SNES Game genie problem

Discussion of hardware and software development for Super NES and Super Famicom. See the SNESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
  • For making cartridges of your Super NES games, see Reproduction.
User avatar
Memblers
Site Admin
Posts: 4044
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Indianapolis
Contact:

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by Memblers »

Fisher wrote:
Memblers wrote:I've been doing stuff with those
What nasty things have you done with the Game Genie?
I just got curious. :-)
Maybe the way to fix it would be to replace the ROM.
The original plan was to release an upgrade for it, I fixed bugs in it and optimized the ROM enough so a tiny bootloader that blargg wrote could fit in it (NES GG has 4kB ROM and it's full).
Bugs fixed:
1: fixed screwed up sound in Capcom games (initialize the the sweep registers)
2: fixed title screens being skipped (wait for start to be released instead of pressed)
3: changed color $0D to $0F, $0D possibly screws up on certain TVs

Since I haven't written proper PC-side server for blargg's bootloader, that project has kinda stalled out. Instead I've just taken over the whole ROM with an XMODEM-based bootloader. And I use those to program and test my GTROM boards.

One fun thing I did with the Game Genie was create a new type of code, I joking call it Gameshart because it will break many games, but is neat when it works. It's a way to patch RAM instead of ROM. The GG can patch 3 bytes, 2 for the NMI vector, and 1 to disable code that clears RAM. This way you can insert code into unused part of the game's RAM and it will be called every frame. The patches have to be really simple though because the NES GG can't be accessed anymore once you've enabled the external cartridge. It would be fun to make my own modernized cheat cart device, just too many projects lately. :)
skaman
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:56 am

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by skaman »

I have several of the SNES Game Genies. The older version won't work with certain games. I think the Version 2.0 is the later version with better compatibility. Maybe I should get around to looking into them sometime. I know I have a corrupt 2.0 that could use some fixing.
NYMike
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by NYMike »

I feel like the thread is already past the topic of cleaning and abrasives but I figure Ill throw this out there just for some food for thought.

Around me you can buy the Magic Erase cleaner at Wal-Mart in a 2 pack for less than $5. I can also find a single piece at the local Dollar Tree for $1.

I just picked up a steal of a deal on a Nintendo 64 and several games for practically nothing. I thought the system was toast. Super Mario 64 kept resetting every 15-20 seconds. I cleaned it 5 times with rubbing alcohol and q-tips. Still nothing. I tried another game and it worked perfectly so I knew it was the Super Mario 64 cart giving me issues. I disassembled the cart and lightly buffed the connector on both sides with a magic eraser and rubbing alcohol for 10 seconds each side. Then I went over it again with a q-tip and rubbing alcohol just to clean off and of the magic eraser and now it works 100% for 20 minutes and climbing.
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by Fisher »

@Memblers:
Really nice stuff!!
Capcom's games' sound get really annoying.
Although my NES GG is made of a single epoxy blob, I'm lookin forward to see this released! :wink:
I think I have an older version that has a ROM on it but I never tried o fix it.
Maybe it's the time to go for it!!
skaman wrote:The older version won't work with certain games.
Any ideas if it's possible to convert a V1 into a V2?
Maybe (hopefully) it's just the software.

@NYMike:
I'll sure search and got some of this.
I think I'll make some kind of scalonated routine, like trying first a dry cloth, them paper, them a soft eraser them alcohos with qtips...
Or just go forward in he worst cases.

I also got a nice N64 deal from a army's guy that was leaving.
It had 5 games, I remember 3 were Goldeneye, Mario Kart and Mario64.
In the end it was just the AV cable. :-)
Me and the kids played a lot and still play a little these days. :D
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by Fisher »

Finally I could dump the GameGenie's ROM.
I'm sure it's a bad dump. Should it be 32k?? 64K??
The file I got is 128K!!

Edit: File deleted to avoid possible future problems.
If someone needs or wants it just PM me. :wink:

Code: Select all

md5sun: a1b28457f2ed7104cbfba5aedb22eec1  BACKUP.BIN
But I think this should be enough to be sure of what version I have and if a ROM upgrade would solve my problem.
I will sure delete this ROM as soon as I can get an answer, just to avoid problems.
Thanks in advance!!
Last edited by Fisher on Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by lidnariq »

Seems like there's both a 32 KiB and a 64 KiB version?

The first and second halves of your dump are very similar, but a few bytes change for some reason. What you have is very similar, but differs in a different few bytes from what GoodSNES calls "Game Genie BIOS [a1][!].smc"
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by Fisher »

Seems like there's still some problem with the dumper.
Guess what?? I soldered a SNES cart slot on an older motherboard.
I think that's the quickest (and uglyest) way I could do this. :wink:
Would a ROM upgrade possibly be THE fix??
skaman
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:56 am

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by skaman »

I dumped Game Genie Versions 1.0 and 2.0 and the dumps match those in GoodSNES.

The Version 1.0 matches "Game Genie BIOS [a1][!].smc" (65,536 bytes with CRC32 of 58CBF2FE). The Version 2.0 matches "Game Genie BIOS V2.0 [!].smc" (32,768 bytes with CRC32 of AC94F94A).

Here are pics of one of my Version 2.0 Game Genies:
Image
Image

My Version 1.0 uses the same PCB that was posted earlier in the thread.

Good Luck!
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by Fisher »

Interesting. Please, correct me if I'm wrong:
Seems that the hardware differences are limited to the resistors.
The ones on the B bus changed from 470 Ohms to 100 Ohms.
It also have added 10K pulldowns to the circuit.

Seems like an easy enough hardware mod to try!!
Thanks for the info!! I'll try this mod as soon as I can and post the results.
tbfa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 8:12 am

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by tbfa »

Hi there...greetings from Brazil...Sorry my bad english...

I am following the post (thanks Cleverson Almeida - Cle Alm for show me) and the idea of ​​modifying Genie's bios encourages me, I would like to report my experience with the Game Genie rev. 5 - 8/18/1992 - SNES V1.0.

+ GG only works well in 1993/below SNES REV. (the best is the first version). From 1995/above NINTENDO prevents its use. Snes Clones works fine too.

+ In my tests only original games works, most of them lo-rom.

+ I discovered, unintentionally, a way to bypass blocking of some games like Super Metroid, Mario Kart, Super Mario All Stars (SNES 1993) that usually did not work. It's a hardware modification. You need to lift leg 6* of the IC on pcb game, I can not explain the reason, but it worked.

*with "PIN 6" i mean 6th PIN from mask ROM down side , from left to right direction.

Image

+ Another way to make GG work on ANY SNES REVIEW and pirate carts is use it coupled to the flashcart SUPERUFO PRO 8, as shown in my video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBH-X-tm_RQ


Skaman, is this your GG a GALOOB GG? There is no name printed or integrated circuit, just globtops...curious..
Last edited by tbfa on Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
skaman
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:56 am

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by skaman »

Yes, it is a Galoob GG.

I actually have a couple 2.0s on hand and opened them both up.

Here's pics of the other Version 2.0 with a slightly different PCB (and missing the top chip):
Image
Image
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by Fisher »

I'm not an admin here, but I'd like to say: Welcome Thiago!!
tbfa wrote:Hi there...greetings from Brazil...Sorry my bad english...
That's great!!
I'm brazilian too!!
The people here are very kind, and usually the language barrier is not a big issue. :wink:
There are some other brazilian guys here, the most actives seems to be Tokumaru, l_oliveira and Zepper.
tbfa wrote:Game Genie rev. 5 - 8/18/1992 - SNES V1.0.
That's exactly the GameGenie version that's giving me trouble!!
I'm not sure of my SNES' version... :oops:
But I think it's the one with the S-CPU chip on the mainboard, from about 92 or 93.
tbfa wrote:You need to lift leg 6* of the IC on pcb game, I can not explain the reason, but it worked.
Thanks for sharing this info!!
The pin's function seems to be /CART, and the pin mumber 49.
1451860020706.png
I think that disabling it inside the GameGenie should be a better idea.
I'll try this as soon as I can!!
Again, thank you very much for sharing the info!!
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by lidnariq »

That pin is the ROM enable. Cutting it implies that the ROM should always be driving its output, and insinuates that the Game Genie is causing timing problems.
tbfa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 8:12 am

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by tbfa »

É um prazer ajudar, Fisher. Pode me procurar no FB, Thiago Barrios. É muito bom saber que há brasileiros aqui! Realmente é melhor fazer a modificação no game genie ( como eu não pensei nisso antes?) mas, se for aventurar, veja se funciona primeiro no cartucho...nem Mario World pega?

Skaman, Nice Cart, rare!

About PIN "6"

I don't know how and why it's working for me. My SNES rev is 93.

One of my fisrts videos: https://youtu.be/ZZsbNfnxP1Y
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: SNES Game genie problem

Post by Fisher »

Cara, o Mario World está funcionando perfeitamente.
O que não tem funcionado parecem ser jogos com mais de 4megabits.
Acho isso bem estranho!! :shock:
A maior pressão aqui é por parte das gurias, que não vêem a hora de Jogar Donkey Kong 2 com os códigos.
É ótimo ver mais brazucas por aqui!!
Vou adicionar no Facebook sim, mas infelizmente não tenho usado muito ultimamente. :cry:
Praticamente todas minhas "gambiarras" estão compartilhadas lá. :-)
Edit: Vc é o cara da engenharia do trabalho?

Translated to english:
Man, the Mario World is working perfectly.
What doesn't work seems to be games with more than 4megabits.
This is very weird!! :shock:
The pressure here is because of the kids, that really want to play Donkey Kong 2 with the codes.
It's excelent to see more brazucas here!!
I'll sure add you on Facebook, but unfortunatelly I have not used it lately. :cry:
Almost all my "workarounds" are shared there. :-)
Edit: Are you the work engineering guy?
Last edited by Fisher on Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply