Heartcore Project WIP

Discussion of hardware and software development for Super NES and Super Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
  • For making cartridges of your Super NES games, see Reproduction.
HihiDanni

Heartcore Project WIP

Post by HihiDanni » Tue Apr 05, 2016 6:15 pm

Hihi, I thought I would make a thread here to document the work I'm putting into my SNES homebrew game, which I'm going to call the "Heartcore Project" for now. My background is C++ and Lua - this is the first time I've done anything in a standard assembly language.

The game will be a "platform shmup" or a "run 'n' gun" or probably more accurately "run and sling hearts at colorful animals". Gameplay inspiration comes from Alien Soldier and Sparkster SNES. Art and level tile format inspiration comes from Sonic CD which I first played at the age of 6.

Right now I'm still working on the core engine, but these are my accomplishments so far:

- Working toolchain
- Data-driven OAM handling routines with scrolling support
- NMI interrupt routine which I'm _pretty_ sure won't cause crashes or weirdness anymore
- "Cycles remaining" counter (need to look in the memory viewer to see it, but will help tremendously with optimization)
- Object coordinate system with 16.8 precision - 24-bit position and 16-bit velocity (up to 127 whole pixels per frame, far more than enough)

Stuff I need to work on next:

- Uploading the SNESGSS driver to the APU without freezing the game (I fixed the interrupt routine recently so I'll try this again)
- Level scrolling (Need to make level editor first to verify results, and honestly this one kinda scares me haha)

Bits and pieces of my current tech design spec:

- bsnes-plus 0.73+2 as the current reference emulator
- No cartridge assistance besides FastROM
- BG Mode 1, with BG3 used as both a scrolling layer and an "open air" HUD