It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:49 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2766
Is there any way of getting sprites to display at 512x448? I can only find information on hi-res background layers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2827
Pretty sure that I remember reading somewhere that it doesn't work on sprites but I could be wrong. Did you check the official documentation?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3686
Location: Mountain View, CA
H-Mode (in modes 5 and 6) will do 512 pixels of resolution horizontally, but does not affect sprites/OBJ. Sprites are still limited to their existing sizes (from 8x8 up to 64x64, depending on what OBJ mode (small/large) you choose).

TL;DR -- Stop complaining, work with what you've got. Spoiled. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2766
That's probably one of the reasons hi-res mode wasn't used much. lo-res sprites on a hi-res background would stick out like a sore thumb.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4105
RPM racing was probably the only game to exclusively use hi-res mode, and it looked pretty awful in terms of frame rate and graphics quality.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3686
Location: Mountain View, CA
psycopathicteen wrote:
That's probably one of the reasons hi-res mode wasn't used much. lo-res sprites on a hi-res background would stick out like a sore thumb.

It may be one of the reasons, with the others (and IMO, more prominent) being that modes 5 and 6 only support 2 and 1 backgrounds, respectively. Most games used mode 1, and made heavy use of its 3 simultaneous backgrounds. I can't tell you how much of a blessing that is.

So in summary, the high-resolution modes are kind of a gimmick of sorts, but they work well for things like showing a single screen/picture or possibly some very basic form of high-resolution animation. Nintendo could have released the console with just modes 0-4 and 7 and it would have had the same quality titles. I'd even stretch that to say modes 0-3 and 7, although possibly mode 4 was used in games for vertical split-screen effects (I never did play around with the Offset Change/Address stuff).

This is all after-the-fact anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7574
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Mode 1 and 7 are the only really widely used ones really. Mode 2 and 0 are used sparsely when vertical split is needed and 4 backgrounds are needed respectively, but that's very rare.

I think the big reason modes 5 and 6 are so much underused is the fact tiles takes two times the normal size, so you get half the tiles for a constant VRAM usage. Also drawing with non square pixels is diffifcult if you don't have specific tools for this (I mean significantly non square, nobody minds an aspect ratio of 1.1, but 0.55 is a problem).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20779
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
koitsu wrote:
So in summary, the high-resolution modes are kind of a gimmick of sorts, but they work well for things like showing a single screen/picture or possibly some very basic form of high-resolution animation.

That or text. The ideographic characters used to write Japanese have a lot more detail than the alphabetic characters used to write the languages of regions where the console was called "Super NES". Even for Latin text, I seem to remember some RPGs using hi-res for more clarity. And for text, especially thin or italic text, you want a tall-and-skinny pixel aspect ratio like the 4:7 of Super NES hires mode. Look at 80-column text on a CGA or Apple II, which output a signal with 3:7 PAR.

Quote:
Nintendo could have released the console with just modes 0-4 and 7 and it would have had the same quality titles. I'd even stretch that to say modes 0-3 and 7, although possibly mode 4 was used in games for vertical split-screen effects (I never did play around with the Offset Change/Address stuff).

What mode does Panel de Pon use?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3686
Location: Mountain View, CA
tepples wrote:
What mode does Panel de Pon use?

Let's find out using SNES9x's debug version. You can get the info using the "What's Used" button (look for "Screen mode:").

"Nintendo Presents" title screen + text = mode 1
Main title screen ("Push any key!") = mode 1
Game selection screen = mode 1
Actual game itself = mode 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4105
Meanwhile, the GBA version of Panel De Pon simply used sprites.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2766
koitsu wrote:
So in summary, the high-resolution modes are kind of a gimmick of sorts.


Kind of like how 64x64 sprites on the SNES were a gimmick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7574
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Quote:
Kind of like how 64x64 sprites on the SNES were a gimmick.

For actual sprites, yes but to simulate a BG layer when using mode 7 it can be practical.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:17 am
Posts: 591
Bregalad wrote:
Quote:
Kind of like how 64x64 sprites on the SNES were a gimmick.

For actual sprites, yes but to simulate a BG layer when using mode 7 it can be practical.


Still wasteful/gimmick. You definitely have enough entries in the sprite table for doing fake scroll layers with smaller sizes. Plus, smaller segments means better optimization in vram for metasprite combinations. PC-Engine has 32x64 sprite size and some game use it, but the games that do have very lazy/unoptimized sprite setups - resulting in unnecessary flicker.

64x64 size would be nice *if* the sprite pixel scanline limit was much larger *and* you weren't limited to just two sprite sizes per frame (SNES). Otherwise, metasprite some 32x32's in place of.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2766
I wonder if any game actually used 64x64 sprites. Final Fight?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2827
I highly doubt Final Fight would use it. Infact Final Fight probably uses 8x8 and 16x16. I would doubt that it would use 32x32.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], nocash and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group