Address Size Mismatch in CC65?

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems. See the NESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

theinfamousmrmeow

Address Size Mismatch in CC65?

Post by theinfamousmrmeow »

Hello forums! I'm pretty new to NESDev. I inherited a codebase on a project, and it has been pretty rough going. I'm getting CC65 to actually compile, but it gives me a corrupt .nes file, and I'm assuming its related to these warnings.

I can see where these are defined in crt0.s under zeropage, but I'm not fully understanding what "absolute" means.

Can anyone shed any light on this? I'm just lobbing grenades into the dark here. Thanks for your time!

Code: Select all

ld65: Warning: Address size mismatch for `_MUSIC_NUM': Exported from crt0.o, crt
0.s(85) as `zeropage', import in main.o, main.s(21) as `absolute'
ld65: Warning: Address size mismatch for `_MUSIC_NUM': Exported from crt0.o, crt
0.s(85) as `zeropage', import in title.o, title.s(23) as `absolute'
ld65: Warning: Address size mismatch for `_PRGBANK_LO_TMP': Exported from crt0.o
, crt0.s(82) as `zeropage', import in main.o, main.s(20) as `absolute'
ld65: Warning: Address size mismatch for `_SFX_CH': Exported from crt0.o, crt0.s
(90) as `zeropage', import in title.o, title.s(24) as `absolute'
ld65: Warning: Address size mismatch for `_edes_y': Exported from main.o, main.s
(231) as `zeropage', import in enemies.o, enemies.s(37) as `absolute'
ld65: Warning: Address size mismatch for `_spawn_list': Exported from game.o, ga
me.s(2030) as `zeropage', import in enemies.o, enemies.s(60) as `absolute'
gauauu

Re: Address Size Mismatch in CC65?

Post by gauauu »

I'm assuming those variables are declared in your zero page segment? (with something like

#pragma bss-name (push,"ZEROPAGE")
?)

When you declare them and use them elsewhere, you need to mark them as zero page in their declaration with a pragma: