Famicom and US NES. So yes, they are more or less the same thing in a different case, so much that emulators don't even make a distinction. Just make sure you don't use Start or Select on controller 2.

Edit: