It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:05 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:48 am
Posts: 183
I stumbled across this:

http://www.jammaplus.co.uk/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=46424&title=starfox-2

Could someone please explain how on earth you convert a 16 bit eprom to 8 bit? And is it simple?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:44 pm 
Offline
Formerly 65024U

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 2269
http://pinout-circuits-images.dz863.com/27/M27C320.jpg

http://www.dataman.com/media//MROM27C160.png

You need more info than that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
I'm assuming that you just ignore the upper 8 bits of each word (leave unconnected), and adjust the image you send to the programmer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:28 pm
Posts: 361
Location: Canada
Didn't magno perfect using the 27C322 chips before? I know he has eluded to it a number of times that he has a working design on how to wire them to a cart. Drakon, if you search through this forum I believe there is some info about it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1348
I'm a little confused - this example with Star Fox 2 isn't supposed to involve what you are talking about, is it? I see a 16-bit EPROM on his SF2 PCB, unless you are talking about his other board.

He probably just has the upper 8 lines ignored. If it's for use in an NES/FC cartridge, you could put your CHR data in the upper 8 bits and your PRG data in the lower 8 bits to make a merged 16-bit file to put on a single EPROM, though be sure to mirror your data to fill extra space (I.E. if you have an 8MBit (1MByte) 16-bit ROM, 512KByte PRG and 128KByte CHR, CHR must be copied four times to make 512KByte).

If it is for an SFC / SNES cartridge, what would you be doing with an 8-bit ROM?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
mikejmoffitt wrote:
If it's for use in an NES/FC cartridge, you could put your CHR data in the upper 8 bits and your PRG data in the lower 8 bits to make a merged 16-bit file to put on a single EPROM.

This doesn't make sense. Why would you put CHR data into the upper bytes?

Quote:
If it is for an SFC / SNES cartridge, what would you be doing with an 8-bit ROM?

You're asking why you would use an 8-bit ROM in a SNES cartridge? Because it has an 8-bit bus?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21697
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
blargg wrote:
You're asking why you would use an 8-bit ROM in a SNES cartridge? Because it has an 8-bit bus?

Its competitor has a 16-bit bus. Genesis does what Nintendon't.

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:15 am 
Offline
Formerly 65024U

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 2269
There's a byte pin to select bit size, guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 711
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
But not on a 27C322.

On other chips there is, and it turns D15 into an additional address pin, usually called A-1. D8 to D14 will do nothing in that mode.

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1348
blargg wrote:
mikejmoffitt wrote:
If it's for use in an NES/FC cartridge, you could put your CHR data in the upper 8 bits and your PRG data in the lower 8 bits to make a merged 16-bit file to put on a single EPROM.

This doesn't make sense. Why would you put CHR data into the upper bytes?


Christ, I was tired and that makes no sense, disregard that. That would only work if you were for some reason reading from PRG the exact same address as CHR at all times.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
3gengames wrote:
There's a byte pin to select bit size, guys.

So this whole thread is for nothing? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 8:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:40 pm
Posts: 316
TmEE wrote:
But not on a 27C322.

On other chips there is, and it turns D15 into an additional address pin, usually called A-1. D8 to D14 will do nothing in that mode.


Ya D15 becomes A0 and you shift the rest of the addy lines +1.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 8:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:40 pm
Posts: 316
Also does anyone here know "AndrewC" aka "Pootle" on other forums?
I really wanna get in touch with him about buying some of his 27c160 and 27c322
adaptor boards for the SNES. Hell if I could even just get the egale files I'd be
a happy man and I would just get a batch done myself.

I can design the one for use with the 27c160 in 8bit mode but I'm not ninja
enough to design the one with the 27c322 and the 245's and 139. That one
I would love to buy\and or get some made.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group